Spamihilator

Spamihilator User Reviews



5 stars54% 17
4 stars19% 6
3 stars9% 3
2 stars6% 2
1 star9% 3
Based on 31 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 31 user reviews
Post your own review

Good for spam, but? 3 stars by gaxine Apr 03, 2011 (Read all my 3 reviews)
It seems to do ok for spam filtering, but it does not notify you when you have good mail only spam. It seems the software should have a area for good email and bad since it comes before your email program. You also can't open your email program within the software. show Review details
Poor effectiveness 1 stars by Antispamexpert May 25, 2009
This antispam software has a lot of flexibility however it's effectiveness is very poor especially with false positives. I have been in internet security business for more than 5 years but this product by far has the worst false positive rates. show Review details
Highly customizable antispam filter 5 stars by OriginX Mar 14, 2008 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Spamihilator is a highly customizable antispam filter. It is used as a proxy between your email client and email account. There are many plugins available which let the user customize the software to their particular needs. When properly configured and trained it can drastically reduce amount of spam received. One of the best if not the best antispam software available. show Review details
Is this good? 5 stars by Tao2005 Oct 27, 2007 (Read all my 30 reviews)
This program is the best little filter I have ran across. Though I have tried many, kept coming back to this. I wouldn't recommend any other. If you set your filters to your friends list, you'll have no problems. However, If you receive some spam, then use the learning feature. This'll block 99.8% spam, and let me tell you. There is no other anti-spam that'll do what this little devil does. show Review details
Used it for a long time... 5 stars by bulldog618 Oct 22, 2007
I have used Spamihilator for a long time now and it works very well with the High setting. I just had it import my address book and I just check the Recycle Bin to add non-spam emails to my Friends List. There are many filters one can use including several additional ones you can download from their web site. I'm certain it can learn well over time what is spam and not spam but I found it easier just to allow friends through and add those not in my address book over time. Love it! No Spam! Integrates smoothly into any email client(I've used Thunderbird and Outlook Express) with as many accounts as you like. It has a Wizard that gets you set up quickly and easily. show Review details
Absolutely fantastic!!! 5 stars by Hephaestus Oct 09, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I have tried 5 other anti spam solutions before I got to this one. After three days of use I am near to 100% accuracy of spam identification! This is WAY better than any of the other tools I tried. I am using Thunderbird which I had to configure manually - the wizard crashed and the documentation was a bit vague. But it only took 2 attempts to sort it (do change the timeout in the mail client - I get ~ 100 + messages a day (90% spam) and Thunderbird would timeout every now and then. Do use with caution in the early stages - I found it best to get mail, check the training area, click "learn" and then get mail again. This ensured they weren't deleted from the server. Great range of plugins which I have yet to fully install. In summary: I am 99% spam free and happy! show Review details
Spamihilator excellibus gladiator 4 stars by boubacorrea Feb 22, 2007
I have tried 4 antispam programs prior to this one. This one is fun, precise, a little slow to learn, efficient though. I feel enchanted after 48 hours of use: on average I get 100 mails a day of which 80 spams; the spams are detected approximately by 80 to 85%; I suppose I will near 95% in a week. Thanks, I eat sourkraut with more pleasure now. show Review details
Excellent - the best 5 stars by UBIK76 Jan 29, 2007
I have tried some other anti spams softwares...and this is the best ! show Review details
Didn't work for me!! 2 stars by Bighugs Jan 23, 2007 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I just cannot imagine what all the fuss is about. I tried it and tried it, read all the help files, tried it again. Never could I get It to work. I use Firefox but I'm sure others who have had success with it do also. I use Avast anti virus but I'm sure others do too. I'm not a newbie at these things and actually this is first I couldn't use. Go for something a little more specialized. Example: if you use Outlook get one for Outlook. Sorry Guys I have to give this one two thumbs down, show Review details
It works. period 5 stars by richderuiter Dec 08, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I've used this one before and decided to try it again after Thunderbird's junk mail controls just could not keep up with the hundreds of spams I get every day (from multiple accounts). In just two days Spamihilator is getting about 95% of my spam with only a few false positives each day. Training seems to work well, and I can easily add the newsletters, notices and others that I want easily, often just from the right click menu. I did have to reset my time-out setting to work with the large numbers of spams I'm getting. But that's no big deal. It would be better if Spamihilator began feeding the email client on the fly rather than waiting for everything to finish. But I can live with it. For Thunderbird 1.5, the setup wizard just froze, requiring me to set up the program manually. This wasn't very complicated but the online instructions were a little confusing. Hence the lower number on ease of use. show Review details
