foobar 2000

foobar 2000 User Reviews

5 stars75% 6
4 stars0% 0
3 stars0% 0
2 stars12% 1
1 star12% 1
Based on 8 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 8 user reviews
Post your own review

Very basic player 2 stars by kycochise Jun 17, 2013 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Does the job, but awkward getting around in, and you need plugins to do most advanced things. show Review details
Plays subfolders if wanted. Small footprint. 5 stars by tolworthy Aug 21, 2012 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This did exactly what I wanted within 10 seconds of installing. No complaints! But one suggestion. Foobar starts with an empty list: Developers! Please fill the list with instructions for very first time users! It took me ten seconds to try "file -> add location" but then it was perfect: it immediately had all my music, including subfolders. So I clicked "shuffle" and it just worked. Goodbye Windows Media Player (with your slow load, bloated footprint, awkward interface and work-stopping updates). Hello Foobar, with just music! show Review details
Audio perfection! 5 stars by orion79 Jan 23, 2011 (Read all my 2 reviews)
A -MUST HAVE- player for every person who respects himself/herself!! 1:Supports an awful lot of different formats 2:With the proper components you can bypass windows mixer and set the output as an ASIO DEVICE, WASAPI OR KERNEL STREAMING!! How COOL is that! 3:Feel free to configure Foobar in your own specific way 4:Great management of your music library and mass tagging options(by using just a component!!) 5:Many encoding formats and options 6:Almost non-existent memory footprint 7:For those of you feeling uncomfortable to use the player please check out the guide and the charts at Wikipedia,under:Music player comparison (software) 8:If you are still not sure about this,return to your familiar player. show Review details
If you just want to listen to your music..... 5 stars by oldgoat Mar 02, 2009
...this one beats the competition hands down! I'm a very recent convert - was my first version installed - and I haven't got all the features working yet, but for what its designed to do, it rocks! I've tried WMP - very graphic, smart, but simply hopeless if you throw flac, ogg, ape etc at it, or try to read those tags. I've tried WinAmp, and got fed up with the messy interface and fiddly controls. Then I bumped into FooBar..... Organise, tag, convert, play, even watch the EQ visuals if you want, but all with no fuss. I haven't found a music file format it can't play either. If you're prepared to spend a little time learning it, and take the trouble to download the extra components, it simply delivers the goods. The folks on the forum are helpful, no matter how daft a newbie question you ask, too! show Review details
Positively excellent 5 stars by DrGerm Nov 14, 2008 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I think that those who have given negative reviews either have unnecessary expectations or have not spent enough time delving into Foobar to give an appropriate recommendation. I've used for a short while and have been simply amazed. I just did not know that this level of customizeability was possible. Plus, I am finding all sorts of features that is turning me into an amateur audiophile. The appearance may be a little simple, but I have easily set up a very attractive interface and I am just in love with it. Give it a try! show Review details
Not enough for me 1 stars by Dreamer888 Nov 29, 2007 (Read all my 9 reviews)
It's not bad, but it's not enough for me. Program must be also intuitive and easy to use - not (just) because of beginners, but because the time is important! You can save time when you setup the program options, but also when you're using it - all the time, but not with this one. It's not all. Default options are not good, I miss also several options (incl. skins) from other audio players. If you want to know what I mean by "intuitive and easy to use" - and you want also low memory usage, try AIMP! (BTW foobar2000 memory usage is 15 712 K, AIMP with skins and several plugins - 4 896 K!) ... so I can't recommend this player to you, especially if you're searching for the replacement for Winamp - but I can recommend AIMP. show Review details
Nothing better 5 stars by Wastrel Oct 14, 2007 (Read all my 17 reviews)
A music player is about managing and playing your music files. No program does this better than fb2k. If you want a fancy interface, then throw in some foo components, and you can make it look like anything you want it to. fb2k is "bare bones" in the same sense that Firefox is bare-bones: the user can make it almost anything he/she wants it to be simply by installing some addons. Totally extensible. Highest audio quality. show Review details
Best 5 stars by thanhdang Aug 14, 2007 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Use it for 4 years now and there hasn't been one I like better then this one. Its not as fancy as some others but underneath its simple and clean interface is a power pack audio player that uses very little resource. I have not encounter any errors since I've been using it and its why every time I looked for another audio player, I always go back to this one. Interface and unlocking its abilities takes some time. Just the best player out there and its good for your pc especially one low on resource. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers


CintaNotes take and manage notes

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software


Unchecky prevent accidental installations of third party offers

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring


CardRecovery recover images from memory cards