7-Zip

7-Zip User Reviews



5 stars72% 16
4 stars18% 4
3 stars4% 1
2 stars0% 0
1 star4% 1
Based on 22 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 22 user reviews
Post your own review

Simple to use basic archiver 3 stars by realbull2009250 Jul 06, 2015 (Read all my 60 reviews)
7-zip is very light, fast, easy to use and has a simple GUI and 64bit support. All basic features are here for the casual user. Here are the formats listed on their website: "High compression ratio in 7z format with LZMA and LZMA2 compression Supported formats: Packing & Unpacking: 7z, XZ, BZIP2, GZIP, TAR, ZIP and WIM. Unpacking Only: ARJ, CAB, CHM, CPIO, CramFS, DEB, DMG, FAT, HFS, ISO, LZH, LZMA, MBR, MSI, NSIS, NTFS, RAR, RPM, SquashFS, UDF, VHD, WIM, XAR and Z." Also included are an AES-256 Zip & 7-zip encrypter, 7-zip self extractor, Windows shell integration, File manager, command-line version & FAR manager plugin." So far 9.20 has been the last stable version since 2010. A stable release has not had any new features or improvements for years. A new 15.05 beta version with improvements is available, so what is happening? Why are all these betas released with no stable one? Also the 8-bit GUI is just ugly these days. Some new icons with more options for the toolbar would be appreciated. It is a really good archiver if you only need it for simple packing & unpacking archives and not much more, but if you are looking for more features you will be better off using another archiver that can do the same as 7-zip and more such as PeaZip, Bandizip or ZipGenius. If you insist on using 7-zip then you are better off using the 15.05 beta version with fixes, but a stable version would be much preferred. show Review details
An excellent archive tool 5 stars by iwillneverstop Jan 07, 2013 (Read all my 24 reviews)
I don't know that this tool supports a lot of archive formats that are popular in other OSs than MS Windows such as DMG, XAR in Mac OS, Deb in Linux until I need to write an tutorial of how to extract content from a file (.dmg) which is actually in XAR format. From that, I see 7-zip as an excellent archive tool. I highly recommend it for cross-platform users. show Review details
Quick and easy 5 stars by Blueman Jun 20, 2012 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Very fast to extract large files and easy to use plus no ads or add ons. All around Perfect program. show Review details
Competent, effective, blazingly fast 5 stars by gwestbound Dec 02, 2011 (Read all my 19 reviews)
Look no further. 7-Zip is a small, clean, neat, effective, fast, zip program. Doesn't load your computer up with crapware, like Facebook links and donation nag screens. Just does it's job - fast! Bonus: it's also a basic file manager. show Review details
Simple and fast 5 stars by Keysmith May 05, 2011 (Read all my 4 reviews)
It is freeware open-source and good. Fast load/open, drag n drop and right-click shell integration. It opens large number of formats ZIP, 7Z, RAR, etc but only compresses to 2 major (zip and 7z) and some minor (linux found such as tar etc). 7z is starting to get more and more famous and it is quite efficient as well (even better than rar). Only downside, I would prefer if it could compress RAR archives (it only extracts them). show Review details
Still the best 5 stars by SeSorrow Apr 30, 2011 (Read all my 29 reviews)
Keep trying to find alternatives to this one and keep coming back. You can always guarantee this one to be stable and quick. show Review details
Just the way I like. 5 stars by File_per Mar 04, 2011 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Opens the fanciest formats without a hiccup, and does it "FAST". Never failed or crashed. Glad I found it. show Review details
Slim and effective 4 stars by Irritated Feb 18, 2011 (Read all my 12 reviews)
Simple, minimalist interface (a little too clinical and minimal for some tastes I imagine), solid reliable performance, 7-zip does its one task--compressing and decompressing files--quickly and efficiently. Bloat-free! Very wide compatibility with different archive formats including a number of settings that default for ZIP files. For example, the context menu options always give a choice of ZIP format and whatever format you choose as the default. That gives it the ability to make easy use of the excellent 7Z archive format while allowing smooth workflows for the most common compressed archives. show Review details
Better and free compared to others 4 stars by wildgoosespeeder Dec 23, 2009 (Read all my 52 reviews)
This is the best compression archiving tool I have ever used! WinZip and WinRAR suck and you have to pay for them! 7-Zip is free and can do a whole lot more! The only thing that this program needs is an indication on how many files are in an archive or directory. show Review details
Best in class 5 stars by TerryP Oct 27, 2009 (Read all my 87 reviews)
This utility provides plenty of compression related options and the included help files are excellent. Although it can be used as a default type utility without knowing much about the zip/unzip process, it's also an excellent tool for learning what's going on under the hood and highly useful for those with more in-depth knowledge. show Review details
Good 4 stars by boofby Oct 25, 2009 (Read all my 14 reviews)
Interface is not 'newbie friendly' but otherwise understandable. A bit redundant on newer OS'es but for the more arcane file formats this one fits the bill. show Review details
7 thumbs up 5 stars by gimpguy Sep 18, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
It's not bloatware, it's not slow, it handles files good, and it's free. I am having a battle between Izarc and 7 zip but I think I like Izarc, it's been excellent too but can't help give 7-zip a 5. If ever Izarc falls through the cracks, 7-zip will be my next and immediate choice. show Review details
Lean and mean 5 stars by Rustyboy Jun 25, 2008 (Read all my 33 reviews)
If you want a no-nonsense compression tool this is it. I used to use another freeware compression tool (which was very good) until I found it choked on larger files. 7-zip handles large files beautifully. It may not have the eye candy of some other programs, but it doesn't have the bloat either. show Review details
Simple, reliable, and uncomplicated 5 stars by gusimio Apr 09, 2008 (Read all my 31 reviews)
No bells and whistles to complicate a simple task. It just does what it is supposed to do and it does it well. show Review details
Does the job nicely 4 stars by drfung Jun 20, 2007 (Read all my 18 reviews)
This product has certainly improved and is now definitely a contender. I have moved from Power Archiver to IZarc and now to 7zip and find it works very well. Certainly something to try, by default it does NOT take over associations, you can do that in the options. show Review details
Open source and one of the best... 5 stars by SithTracy Nov 11, 2006 (Read all my 19 reviews)
Nice SFX options with AES encryption. There is a beta that supports ZIP-AES that should be coming soon. The GUI is a little rough, but overall it is functional and not too confusing for some of my non-tech friends and family. Command line interface is easy and I have implemented it at the office for some automated tasks. Well worth a look and a donation for future development and enhancements. show Review details
Unnecessary difficult interface 1 stars by Tan1954 Oct 25, 2006
When an interface is made so that you need to read the help files to understand how to create a new archive name, it must be a disaster of a program. This one makes it. Useless interface. show Review details
Great archiver alternative 5 stars by mdlong May 25, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
For those who have clicked away a million nag popups in programs like WinZip or WinRAR, 7-Zip is a welcome alternative. The functions and interface are similar to both aforementioned programs, though a bit more plain. Plenty of features and compression options, a wide array of supported archive formats, and shell integration make it quite useful and effective. show Review details
It's good to have both 5 stars by Fortra Mar 15, 2006 (Read all my 11 reviews)
Although I use Winzip 9.0 mainly. I do like this program as well, as other well known extraction utility too. Because this one has support for other file extension that you won't see within winzip. So my recommendation about this nice program is a thumbs up. Well done to the developer of this software. show Review details
A great extraction tool. 5 stars by Pondejim Dec 29, 2005 (Read all my 7 reviews)
I have tried many unzipping programmes, and this one would have to be the best, with its ease of use, it is quick and reliable, with no frills to confuse the un-initiated. It has not yet failed to open any files of various types. A great product. Congratulations. Thanks, Pondejim. show Review details
Nice zipper tool 5 stars by pcfreak Oct 13, 2005 (Read all my 13 reviews)
I've been using this tool for years and it provided me all the best results compared to a known commercial software. This is more handy than [..] for it is associated in the windows explorer once you unzip a file. I have no problems in zipping files as well. 7zip is a good tool to try. show Review details
Excellent open source file compression tool 5 stars by Questdelsangraal Jul 20, 2005 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Continually being refined 7-Zip has quickly become a favorite tool for me. I work with a lot of zipped files daily and 7-Zip has yet to fail me. I have tried other free compression tools and have stuck with 7-zip. The interface may be plain Jane but who really care what it looks like as long as it does it's job. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

LightZone

LightZone Open-source digital darkroom software

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

NetSpot

NetSpot Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Discovery and Troubleshooting

PstViewer Pro

PstViewer Pro open PST files without Outlook

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring