CDBurnerXP

CDBurnerXP User Reviews



5 stars48% 17
4 stars22% 8
3 stars17% 6
2 stars11% 4
1 star0% 0
Based on 35 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 35 user reviews
Post your own review

Excellent user interface - burns dvds well 5 stars by ricohflex77 Jul 24, 2015 (Read all my 8 reviews)
I have used this to burn many data DVDs. Never failed. Easy to use. No need to read manual. Like the icon commands to open and close CD disk tray. show Review details
Some coasters burned 2 stars by ianmacm Sep 04, 2013 (Read all my 174 reviews)
It is hard to complain about the price or the feature set, but I found that CDBurnerXP was unreliable on large files, such as DVDs with a file size greater than 1GB. After burning coasters when attempting to do this, I eventually gave up. CDBurnerXP requires the .NET framework to be installed. show Review details
Excellent job ! Great for my wife's Picasa 5 stars by thaweesakb115 Jul 22, 2012
After teaching my wife to create album in Picasa I still have to burn the CD myself when she wants to print at photo shop. But this CDBurnerXP's Picasa integration is really great since she can select album in Picasa and send to CDBurnerXP to burn it herself. Excellent job !!! show Review details
Just what i've been looking for 4 stars by kittytaymar754 Feb 11, 2012
I've been after something to replace XP's clunky old CD burning API for a while now. This program is excellent for the purpose. It has a good interface and is simple to select what you want to do. It's very easy to use - just drag and drop files to have them added to the burning list. Overall, I'd give it 90. show Review details
My favorite burner 5 stars by dirty_s Nov 21, 2011 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Excellent burner, very simple user interface and good set of features for a free software. A must have. show Review details
Another wonderfully useful tool! 4 stars by busybusy Oct 16, 2011 (Read all my 157 reviews)
This utility works great. It has a lot of features and pretty straight forward for general users. The toolbar has pretty much all the functions you need to operate the software. It does the job of burning CDDVD media quite well. Two-Thumbs Up! Kudos to the programmer! Get it, use it, Rate it! show Review details
Very good and simple 5 stars by Keysmith May 04, 2011 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I missed the good old Nero which used to be small strait to the point. CDburnerXP is a very good, simple free program which can do almost everything i need. There is nothing i miss from Nero anymore. The interface is a little different. Notice 2 things: 1. You have to declare what CD type you are compiling by right clicking on the bottom bar (unless you have already the empty cddvd in the drive where it automatically detects its size). 2. To select WRITE SPEED manually (for better results) you need to press "let me choose advanced settings" option, just before you press OK. For XP boxes you need .NET framework installed. I use it on every Win 7 box i use. It is just fine. show Review details
Good for simple needs only 3 stars by SeSorrow Apr 30, 2011 (Read all my 29 reviews)
Decent little program if you have simple burning needs, like music or data CDs. Never had much luck with ISO, DVD, or anything else. show Review details
Wonderful 5 stars by hrwasp Mar 28, 2011 (Read all my 48 reviews)
When I first got XP, my purchased software would no longer work on it so I searched Snap for alternatives. CDBurnerXP is OUTSTANDING! Easy to use, easy to understand, and free. I have been using CDBurnerXP for some years now and love it. Recently, I was needing to use my LightScribe drive. I now use Windows 7 64-bit and to my dismay, the HP software that came with the drive does not work. So I searched the internet for alternatives. After some very disappointing searches, I opened up CDBurnerXP and while playing I came across the BUILT IN software package for LightScribe. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! I tell everyone that has Windows 7 to get CDBurnerXP!! show Review details
Use it all the time - excellent 5 stars by Pastorjim Jan 15, 2011 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Very simple, user friendly, reliable. I use it to backup info, save programs and make music CD's (church choir). Topnotch - Pastor Jim show Review details
Not what I expected... 3 stars by gusimio Jan 10, 2011 (Read all my 31 reviews)
Do not install before reading my plight! I installed the program (and .Net Framework) to replace my aging Nereo 6.6 program for making a simple data DVD. Well, guess what? Nero is still the king of freeware because this program (CDBurnerXP) did not fill the bill! In fact, after attempting a basic backup to a data DVD, this program (and XP) could not even read the DVD data disc. So, I went to their website and searched for an answer and found '0' resolutions! Moreover, when I searched the internet, I found numerous complaints similar to mine and the response from the vendor was "You should have burned the data DVD as a video-DVD" and that would have worked. Hmmm, so if I see a menu selection for "burn data dvd" I should ignore it and select "burn video dvd" right? In summary, there are a multitude of programs, available for free, that are targeted to creating DVD videos, so why should one install this program and get misdirection cues that are cryptic at best. If you want to make DVD videos, get on that has a menu maker included and if you want to burn a DVD data disc, ignore this one completely! show Review details
Cannot add long named tracks to compilations 2 stars by gccradioscience Dec 27, 2010
I used to like this software, but since it has a limit of adding compilations of 266 characters this software is not good for DVD data backup. I don't want to go back and rename everything. It's not for me. show Review details
Very reliable 5 stars by zero_studio Jun 22, 2010 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Ive been using this for a while now to backup my data and ive had no problems so far. the interface is an explorer type so nothing too flashy but it just gets on with the job. most files can be previewed in the window too .. so there1s no excuse to burn the wrong files. give it a try. show Review details
Easy data cd/dvd burning 5 stars by wildgoosespeeder Jun 14, 2010 (Read all my 52 reviews)
I use this software for mostly data burning to a CD/DVD. One feature I like is saving to ISO and that is the equivalent of burning your documents to a CD/DVD (data CD/DVD). I haven't tried the other features of CDBurnerXP but I'm sure they will prove useful in the future. show Review details
Highly recommended 4 stars by HappyGod Dec 28, 2009
This software is everything that Nero used to be. Simple, quick, and easy to use. It only scored a Good from me for the interface/ease of use since the developer has made a couple of strange control placement choices: 1. The `Convert to ISO ...` function is buried within the `Burn ISO Options` screen. These two functions are not related. 2. The progress for some operations is a tab on the same page as the options for that operation. Bad karma. 3. Text should always be shown for toolbar icons. Tooltips are nice, but no text means the user has to hover over every icon to see what they do. Also, there are way too many toolbar buttons. e.g. Do we really need the `open CD tray` button? Other than niggles such as these, CDBurnerXP is an excellent no-nonsense utility, and is probably worth some money if you ask me! show Review details
Cd coaster collection 3 stars by gimpguy Sep 04, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
Well, I hate to be redundant as of other posts but to be honest, I used this for a while and let's just say, I had plenty of frisbees laying around. It seemed to work when it felt like it. I have tried it since that dark day but same results, and oddly enough, seems the more you use it, the buggier it gets. It's ok for those who can't find a burning software but I would still go for many others over this. Just never worked well for me. show Review details
Very nice cd/dvd burner 5 stars by marx_x Apr 21, 2008
The only function I have used so far is the DVD and CD burning function and CDBurnerXP does it with no problems whatsoever. I have not tried the audio function but you really should get a separate more audio specific program for that if you are a true audiophile. Overall CD XP is a nice Lite Cd burner I would recommend and I have used almost all of them out there. show Review details
Good for data, bad for creating audio cds 3 stars by cmonster Jan 30, 2008 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Handles data very well but there's a well recognized problem when creating audio CDs. The program puts HUGE audio dead space between tracks. show Review details
I tried a bunch... 5 stars by kard01 Jan 19, 2008
My goal was to be able to burn data DVDs. I tried 4 other free CD/DVD burn programs before settling on CDBurnerXP. On my system, CDBurnerXP excelled in that: (#1) it correctly recognized the media (CD or DVD) in the drive, and could tell if it was blank or not (#2) it could correctly calculate and communicate its progress (20% done, 40% done, etc.) during a job (#3) when the job is done, the requested files are actually on the DVD, and they are the correct size, and Windows can recognize them. Hooray! And CDBurnerXP is free! The other programs all failed on my 3rd criteria, which is a pretty important one, and usually failed the others also. The only negative to CDBurnerXP is that the Microsoft "dot net framework" is required before you can install CDBurnerXP. I am running Windows XP Pro SP 2, with current patches, and using an LG CD/DVD drive identified as: HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GSA-H54N Thank you CDBurnerXP! show Review details
Slimmed down - just got better 5 stars by NickElliott Oct 29, 2007 (Read all my 7 reviews)
I first discovered CDBurnerXP version 3 when looking for an alternative to Nero 5.5. The one thing I noticed was the bloat, it was a big program. According to the website version 4 is a complete re-write and is really polished, very lean and works fantastically. show Review details
Free coasters 2 stars by loveliftin Oct 06, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Although it's not a difficult program to use, all I got was coasters. I tried burning several cd's several different ways. Thought maybe I had some corrupt files but that wasn't the problem. Tried slowing down the burn speed but that didn't help either. I was burning mp3's. Every time I burned a cd I got errors when I tried to burn them or if I got a good burn, when I tried to play the cd I got an error. I've uninstalled it. Freeware isn't a good value if it doesn't work. I've got enough coasters already. show Review details
Used to be perfect but ... 4 stars by jbseventyone Oct 04, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
I have used this program sucessfully for quite some time. Recently I decided to delete a file off one of the many many data cds I made with it, and for some unknown reason, it converted all of my files to short filenames and changed one of the extensions I use. This never happened before and I have sucessfully deleted plenty of files of numerous cds in the past using the same program. I asked for advice in their forum nearly a week ago, and they never answered. If Snapfiles had a rating for Product Support, I would have to give it a zero. CDBurnerXP Pro was a flawless program for me until the day it messed up my cd, and the fact that I'm not getting support changes my impression of the software. So right now my rating isn't as good as I would have given it a week ago. It's a good program, but back up your cds first. show Review details
Simple, effective and quick 5 stars by ChrisN Mar 06, 2006
Great util. Has almost all the functionality of more expensive tools. Well worth using if you are trying to stay legal :-) show Review details
Compareable to name brand burners 4 stars by ferrija1 Feb 12, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This program is very handy and has some nice features. It also has an amazing help section. Though the way the software is made it can cause some computers to crash. If you want this software I recommend at least 512 MB of Random Access Memory (RAM) and a Pentium 4 Processor with Hyper Threading technology. show Review details
Quite the workhorse 5 stars by vicismar Jan 28, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This app has it's problems, but it does it's job well for me and has a small footprint to boot. I work on computers alot, so being able to give a disc authoring app like this one is just gravy. It's size is handy if your HDD is small, like mine, where any spare MBs is great. show Review details
If n*ro and w*ndows media player had kids... 4 stars by GeneBX Jan 28, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
The look and feel is very reminiscent of both Nero and Windows Media Player, but I must admit they managed to combine the best features of both programs. Interface is simple and easy, very straightforward, click-and-drag with a big, bright "burn" button at the top. It's not all that memory hungry as far as I could tell, and the burn time was much better than either Nero OR Windows Media Player. show Review details
Cannot be used for file size > 4.2g 3 stars by qtdevil Jan 20, 2006
I read all the reviews and decided to give this software a go. However, the first iso image I tried burning was greater than 4.2G, and this one can't do it. show Review details
Ummm 5 stars by brandonww22 Dec 05, 2005
I downloaded this on my sony vaio VGN-S460 notebook and in the middle of the instalation an error popped up.................."error 1402. Could not open key: UNKNOWNMScomdlg.CommonDialog.1CLSID. Verify that you have sufficient access to that key, or contact your support personell."..........Well other that that my other computer has the software and i use it alot it is great! show Review details
Doesn't get any easier 5 stars by bluenote72 Nov 08, 2005 (Read all my 17 reviews)
One of those phenomenal free programs, that works wonderfully as your default burner. It keeps growing too, which makes it a software on the move. Make .iso files, burn CD and DVD, burn your mp3's to discs and totally back-up every important directory on your pc. Make photo CD's, with an intuitive drag and drop interface. The software allows you to save each CD it makes as a project, which is important for later reference. If you burn CD's and DVD's often, this is a fine program to consider adding to your multimedia toolbox. show Review details
It used to be great... 4 stars by shatterstar Sep 27, 2005 (Read all my 6 reviews)
But I had to stop using it after it kept freezing up my system. I don't know why, but it just wouldn't work. Every time I selected what kind of disc I wanted to burn, it froze. Based on that fact, I can't fully recommend this product. When it did work, however, it was great. The interface was clean and fairly intuitive, and it was pretty easy to use. show Review details
Interface excellent - bugs need to be removed 5 stars by -=Waldo=- Sep 03, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
You'll be impressed by first starting it. The interface looks very professional and - in my opinion - it's easy to use. Compared to DeepBurner (it's closest freeware opponent) it really rocks. I like the USEFUL preferences and settings. But it is full of bugs and the Uninstall of it keeps tons of registry entries left on your system. If the bugs are blasted and the proggy works well i'll use it again. But till then i keep using DeepBurner - a program with less bugs and a very old fashionned and unprofessional interface :-(. You may give CDBurnerXP a try to see how it looks and feels. show Review details
Great stuff 5 stars by MiCKinCanada Aug 23, 2005 (Read all my 4 reviews)
After reading many users reviews about this product, (both good and bad) I decided to try it. Sometimes the problems people face with programs is the combination of everything already installed and uninstalled on their machines...registries aren't ever perfectly clean. Roxio toasted one of my burners and now it's a paper weight, Nero came with my new burner but it's only 5.5 and express at that...while Nero is great...upgrade cost are, well not an option...CDBurnerXP Pro is a great all around alternative, updates are free, it's free, it encodes music as OGG(which is free)...I expect some problems but then again that is what happens when it's free...SO far it's been absolutely marvelous!!...get it, try it and be happy (and free :) pun intended)!! show Review details
Free maybe 2 stars by rickxs Jul 09, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I have used this on 2 pc's , the first being my own I always use total Uninstall when installing when I came to uninstalling it took over 60 clicks to rid of extra entries it had made,then anytime I opened an AVI it popped up "xvidcore.dll" was not found ! the other PC after uninstallation now has rendered both my CD roms unusable free ? at what cost very poor software show Review details
No disk to disk 4 stars by Lyman2 Jul 03, 2005
CDBurnerXP Pro is a great tool but I want to burn "disk to disk" without going to hard drive. I do recommend it but for me, I need something new and improved. show Review details
I recommend this program 3 stars by wdh421 Jun 24, 2005
I have used several of the popular name cd/dvd burning programs and i have found this one to be the one i use almost all the time even though i have two other cd/dvd burning programs on my computer.. GREAT APPLICATION.. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

MessageExport for Outlo

MessageExport for Outlo convert emails to PDF and other formats

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software