This is the one! 5 stars by dsilver Nov 27, 2006 (Read all my 8 reviews)
I've tried many spam filters - commercial, shareware, and freeware, and this one definitely comes out on top. Easy to use, full featured, fast learning - you name it, it's got it. show Review details
Spam killer! 5 stars by Bazongo Nov 16, 2006
Very good program. With a little patience, can be configured to stop most spam, including these annoying 'stock spams' which use images. Nice work! show Review details
Spam-tastic! 5 stars by Dragon10 Nov 13, 2006 (Read all my 42 reviews)
Looking for an Anti-Spam program I found Spamihilator had such a 'mixed bag' of reviews I was very doubtful about downloading it. As a consequence, I wasted a lot of hours, trying every variation on a theme! Eventually, I installed 'Spamihilator' v.0.9.9.9 on my PC and I do not regret it one little bit! I love it! This terrific program integrates, not only with W98 but my e-mail client and also my AV program extremely well and it is proving fun to learn and use. Okay, so it had a coupla hiccups [only minor ones] on its 'learning curve' or were they mine? All I know is, I am sure as hell happier to have this on my PC than to be without it now. C'mon, you have to give credit to anyone who dedicates their time and a great deal of effort to developing a high quality program such as this and then generously offering it as genuine 'Freeware'. Yes, without any hesitation whatsoever, I would recommend this program. Danke Michel Kramer. show Review details
Don't try any other antispam programme 5 stars by Mog89R Nov 11, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I have tried a number of anti-spam. Immediate results with Spamihilator. Good interface. Easy to set up. Strongly recommended show Review details
Use it with great caution !! 1 stars by Laszlo Sep 13, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I tried it using Thunderbird on a limited account in XP. It filtered out legitimate messages and it deleted them from the server!! I went to the recycle bin in Spamihilator they were not there. I found entries of them in the training area and marked them as not spam. But they were gone - never to be seen again. I searched the hard drive that it might saved them somewhere but no luck :-( I believe it tried to save them into the Program Files folder but since I was running it under a limited account it was not able to create files there. This is just poor software design. So if you give it a chance make sure you have back up of your e-mails. show Review details
Not bad .... 3 stars by stupidboy Jul 31, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I have tested out a few tools and this one is certainly one of the better ones. However, my inbox attracts around 300ish spam mails per day and it seems to timeout around 100 mails. This may well be correctable, but I could not be bothered to investigate. The detection rates were quite high, but having my inbox and then Spamihilator's interface to check became a little tedious. show Review details
Best ever 5 stars by seagorman Feb 26, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Cant understand the negative reviews on spamihilator, i have tried literally every other spam filtering software available and this leaves all others in the shade, maybe users are not setting up the configuration correctly. this is my number one choice and deservedly gets a 5 star rating show Review details
Do not read your pop mail without it! 5 stars by manganificent Feb 15, 2006 (Read all my 8 reviews)
I have tried lots of antispam tools out there and this is by far the BEST one out there! Super simple interface and super effective! Even McAfee antispam is no match for this one! I just hope this app will not be sold to bigger corporations and turn out to be bloatware. show Review details
Easier ways to prevent spam.. 5 stars by Ghost_grey Jan 22, 2006 (Read all my 56 reviews)
Good this program is free, new user and older users would benefit, if you are like me, you dont have a personal email address, okay so you do but you'd never tell anyone what it was except your family members. there's plenty of services to prevent spam, free email addresses e.g. yahoo, gmail, msn.. there temp email address just for the occasion e.g. mailinator.com etc.. I even made an email addresses that i use "just for spam" i like to occasionally read... if your dumb enough to sign up to weird websites using an email address that you dont want spammed, or just a popular guy/girl, than you'll probably need a spam filter.. or something. show Review details
Great program! 5 stars by Jethrosanz Dec 23, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This is a small program, which has recognized and deleted all the spam that I have received up to now. This software is a must for anybody with spam problems and is far more recommendable than a shareware program, which is bound to do the same or less. Thank-you Spamhilator! show Review details
Not a good student! 2 stars by AungDin Dec 08, 2005 (Read all my 22 reviews)
I used this program for about a week. Possibly my imagination but it seemed to be a spam magnet. I tried repeatedly to teach it NOT to block several newsletters, bulletins, and special offers from a couple sources that I had requested. I also tried to teach it to reject a couple sources that have been trying to get me to re-finance my home or sell me something. Spamihilator does not pay attention to this instructor and therefore has disappointing grades on my report card. show Review details
Too slow to "learn"? does it "learn 3 stars by byatis Nov 23, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
After reading the reviews here I decided to switch from another freeware package, [..] to this one, basically because SpamPal sends all emails thru (including marked spam messages) to the client whereas Spamihilator doesn't. I have now been using Spamihilator for about a month and have been 'teaching' it how to identify certain spam/non-spam messages. A month down the line and it is still incorrectly identifying some messages as spam when they are not, and vice versa. I seem to spend too much time analyzing and correcting what Spamihilator is doing as it's still marking around 10% of my emails incorrectly - mainly identifying regular 'good' messages as spam which after month of 'teaching', it really shouldn't be. Sorry, but Spamihilator has been uninstalled and [..] is back in business. show Review details
Spamihilator... great spam protection! 5 stars by OurOnlineDealscom Nov 23, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Having tried several spam blockers, Spamihilator simply works the best! Setup and configuration is a breeze. With selectable settings for spam control, you decide your level of protection. It's hard to believe you get all of this in a freeware program, but you do! Except for my personal desire to see a better system tray icon (not that there's anything wrong with Spamihilator's icon), there's not much more anyone could ask for when it comes to spam protection. The developers deserve the accolades they've received, 23 reviews and counting... that should tell you something! show Review details
Good but 4 stars by davyjones Nov 04, 2005 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Integrates well with Avast despite the negative experiences posted elsewhere on the web. Seems to pick up nuisance newsletters but has difficulty differentiating the good from the bad. Does not catch the serious drug pushers and fraud artists. show Review details
Well...almost 4 stars by nudenik69 Oct 14, 2005
I like the app very much, it certainly lives up to the great comments listed by other users, but unfortunately it has crashed twice on my set up and made quirky changes to my email pop settings. What happens is the install and set up is fine show Review details
Excellent, but with one drawback 4 stars by kebler Sep 12, 2005 (Read all my 5 reviews)
I agree with all posted comments. The programme is easy to use and extremely effective. But there is one very annoying feature. The recycle bin, which should be immediately available, very often hangs fire, failing to appear for anything up to 15/20 minutes, when it suddenly makes its appearance. A shame that a programme which is so excellent in all other respects should have this one annoying glitch. show Review details
Deleted this one right after i installed it. 1 stars by spreland Sep 09, 2005 (Read all my 8 reviews)
I don't need a program to label email as spam AFTER its downloaded. I can do that with my eyes. I need a program that filters spam BEFORE its downloaded. ALSO...this program alters your account and server settings. There should be a WARNING on the program before its installed. I would recommend ... or any other program that deletes spam BEFORE its downloaded. Most snapfiles reviews are a good guide for the better programs. Really disappointed with Spamihilator. Deleted this one right away. show Review details
Unbeatable 5 stars by AlexeiGon Aug 04, 2005
Likewise other users in this review section, I have tried many anti-spam filters before, including McAfee Spamkiller. Simply unbeatable. Gets more and more efficient the more I use it, completely stable, low memory consuming, easy to use and configure and it is free! To make it even better, a wise selection of plugins to download and install has quickly taken its filtering efficiency to more than 99%. I've never lost again a "good message" marked as a spam as other spam-filters often do. Haven't seen anything better yet. show Review details
Spamihilator excellent 5 stars by AnonymMan Jul 25, 2005 (Read all my 15 reviews)
Spamihilator is easy to use anti spam and is the best spamfilter that i ever used. show Review details
Easy 4 stars by hrwasp Jun 23, 2005 (Read all my 48 reviews)
Very nice program. I install this program on all my clients machines when they use Outlook! Easy plugin and the learning curve is very low! Great job! show Review details
Works for me, ease of installation 4 stars by rioooo Jun 23, 2005 (Read all my 5 reviews)
K9 is totally not worked for me. Spamihilator eats much less memory. Its plugin and addon is expandable to the software. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

LightZone

LightZone Open-source digital darkroom software

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

NetSpot

NetSpot Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Discovery and Troubleshooting

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring

CardRecovery

CardRecovery recover images from memory cards