avast!  Professional Edition

avast! Professional Edition User Reviews



5 stars66% 6
4 stars33% 3
3 stars0% 0
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 9 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 9 user reviews
Post your own review

Better than before 4 stars by oteotd Mar 26, 2010 (Read all my 49 reviews)
Back in Oct 2004 I tested Avast (free). Only difference between free/pro is a couple of features. Features aside overall operations of both are about the same. When I blasted this program is was because I had a computer that was in the lower end of the then current products. Avast was slower than a glacier, it would not run well. 6 years later I find this to be one of the faster programs (except for full scan). In 2004 I would not recommend this program. In 2010 I would have to say it is much improved and a worthy product for many people. I will recommend the Free versions to those that don't want to pay and for those that need or want the Pro this is not a bad deal when they have specials on their website. I did however find that the Product did not fit my needs due to the lack of a better update schedule. I need to set exact times for the updates and this program only allows to set a certain amount of minutes. That is why 4* I had to choose a different product. show Review details
Reliable anti-virus protection 4 stars by butterfield8 Oct 29, 2008
Easy to use, but a little slow to scan. Seems thorough and reliable. I haven't had any problems with avast free version or pro. show Review details
Easy to use and works with no glitches 4 stars by Blueman Jul 30, 2007 (Read all my 7 reviews)
I have over the years used Nortons,Zonealarm but found Avast! 4 Professional the best in terms of ease of use and not resource intense like norton or have problems with updates like Zonealarm as i have now for home computer. There are no need to have a IT background to understand all the settings like some, so all the options are basic which makes this either good or bad depending if you like tinkering with anti virus programs all i want is some thing simple to use and gets all virus. Give this 1 a go and you might find it works for you as well. show Review details
Very good antivirus program 5 stars by zxcvbnm Feb 25, 2007
I have been using this program for some time now and am quite happy with it. I advise to try the free version [for home users] first. show Review details
The best antivirus there is! 5 stars by pepoluan Oct 18, 2006 (Read all my 23 reviews)
I've used BitDefender, AntiVir, Norton, Symantec, McAffee, Kaspersky, Panda, AVG... and I settled on Avast. It successfully caught some viruses that the heavyweights let through, cleaned up a PC from 3-4 viruses (it previously had ****** on it). It's helper applications (called 'providers') provide all round protection from trojans and viruses exploiting open ports, and also it scans scripts. With Avast, your computer is not only equipped with self-defense/antibodies; it also now has an Level 4 environmental biohazard sterile suit. Awesome thing! Some drawbacks: The interface is not as slick as some of its competitors... really functional though. And when scanning, your system feels slightly sluggish... but it roots out more diseases so it's a tradeoff. show Review details
One of the best antivirus software around. 5 stars by Nikita May 27, 2006 (Read all my 9 reviews)
It seems to be quite reliable with its regular automatic online updates of virus definitions (sometimes twice a day). I switched to Avast from Norton which took SIGNIFICANTLY more of my computer resources than this program and was EXTREMELY slow. Avast works very quickly. It has quite unusual but convenient interface (in pro edition you can switch to more conventional enhanced user interface). I have checked this app with several testing tools and it has passed all the exams. I have already been using Avast during several months and so far haven't noticed any cons. show Review details
Just great ! 5 stars by Hellraiser Jan 29, 2006 (Read all my 27 reviews)
Nothing more to say ... show Review details
I was so impressed... 5 stars by dirtnap Oct 13, 2005 (Read all my 19 reviews)
After dumping the [..], I installed avast! home edition. I was so impressed that I eventually upgraded to the avast! PRO 4.6 edition to get the script blocking feature. You will NOT be disappointed with this app. If anyone is reporting a problem with avast! they probably need to simply clean up their registry of old entries that were left behind after uninstalling past applications. Left-behind registry entries can conflict with many new software installs. show Review details
Always been a fan of the freeware version 5 stars by EM_745 Jun 29, 2005 (Read all my 8 reviews)
I've always liked (and recommended) Avast Home (i.e. free) Edition. And to be honest, a part of me wants to tell you to give a few bucks to the fine people at Alwil for their good work. However, the other part of me wants to tell you that the free version should be enough for most users. Many of the worthwhile extras exclusive to the Pro version, like script blocking, can be had with other freeware apps (Script Sentry, for example). show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

NetSpot

NetSpot Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Discovery and Troubleshooting

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

LightZone

LightZone Open-source digital darkroom software

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

MessageExport for Outlo

MessageExport for Outlo convert emails to PDF and other formats