InsideCAT Lite Edition

InsideCAT Lite Edition User Reviews



5 stars0% 0
4 stars0% 0
3 stars40% 2
2 stars60% 3
1 star0% 0
Based on 5 reviews
Avg. user rating: 2 Based on 5 user reviews
Post your own review

Works well 3 stars by gimpguy Aug 21, 2012 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
I would assume it works better with multiple cores now since it's still chewing one up but didn't hinder the system. That said, it did catalog my music collection well but I wish with the print feature, you could highlight file names or turn them a different color. Everything is so mono when printed your eyes go buggy trying to separate what's there when looking at a title or file name. Also, when printing to pdf, it will bleed over and not fit on pages so you may want to remove some options from printing or size the text. Otherwise it works alright for a free cataloging utility but the interface could use a major makeover. At this point, I would rather create a batch file to list my items (which I do) but the cataloging tool holds little in the way of keeping me interested in using it. show Review details
Nice stuff, but eating a lot of cpu 2 stars by Jed_Be Aug 18, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I tried this for some folders. Music ones to be precise. I don't know why, but sometimes it runs well, and sometimes, it's awfully slow, in fact, taking hours to complete a 2000 folder entries. So far, I didn't detect what causes that slow down. Only one thing is sure, it eats a whole processor all the time. So, good for the information it gives, but really bad in terms of efficiency. Sorry guys, but this thing sucks ! show Review details
The software developer responded to this review on Aug 02, 2012: The problem about eating all CPU is true, but only when creating new catalogs or searching (these are heavy tasks). Also, this will be a problem only on single CPU core machines (on multi-core machines InsideCAT will "eat" only one core). No problem for multi-core computers. About "long-time" catalog creating, this usually means unreadable (or partially unreadable) files. Check disk integrity if this happens (InsideCAT 5 calculates CRC32 checksum for all files, if InsideCAT assigns a zero CRC32, 00000000, the file is not fully readable).
Won't update catalogues on cd-rw or dvd-rw 3 stars by ToughCritic Mar 13, 2006
V3.25 fails to update catalogues on cd or dvd, it only checks floppy drive. to update a cd or dvd, must delete old catatalogue, and start a new catalogue for the updated cd or dvd. won't work on a home network, with multi users trying to access the catalogues. no simple one button formatted printed output, only plain text, does have many options to output to database which is good, but i would like one button simple printed output to a4 portrait. show Review details
The software developer responded to this review on May 07, 2007: Version 4 has 6 new reports windows style. Re-cataloguing function has been improved. It has no network functions, as is designed for standalone users (limited network read-only multiuser mode it is supposed to work, but no support about this).
This programm is not a freeware !! 2 stars by navyzolf Sep 16, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This "freeware version" is in fact a limited to 100 directories version !!! and some limitations about some important properties show Review details
The software developer responded to this review on May 07, 2007: I think 100 catalogues is enough to use the word "freeware". Many users say to us "thanks for lite version, I have less than 100 disks...".
Needs improvement 2 stars by AnonymMan Jun 23, 2005 (Read all my 15 reviews)
I have uninstalled it from my PC. Installation and initial use was great. However it kept on generating error messages every time I started it, and when I made changes to 1 disk, re-cataloging was a problem as the program only checked my floppy disk drive and did not allow me to update from other media drives. show Review details
The software developer responded to this review on May 07, 2007: Please send small bug report to public@insidecat.biz. This way we can try to fix them...
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

MessageExport for Outlo

MessageExport for Outlo convert emails to PDF and other formats

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

NetSpot

NetSpot Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Discovery and Troubleshooting

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

LightZone

LightZone Open-source digital darkroom software

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring