RegSeeker User Reviews

5 stars51% 16
4 stars22% 7
3 stars16% 5
2 stars3% 1
1 star6% 2
Based on 31 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 31 user reviews
Post your own review

The best 5 stars by ronjsch918 Apr 16, 2015
You can't find a better registry cleaner. Absolutely the BEST...! show Review details
Fantastic program! 5 stars by nobull2 Apr 22, 2013 (Read all my 25 reviews)
Regseeker just saved me tons of time removing virus entries in the registry. This is defiantly a keeper. I just cannot believe the ease of use this program supplies. show Review details
An excellent registry cleaner 5 stars by DonMarquis Aug 29, 2011 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Have been using RegSeeker for many years since it first came out and can highly recommend it. Simple reliable and straightforward to use. show Review details
Excellent little tool 4 stars by SeSorrow Apr 30, 2011 (Read all my 29 reviews)
Love using this one to clean up start-up entries from any system. I always used to use this one to help remove program entries when uninstalling applications, but am using Revo Uninstaller now so that isn't a problem anymore. But this one is always a useful utility to have with you in emergencies. show Review details
Great registry cleaner plus tweaker 5 stars by Davoid Dec 21, 2008 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Cleaner works great and does auto backups. Recommend you do the registry in small groups so if you do have to do a backup restore you don't have to put everything back. Has many tweaks and custom settings too! show Review details
A must-have. 4 stars by popthezid Oct 24, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Very easy use and good. Freeware, portable! show Review details
One of the best 5 stars by gimpguy Oct 07, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
This is an excellent registry app. I was hard pressed to even try it as others have been less than satisfactory. This one proved me wrong. The easy to use features and search are absolutely great, it's fast, informative, and all around what I like in a registry manager such as this. I give it a 5 with no problem. As with others' warnings, I will keep the fire going in hopes to deter an accidental OS kill and state the same,-----"IF YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING TO THE REGISTRY DON'T MESS WITH ANY REGISTRY MANAGER"---- It even states that it's not for beginners in the READ MORE. If you delete something and mess up the OS, then likely you have no idea what you are doing, the app won't do this on it's own.--- That said, if you do know how to monkey in the registry, then this will be an awesome help tool! Great work! show Review details
Pros, cons, and general recommendations 4 stars by gusimio Apr 21, 2008 (Read all my 31 reviews)
PROS: Nice feature set, displays each entry as either possibly safe (green) or possibly unsafe (red) to delete. CONS: Dangerous to use (as are all registry cleaners), benefits are negligible, not for novice use. GENERAL RECOMMENDATIONS: Avoid registry cleaners in general as they will not (noticeably) increase your PC performance. More often, excessive startup entries, a full or fragmented hard drive, and/or inadequate memory resources (eg, not enough RAM) are the root cause of your problem. Speaking from experience, I have deleted thousands of "invalid" registry entries over time (using 5 different registry cleaners on a regular basis) and I have never been able to see a noticeable difference in my PC performance that was directly attributable to the deletion of those entries. In fact, my PC ran just as well when my registry size was 29,000KB as it does today (with a registry size of 14,500KB). So, I would look elsewhere to solve a PC slowdown problem. show Review details
Beyond the call of duty 5 stars by JMMannion Dec 07, 2007 (Read all my 25 reviews)
I read the comments on this little program and, for the most part everyone is right. The program does do exactly as it has been ordered to do. So, a little caution is necessary when using it. It isn't necessary to avoid it entirely, just run it at the default settings and things go well. For those who are a bit more daring and have some idea of what takes place in the registry you can take it a few steps further and get those really pesky problems satisfied. The "Find in Registry" feature is very good and comes close to the default "regedit" for quality. If this program is used with RegScanner every little stray item can be winnowed and safely removed. The more a person works with the registry the more interesting and fun it becomes to use the programs. I will give this program an Excellent because it deserves it! show Review details
Handy little program 5 stars by beltman713 Nov 24, 2007 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Excellent registry cleaner with backup. Also has some very good registry tweaks. show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by RomanEdStan Sep 21, 2007
Using RegSeeker 155, excellent program, no problems with it. Thank You. show Review details
Just be careful when you use this. 2 stars by MouseChaser Aug 17, 2007 (Read all my 27 reviews)
Please Just Be Careful When You Use This. When I Used This Registry Program On Windows XP,This Program Removed Some Very Valuable Registry Files,That I Had to do a System Restore to Fix The Problem. show Review details
Not for the click and go crowd 4 stars by jackfrost May 13, 2007 (Read all my 35 reviews)
One can NEVER simply have contact with the registry without being prepared to set aside some time to do the task at hand and it would also behoove you to spend some time educating yourself about it as much as your learning curve can stand. there is not a registry cleaner in all of the world where it is ever safe to simply haphazardly click for a scan then click for a clean. not one. you must read each finding with sobriety and know what you are doing. if you don't, well then, exit the program and call a professional to do the job for you. that said, this is a great scanner for any IT pro. i can't give it a total 5 star since the interface needs to be cleaned up a bit and the selection method - contextual menus need more work, but with a cleaner this thorough, that is only minor. show Review details
Quite an impressive tool 3 stars by prettyface Feb 24, 2007 (Read all my 9 reviews)
I have used it for a week and cleaned the registry three times with it. Like others have stated, caution is recommended just like it is with the vast majority of registry cleaners. Before deletion, I check all red entries and delete my selected ones individually, except for those in the green group which can be deleted quite safely. TweakNow Registry Cleaner is fairly similar to RegSeeker and it's interesting to run one after the other just to see what each comes up with. After running RegSeeker, I ran TweakNow and CCleaner for curiosity, and there were absolutely no issues or problems found. I shall try these orders in reverse when I get the time, too. show Review details
Beware the updated version 3 stars by Belatucadrus Feb 08, 2007 (Read all my 13 reviews)
I used to be a real RegSeeker fan, years of use with no problems, then I put on the latest version. It's way too aggressive and caused problems that required a System Restore to correct. Eusing doesn't have the range of ancillary features and it does have that annoying nag screen, but as a registry cleaner it's less problematic than the version of RegSeeker currently available. RegSeeker needs refining if only to get it back to where it was, at the moment the new improved version isn't. show Review details
What went wrong ??? 3 stars by DirectInfo Dec 11, 2006 (Read all my 8 reviews)
I used RegSeeker for over a year and it worked great. I got a new pc and used RegSeeker and it had my desktop icons moving every time I reboot. Good tool but use with caution!!! If you use Windows XP Media Center Edition. I would NOT run RegSeeker. show Review details
Handle with care! 3 stars by Dragon10 Nov 06, 2006 (Read all my 42 reviews)
On the PLUS side I am impressed, overall, by the functionality of 'RegSeeker' v1.52. Caution needs to be exercised in its use and the User needs to be familiar with what is loaded on their PC so they can assess what can be safely deleted. On the 'DOWN' side, I believe a 'Help Guide' would prove useful especially with regard to identifying file extensions. It would also assist having some instruction on the use of the 'Back-Ups'. It only seems to store them for a day, so how do you restore files if a deleting error is made? The language selection does not function. The interface icons and font size could be increased in size for better clarity. With some further development, minor improvements and 'tweaks' believe 'RegSeeker' would become a leader in its field. I thank the developer for the time and effort they have committed to the project and for donating this high quality, competent program as 'Freeware'. show Review details
Update defective 1 stars by chatrage Oct 29, 2006 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Have used for years this latest update locked up after running a scan, running Windows Home Edition SP2, all updates plus IE 7. Also, this is an overly aggressive registry cleaner that leads to problems, this from experience. Advise using CrapCleaner built in registry cleaner, no I don't work for CC. Safest choice is windows built in disk cleaner/defrag/removing old excess restore points -find this on windows disk cleaner "more options". show Review details
It's the best one of it's kind 5 stars by jbseventyone Oct 05, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
Overall I like this registry cleaner alot, and the only difficult part is managing the exclusions list. Not only does RegSeeker automatically clean the registry well, but you can go back and search for registry keys that you think might have been left behind by uninstalling other applications. The system tweaks are a nice feature too. Also, on my system, I never had to restore a backup due to missing registry entries required by other programs, which means it's doing a good job at finding obsolete registry entries. Thanks to the author of this fine registry cleaner. show Review details
Really good 5 stars by caboing Aug 25, 2006 (Read all my 18 reviews)
I need to search all occurrences of a "key" in the registry and it worked out fast! And it even generated a back up. Ty for another good tool. show Review details
Nice but unstable 4 stars by LibertyToad Jun 17, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This is a nice utility and works as advertised, but there are some interface problems and it can be unstable. When it works it works very well. show Review details
Fantastic! 5 stars by tomcat Mar 17, 2006 (Read all my 16 reviews)
It's great with lots of neat tools as well. Get it now! show Review details
New beta version 1.45 4 stars by glenn56 Mar 05, 2006
I like all the features! It's a very simple program to run, just be careful what you remove from the registry. The registry key selections don't work on my computer, or maybe it's a bug.(Recommended) show Review details
Regseeker is the best .... 5 stars by Skywaynights Feb 26, 2006
I've used RegSeeker for a couple of years now and there is no better registry cleaner, free or otherwise. I've never had a problem using it and never had to restore anything. I wouldn't recommend that newbies use this program however, until they've read some of the reviews written about it. Great Product! One of the best freeware programs out there. show Review details
Yeah, looks good but causes problems 1 stars by Ghost_ARCHER Jan 14, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
It looks good at first sight. But my file explorer was messed up after I stopped it from the reg clean. I don't know why it scans whole hard drive during reg cleaning, other reg cleaner works fast and does nothing to my matlab folder. After I stopped it I found right mouse menu became a black box. And there is NO backup file for me even the "backup before delete" box kept checked. I will remove it from my computer no matter if I can restore it. This is not for me, I will stick with tweaknow regclean. show Review details
Fantastic program 5 stars by zipman Jan 05, 2006
Regseeker outperforms my 2 commercial reg cleaners everytime. Superb program. show Review details
Brilliant. 5 stars by TheDarkLord Nov 20, 2005 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Works perfectly, does what it says. Finds lots of unused registry entries and gets rid of them. It keeps a backup in case something gfoes wrong, but nothing has ever gone wrong with mine. show Review details
Very impressive 5 stars by alnjk01 Nov 13, 2005 (Read all my 124 reviews)
Been using this program for over a year now. Always made backups but Never had to recapture my deletions!!! This is the only registry program that I really feel safe about using. The program is well written, stand alone, very stable and contains a lot of options/tweaks for its size! show Review details
The best and sanist way to clean the regestry ... 4 stars by Randolph Nov 07, 2005
The best and sanest way to clean the registry IMO is with an app like regseaker. I say this because it does nothing automatically. It finds entries that appear to be funky and you must decide what to delete (as you should). It will display what it finds color coded in either red or green text. Green being the safest for deletion and red being one for caution. Red entries are usually unused entries or invalid ActiveX. I leave the unused entries, as who knows if they will be needed later, the ActiveX ones I delete liberally. Green entries I delete if they are paths to non existing files or entries from uninstalled programs (which is all you should use a registry editor for anyway). Regseaker also has an exclusion list so undeleted entries are not displayed on the next scan. Anyway it is the registry back it up each time you house clean and treat it with care, I just can not imagine letting any registry cleaner to it's own devices. But that is up to each user I guess. show Review details
Using regseeker 3 stars by WAArnold Sep 28, 2005
I ran across this trying to find a good registry editor and gave it a try. I do not recommend this to anyone. There are too many findings that can cause you problems that should not be introduced for deletion. show Review details
One of my favourite tools for pc maintenance. 5 stars by Nikita Sep 09, 2005 (Read all my 9 reviews)
It is small, fast and doesn't require installation: just put it on your system and run. Once a month I use it for cleaning my registry of redundant/obsolete entries and errors. I install and inevitably uninstall lots of programs and RegSeeker is an integral part of my uninstall routine: a lot of programs are badly written and leave many entries even after proper uninstallation and RegSeeker helps me to find those unneeded items in the registry and delete them. This utility has also many other useful options. So far I have never had problems with RegSeeker and I would highly recommend this superb program but not to novice: one should be very careful making changes to the registry, you should understand what you do. Even to experienced PC users I would advise to always use "Backup before deletion" option of the program and also make a system restore point before using RegSeeker: that way you can recover from any mistakes you may accidentally make. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software


CintaNotes take and manage notes

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

CopyTrans Manager

CopyTrans Manager manage your iPod without iTunes

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring


CardRecovery recover images from memory cards