AxCrypt User Reviews

5 stars72% 16
4 stars22% 5
3 stars4% 1
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 22 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 22 user reviews
Post your own review

Mostly good 4 stars by SnappyAngel Feb 09, 2013 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I like this overall, for the reasons others have listed. It's easy to use and does the job well. There is one drawback, though, people should be warned about. More than once, I've opened an encrypted Word document, made several changes to it, hitting the "save" button at every turn, then closed the document only to have an error occur and all the changes I've made disappear, even though I supposedly "saved" the document several times. But that doesn't happen to me often. Overall I find this a handy program. show Review details
Simple, easy and efficient encryption! 5 stars by busybusy Aug 17, 2012 (Read all my 156 reviews)
The installation was a snap, along with the integration into explorer. A simple right-click on a file and you are ready to encrypt/decrypt. Does it get any simpler then that? Not really. I give it Two-Thumbs Up! show Review details
Almost great, if it could encrypt folders 3 stars by Svenni212000211 Dec 18, 2011
This is the second best free file encrytion program. If the program could encrypt both files and folders it would be on top there with the current winner Sophos Free Encryption. The option to encrypt the whole folder and not just the files, makes it easyer to send secret files on e-mail or services like MediaFire show Review details
Great 5 stars by JimWillis May 09, 2011 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Easy to download, open, learn and use. It don't get any better than this. Well done. show Review details
Wonderful program 5 stars by Martin1234 Mar 28, 2010
Wonderful program, and in use simple similar for all, expert and beginner, even I can work with it. show Review details
A fine product 5 stars by rhoadesb Mar 09, 2010 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I've used Axcrypt for years. I particularly like version 1.63 but newer versions are probably fine too. show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by jlhns40 Mar 12, 2008 (Read all my 10 reviews)
Excellent program. Just what I was looking for. Simple yet effective. Thanks Axon. show Review details
It does not encrypt asian language folder 4 stars by Acrypt Sep 20, 2007
This is good program. However, I have found a faulty point with this program. When I tried to encrypt a folder with many subfolders, it encrypted all the folders with English names except the folders with Asian language,such as Chinese. All the pictures under the folder with Chinese name are still seen. show Review details
Important missing link... 5 stars by tboostrom Apr 29, 2007 (Read all my 3 reviews)
...for secure computing. Thank you to the programmers for an excellent product. show Review details
Couldn't be easier 5 stars by TerryP Sep 28, 2006 (Read all my 87 reviews)
AxCrypt is tiny, quick, and powerful. Most importantly, it's extremely easy to use. To encrypt a file, just right-click it and select from the AxCrypt menu. From the novice user to the expert, this is file encryption for everyone. show Review details
Great 4 stars by Dilisha Sep 28, 2006
The program is excellent. Only one hitch, filenames can still be seen by everyone. show Review details
Best of breed. 5 stars by alnjk01 Sep 15, 2006 (Read all my 124 reviews)
Small footprint,low system resource usage and very stable. Convenient and simple to use. Thoughtfully laid out via drop down context menus. For encryption you couldn't ask for an easier application to use for your pc and for sending files or documents. show Review details
Very easy to use, but.. 4 stars by ianmacm Jun 09, 2006 (Read all my 174 reviews)
Of all the free encryption utilities, this one is by far the easiest to use. However, anyone with access to the computer can encrypt files without your consent so AxCrypt lacks the added security of systems that use a virtual drive system for encryption such as Cryptainer LE. The filenames remain unchanged when the file is encrypted, although they can be changed separately. The context menu system used by AxCrypt is very simple to use, but lacks the versatility and security of some other programs. show Review details
This program gets it done... 4 stars by biker74flh Jun 08, 2006
Having tried many encryption programs, both shareware and freeware, I found that a lot of them were cumbersome to use, required a lot of keystrokes, etc. But this program does exactly what it's supposed to do, and relatively easy. And it's FREE!!! And the fact that it will encrypt a file up to 4gb is a real plus. My next project will be to send an encrypted file to a computer forensics lab, and see how well it holds up to their attempts to crack it. I do agree with RamirLopez in the fact that if there are others that can access your computer, they could wreak havoc by encrypting files with out your knowledge. Opening the program with a password should be an option. Otherwise a great little program. Kudos to the author. show Review details
Excellent! 5 stars by NigeCull May 18, 2006 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Dose all I need it to do, what more can I say! show Review details
Amazing concept 5 stars by CarlosPatino Feb 24, 2006
Its a extraordinary product. Main features: Fully integrated to windows Explorer in all versions. Use a very strong 128AES ,SHA-1 algorithm. Very easy local files encrypt. Automatic re-encrypt when encrypted files are modified, only clicking the encrypted file, use it and automatically is re-encrypted. Can use a user key and a random secure key, it can be located in any removable drive (diskette, usb drive, etc.) Self-decrypting file are generated, very useful for email to user who dont have axcrypt. You can use the key as default encryption or remember this for decryption on a entire session. No application to run. Its very simple, very useful, no menus, no configuration, no drag and drop and very fast. Its free and has no limits in file size. Take care, do not encrypt system files. show Review details
Good encryption utility 5 stars by arrcher Dec 05, 2005
I show Review details
Don't fret over folders 5 stars by jrtall Dec 04, 2005
I love this program, but see some people concerned about encrypting folders... Add your files to a zip archive and encrypt the zip. Not only do you get the whole thing encrypted including the directory, but when you close the zip archive it not only re-encrypts, but also wipes the temporary files zip uses to decompress when you open files. Awesome, dude. show Review details
I've tried many other encryption program ... 5 stars by mardorj Sep 07, 2005 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I've tried many other encryption programs, both freeware and shareware but none can compare with the ease of operation of AxCrypt. Even a novice can get it up and running in no time. The developers have done an excellent job. Thanks! show Review details
Superb utility which can be very useful. 5 stars by Nikita Aug 25, 2005 (Read all my 9 reviews)
Some ideas on AxCrypt usage are given on the program homepage. I'm a freelance translator and would only like to add one specific idea of how it can be used in our business. Imagine that you have a customer whom you don't know well or don't trust. You have several files to translate. You do your job and then you send the files to the customer but all (or some) of them are encrypted with AxCrypt and though the customer has the files he can't open them without your authorization. The best thing is that he doesn't need any special software installed on his machine to open the files. All he needs for that is the password which will be sent to him as soon as he transfers the payment to you or on any other terms. Certainly the app should be used like this very carefully and only as the last resort but still it's nice to have such a tool in your arsenal. show Review details
Easy, free and works 5 stars by ruleworld Aug 18, 2005 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Use this to send video or exe files over email. show Review details
Excellent program 5 stars by SmileyGuy Jun 28, 2005 (Read all my 8 reviews)
If you are looking for an easy and integrated encryption program then I say look no further! As far as the member who mentioned no password to protect the program. I would say that begins with basically setting up user settings on XP. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software


Unchecky prevent accidental installations of third party offers


CintaNotes take and manage notes


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers


CardRecovery recover images from memory cards

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring