icon

SpywareBlaster user reviews

5 stars87% 21
4 stars8% 2
3 stars0% 0
2 stars4% 1
1 star0% 0
Based on 24 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 24 user reviews Post your own review

Extra protection, no resource issues 5 stars by rkd108428 Oct 22, 2012 (Read all my 17 reviews)
Provides peace of mind and an up-front layer of added security with no resource burden, a good adjunct to anti-malware scanner programs. showShow review details
Doesn't consume resources continually 5 stars by SeSorrow Apr 10, 2011 (Read all my 29 reviews)
This software does not run continually, it is a preventative rather than a scanner. Once you install it, you just have to run it occasionally to update it and enable the new updates. That's it. The perfect accessory to your active AV program. I install this on every computer I work on. showShow review details
Very easy to use 5 stars by roger2 Dec 27, 2009 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This is the 3rd spyware related freeware program I have tried (and reviewed) here at Snapfiles. Let me first say that SpywareBlaster is not exactly what I am looking for: I want a program to scan/report/fix and then go away, something I can run manually. I could not find a scan function in this program. It wants to run all the time and protect my (and your) browser proactively. If that is what you want then I would recommend this program based on my limited interaction with it. The user interface is extremely easy to comprehend and you are not overwhelmed by confusing options. Very clean interface. Inspires confidence, makes you feel likes its creators know what they are doing. showShow review details
A must have. 5 stars by Mike132 Nov 15, 2009 (Read all my 18 reviews)
I've used this app since it beginnings. I consider it an essential part of my overall security layering. I do recommend it to everyone running a PC. showShow review details
Can`t hurt 5 stars by gimpguy Sep 02, 2008 (Read all my 1158 reviews)
While this app is so quiet that many questioned if it's doing anything, well, it does and does it well. Of course you need to understand how it works to understand why you don't see doing anything. Either way, have used this for a looonnggg time now and it's a must have. Extra protection for free, hey, there's nothing to lose with this. I would recommend it to anyone! showShow review details
It just works 5 stars by FUME98 Mar 03, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
.. quietly and effectively in the background. Actually I prefer a manual update-on-*my*-demand, and with the new version 4.0 the 'bogging' on FF "enable protection" is cleared up (if you also use Spybot SearchandDestroy's Immunization for FF, this was an unfortunate side effect when the GUI for SB351 loaded). There's really no need to load the GUI other than to get the update every week or so or unless you like to fiddle with it. Like I said, it just works (without being bothersome). Now in version 4.0 with some great new useful features - Thanks, javacool! showShow review details
Great program 5 stars by mybuzz Aug 25, 2007 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Since using this program (over 4 years now) my system has had noticeably less garbage on it. Updates are rare and you have to pay for auto updates but this program is still worth the minor work it takes to keep it up to date. Highly recommend this program. showShow review details
Superior 5 stars by jackfrost May 13, 2007 (Read all my 35 reviews)
Essential tool for INNOCULATING a pc against known and constantly changing evil-wares. it is NOT a scanner. one uses a scanner AFTER THE FACT. one uses Spyware Blaster BEFORE THE FACT. it is a PREVENTATIVE, NOT a treatment. it is NOT memory resident and uses NO resources. if you read the authors documentation, it clearly states the intent and purpose of the code. but in a world rife with malware it is no wonder some just don't "get it". malware counts on the idiocy of the ever lazy internet using public to just click click click and never read a damn thing. that's how it gets on your machine in some cases, of course it is stealthed in most of the time, but other times it comes into your rig through the front door. the point? READ and you will know what you are getting. highly recommended. showShow review details
Easy to use and effective 5 stars by Tantalus Mar 16, 2007 (Read all my 7 reviews)
I've been using this program for over a year now and I really like it. Manual updates are necessary unless you are willing to pay, but you only have to update every couple of weeks or so. I use this in conjunction with Ad-Aware SE; SpywareBlaster keeps most junk off my machine and Ad-Aware takes care of what does slip through. Highly recommended. showShow review details
Its ok 4 stars by hydrowisp Jan 19, 2007 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Once you keep this program updated it will protect you from attacks using active x and other cookie trackers showShow review details
No news is good news! 5 stars by Dragon10 Nov 19, 2006 (Read all my 41 reviews)
V.3.5.1 is installed on my PC and unusally, it is difficult to review because by its very nature it is less interactive than some programs in the same category. The best way I can sum it up is 'No News is Good News' ie. if nothing negative in the way of malware is indicated on your PC then SpywareBlaster is doing its quite exceptional job. The interface I would describe as basic but what does it matter if it isn't being used on a daily basis anyway? I always but always appreciate any individual/company that is prepared to develop quality software and then proceeds to provide it as genuine 'Freeware'. In the Freeware version updates rely on manual input but with the icon emblazoned on my desktop I am hardly likely to forget - No problem! I would not and do not solely rely on this program for protection but view it as part of an umbrella of security. Yes, I recommend this reliable, dependable and quietly reassuring program. Thank you JavaCool! showShow review details
I love this program! 5 stars by Raineth Jun 25, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This is a really fantastic program...it doesn't fix your spyware problems, it stops you from having them in the first place! In short, it focuses on prevention instead of removal by blocking dangerous sites (on both Internet Explorer and Firefox). Another aspect that I consider an advantage is the fact that it does not need to be running in the background to work. Simply open the program once a week, download the latest protection and you're good to go. And it's free! showShow review details
Anybody should have it 5 stars by shimpoo Jun 18, 2006 (Read all my 8 reviews)
This adds harmful site's address to Internet browser's security options (IE, Firefox) and can block spyware before downloading it. You don't need to run SpywareBlaster all the time. Anybody should have it. showShow review details
This is not a spyware checker 5 stars by darkocean Jun 16, 2006 (Read all my 31 reviews)
This does exactly as it says it prevents. It stops problem before they start not after. Try having this program in for a week and then taking it out and see what fun you have browsing the internet! Just because a program isn't in your face or requires you to click a scan (this is not a scanner try reading the description.) Doesn't mean it isn't working. As for uploading an updated reference file thats done when you update it duh!(oh gosh I have to update it manually oh woe. *rolls eyes*) showShow review details
Great program 5 stars by blkbear54 Mar 11, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This is one of the best spyware blockers around. No Scanning required it just works. If you dont think it does like my daughter did and removed it because it was just taking up space LOL LOL she was calling me soon after she removed it to say HELP!!! where do you get that thing from I need it LOL LOL Get it use it and dont forget to update it often showShow review details
A great freebie! 5 stars by JohnnyBoy Jan 26, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I have been using the SpywareBlaster for almost 2 years now and it is a great addition to the other anti spyware tools I have on my PC. This is a MUST HAVE for your PC!!! showShow review details
Another must have! 5 stars by Ghost_grey Jan 03, 2006 (Read all my 56 reviews)
Every computer that has internet or installs software should have this.. such a nice tool. showShow review details
Another must have! 5 stars by Gizmo_151 Dec 27, 2005 (Read all my 10 reviews)
Great program too silently help protect your machine.You can even custom block things too your own liking! I've used it since it came out.Never has caused a single moments problem for me. showShow review details
Excellant software 5 stars by wboth125 Dec 04, 2005
Check the lists..all the bad stuff is listed..check weekly for updates and "enable perfection" .. this activates the new stuff..with this always running Spysweeper catches only i Item on a sweep. Blocks active x and add tracking cookies..covers Firefox to......great!! showShow review details
Keeps the bad guys out. 5 stars by JimboL Nov 04, 2005 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Makes sense, stops the bad guys before they can get to your computer. Then if a few happen to sneak in, there is always software to control and eliminate them too. Great program, free edition and the small fee paid for version with automatic updates. showShow review details
Have my doubts 2 stars by Nicholas Aug 25, 2005 (Read all my 58 reviews)
SpywareBlaster is on my system for a long time now, doing nothing but consuming memory. Does it work? I wonder. Is it effective? I have my doubts. After an outbreak of new nasty spyware I expect it will download an updated reference file immediately. It does not. Day after day it keeps telling me that I have the latest update. Not very reassuring in an ugly world that changes continuously. showShow review details
Finally! proof it works! 4 stars by Bobb999 Aug 01, 2005 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Strong circumstantial evidence. I recently found 6 or 8 malware files, most of them ones I'd not encountered before: eg. Hitbox, TribalFusion, Doubleclick, Click2, Valueclick. A few days later I discovered my SB program I'd had for a week or two had not yet been enabled! Then I thought back to the many prior months I'd had SB running without having real proof it was protecting me. (I reinstalled SB just lately). Those mysterious new cookies, etc. I'd just found in a scan were new to me 'cause SB had evidently been "blasting" them all, before that time! They're all found on SB's list. No one program prevents or even scans and finds all malware all the time. I use SB as part of an arsenal. Don't rely on just one scan! Adaware misses stuff others find and vice versa. I have 4 (free) scans and 4 is not too many, as it's not uncommon for only 1 out of 4 scans to find something.It can be a different one each time! showShow review details
Great spyware prevention 5 stars by Turcoloco Jun 16, 2005 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Along with Spybot's Immunize feature and a pop-up blocker, this program completes the circle for creating a very powerful shield against today's common adware/spyware type web threats by adding related keys to these locations in the registry: HKEY_USERS.DEFAULTSoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVersionInternet SettingsZoneMapDomains and (naturally linked) HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVersionInternet SettingsZoneMapDomains. So the program is only run to open the GUI interface to make the related changes in the Registry, no process need to be running in the background, awesome! showShow review details
Spywareblaster ..just works 5 stars by greyniteowl Jun 14, 2005 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This program has been on my computer several years and as long as I keep updating it it just works. I like because it stays in the background doing it's job and can shield your browser(s)from many types of attackers. I have installed it on Xp and Win98 with no problems whatever. I recommend using it with spybot and AdawareSE to have the best all round protection and you certainly can't beat the price! showShow review details
Back to product details   Add your review...
Download SpywareBlaster

Check out these featured downloads...

PhoXo

PhoXo image editing and effects

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring

Sumatra PDF

Sumatra PDF portable PDF viewer

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

Emsisoft Emergency Kit

Emsisoft Emergency Kit portable malware removal kit