K9

K9 User Reviews



5 stars50% 4
4 stars25% 2
3 stars0% 0
2 stars12% 1
1 star12% 1
Based on 8 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 8 user reviews
Post your own review

The best (free!!!) spam filter ever! - try it 5 stars by Luco53 Dec 23, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I am a Thunderbird mail client user and some day I was tiered of all those spam mails still coming in through Thunderbird's built in filter. So I searched the Web for some spam filtering software and I found out that the freeware (!!!) K9 could be the ultimate solution... The first three days K9 had to learn a lot, but I have to say that it's an excellent student. K9 has also a filter feature and I use this only for 'Casino' related spam mail. Now these mails too stay 100% out off my Inbox! Today I use K9 100 days and the other 97 days of use I had to correct just about 10 other mails, of which K9 thought it was spam, while it was not... If you are also tiered of all those daily spam and you are looking for a good peace of software, please listen: Give it a try and after some days you will see the results and you'll be another happy K9-user, I am sure! Also (or even) when you are a Thunderbird user. Luc show Review details
Bad product 1 stars by lmassoni Sep 01, 2006
Started very nice for 3 days, but, after that hung the system, and It use a lot of CPU, even with the check to put in lower priority. show Review details
Good but abandoned by developer 4 stars by Holmes Apr 27, 2006 (Read all my 11 reviews)
K9 is one of the best anti-spam tools around. Unfortunately, there are some bugs (RETR command instead of TOP, possibility to cheating program using bad mail boundaries...). K9 isn't updated about two years and this is the reason why I give only four stars for it. If the author change his mind and update K9 it can be really one of top anti-spam tools. show Review details
Say good night, mcaffee 5 stars by BeesKneesSat Feb 10, 2006
After struggling with McAffee far too long and getting far too poor results, I gave K9 a spin. After the first week I was getting 95% accuracy, which soon surpassed 98%. With 3 business and 3 personal mailboxes, my typical day's mail consists of 20-25 valid messages and 60-75 spam. K9's interface makes it exceptionally easy to scrap the garbage while picking out the rare few mislabeled as spam. One suggestion - add a one-click means to permanently delete the junk folder. This is one great program! show Review details
Good with outlook express message rules 4 stars by davyjones Jan 12, 2006 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Does quite a good job of filtering all but the most persistent spammers with OE. Seems to attract an inordinate number of penny stock ads which it conveniently disposes of. Mr. David Oltmann show Review details
The best one for me 5 stars by Atagong Jan 09, 2006 (Read all my 7 reviews)
I tried several freeware spam solutions and K9 wins over POPfile for its simplicity. A mail is SPAM or no spam, that's all. I have put my mail-rules so that mails that match both the DNSBL (DNS blacklist) and SPAM flag are deleted, I have a 100% result there. Mails that only score SPAM are put in a separate SPAM folder and these score above 98%. A minus point is that when the databases get too big you can't trim them anymore, but when you trim your database once a week (or even once a month) K9 should run without problems. Another minus is the (apparent) fact that the software isn't updated anymore, but who needs upgrading when it does its job? show Review details
Excellent ! 5 stars by Dolf01 Aug 26, 2005 (Read all my 12 reviews)
Does the job very well, it is stable, takes just a very little of memory, easy to use . . . show Review details
Spam filter is totally not functioning 2 stars by rioooo Jun 23, 2005 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Spam filter is totally not functioning - Recent Emails tab is not showing any bypassing emails. It's buggy anyway. I don't see why my reinstalling twice still got the same symptom, and don't see why people rating it so high. I'm just telling the truth. If it works, I'll revise this comment at once, but I've just uninstalled it. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

CardRecovery

CardRecovery recover images from memory cards

PstViewer Pro

PstViewer Pro open PST files without Outlook