Mozilla Firefox

Mozilla Firefox User Reviews



5 stars51% 43
4 stars15% 13
3 stars15% 13
2 stars11% 10
1 star5% 5
Based on 84 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 84 user reviews
Post your own review

Not what it used to be 1 stars by asrs2007 Aug 10, 2016 (Read all my 6 reviews)
It used to be my favorite, but after it refused to work with java, I had to give it up and was surprised to see that new generation brosers were better in many respects. show Review details
Good, but with exceptions. literally. 3 stars by kpupright799 Jun 18, 2016 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Once upon a time, google was simple, fast, and excellent. Now it is huge and invasive. Firefox seems to have followed the same path. As always since I first started using it, Firefox has had excellent design and interface. The problem has come since the early 30s versions and the browser getting more and more bloated. Resource use in this last build is astounding, and I'd love to send the plugin container to another planet, set fire to it and bury its ashes. Constant "breakpoint" errors leading to crashes prompted repeated clean installations trying to gain stability to no avail. Getting a system crash and good ole blue screen was the final straw. Haven't seen that since Bugle was a pup and have no desire to deal with it for the sake of just trying to look at the internet. It may work for others but for now I've had my fill. The search continues. show Review details
Still a great browser 5 stars by LowStrung Jan 24, 2016 (Read all my 13 reviews)
User customizations, which have always made Firefox so flexible, are still possible. Also, I'm seeing great performance as far as speed is concerned, and stability as well. The memory leaks I found in an earlier version haven't shown up in 43.0.4. So far I haven't encountered any difficulties in handling the sites I visit regularly. Some of the UI changes are a bit disconcerting. The first thing I noticed was that the buttons on the bookmarks toolbar were displayed at the very bottom of the toolbar, which had a very large top margin, but I eventually fixed that by editing userChrome.css, which has always helped me tweak the UI in the past. Some extensions may cause Firefox to start up a bit more slowly, particularly Adblock Plus. At any rate, although I previously felt satisfied with my very old version of Firefox and was refusing to upgrade it, I'm glad I eventually gave in and installed 43.0.4! show Review details
Not the best now 2 stars by fuzzy178795 Sep 26, 2015 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This was my fav Browser for many years , now after each update has just got more bloated and worse Buggy , font problems so many problems no longer fast crashes all the Time , now I use Maxthon it is far superior never thought I would say this about Firefox but to be honest now it is just buggy and not at all stable . show Review details
33 is good! 4 stars by danielson Oct 16, 2014 (Read all my 7 reviews)
If the advent of Australis edition brought this browser down a notch in quality standards (GUI flexibility and addons compatibility issues)it still remains a good contender to the main stream browsers. This latest version seems to be a lot perkier than its predecessor. Android version is nice too! 4+ show Review details
Beginning to suffer 2 stars by EmpressTrudy Sep 14, 2014 (Read all my 16 reviews)
FF has become increasingly clunky and slow and bloated. And it's becoming difficult to say in sync with add ons. For instance FF 32.0 is incompatible with Symantec Vulnerability add on. And almost immediately they released a 'fix' to 32, 32.0.1 which is supposed to address stability and security issues (of course) but it runs slower than 32.0 which was ever so slightly faster than 31 but the overall trend had been bigger, bulkier, slower, fatter. And the releases don't appear to add much except for developers. show Review details
Australis looks fine to me 5 stars by Wastrel May 26, 2014 (Read all my 17 reviews)
I've been using Firefox continuously since before v1. Mozilla has certainly done a few things with Firefox (and Thunderbird) that I didn't much like; Rapid Release, for instance, has been really annoying as an end user (though it may, perhaps, have been a good thing regarding development). However, as someone who for years now has spent more than a little time with each release delving into the internals of Firefox in order to write custom CSS to alter its appearance, I have to say that Firefox 29 with Australis is definitely the best Firefox yet. I encountered one "serious" issue with Firefox 29 related to non-default settings that caused Firefox to crash randomly, but once I reset them to their defaults the issue vanished--no problems since. (The cause of the problem turned out to have been ongoing since release 26 or 27.) Removing the Add-on bar (hiding it actually) seemed like an unnecessary thing to do, but I found that I didn't need it anyway. And since you can get it back with an add-on (ironic) if you do need it, Firefox is what it's always been: highly configurable (more so than any other browser). Many "long-time users" have complained about Firefox looking like Google Chrome. Well, once you stop looking at the tab shape and the menu button, Firefox looks like it always has: like Firefox. And that's a beautiful thing. Firefox... still the best, and better than ever. show Review details
Bye bye 2 stars by gimpguy May 23, 2014 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
I have been a Firefox user for years, until this year anyway. Noticing months back how my browsing was slowed, had crashes, games not functioning through Internet correctly, I went through multiple scenarios to fix this only to find that uninstalling Firefox fixed the issue. That really took me by surprise. (No there were no infections, etc...) This wasn't limited to my PC, many people in my home and outside of my home were having issues too. After waiting for fixes, etc... something has changed with Firefox and it hasn't gotten better. I have switched to a different open source browser now and everything has been great. This has been ongoing for months with Firefox and I've had enough, it was time to move on to a browser that isn't getting intrusive to the system. show Review details
Firefox 29 with the Australis interface 3 stars by JohnCorliss May 05, 2014 (Read all my 10 reviews)
Although Mozilla claims that version 29 is more configurable than previous versions, my experience is that the opposite is true unless you use the "Classic Theme Restorer" extension. The extension will put back features which the developers removed (eg. the Addons Toolbar), unlock things they made unmovable (eg. the tab bar location) and do other changes (eg. make background tabs not fade out so completely.) Using the extension, I was able to make Firefox look just the way it did before updating to version 29. I have to admit that I do like the rounded tabs, which really don't waste space after all. There actually are a few new features in version 29, but frankly, I only use a couple of them. If the "Classic Theme Restorer" extension ever stops being developed, I will be very unhappy to have to use the new "Australis" interface. show Review details
Firefox v. 29 new interface - australis- 5 stars by melen001 Apr 29, 2014 (Read all my 20 reviews)
Well I just got the new FF Australis interface page and, to tell you the truth, it really doesn't look that bad. Actually it might take a little time to get accustomed to but it seems okay. The whole problem is that we are accustomed to do things a certain way and when change and new technologies arrive we resent the fact that we might have to "start all over again" and that's understandable. As part of our learning habits that is not unusual at all. Changes and innovation are usually difficult for us to accept and "learned habits" is just part of our psychological traits on how we think and act so, if you really think about it, after awhile, getting accustomed to the new FF is really no big deal. Sure we've lost a few things that we liked on our homepage, but can you imagine if we still had the "original FireFox" and all that "old technology"??? Let me put it this way, I can remember the first car I had a 1963 Chevy Impala and no AC. Do you think that I would change my 2012 Lexus GS 350 for the "old, trustworthy and beauty" of the Impala? Yeah, it's a nostalgic felling I guess and I loved that Impala but you get the idea. I got over it and I'm sure that you will too. Technology and innovation has it's sacrifices but the positives out weight the lost.... so I welcome you Australis and thanks FireFox for a job well done... show Review details
Version 18.0.1 is fast, secure, and stable. 5 stars by wyzwyk1 Feb 01, 2013 (Read all my 5 reviews)
This version is running nicely on both my Windows 7 and Linux Mint 14 KDE operating systems. I've always had a place in my heart for this browser because of the way you can customize it with add-ons, but some releases over the past couple of years have been less than stellar. A number of times new releases have been incompatible with popular add-on extensions. When this has happened the browsing experience was greatly diminished. Fortunately the last few releases have been devoid of problems. show Review details
Solid stable with great add-ons 5 stars by dvdshonna96 Nov 22, 2012 (Read all my 11 reviews)
Love all the add-ons. It's why Firefox is my #1 choice. Don't understand all the complaints about the constant updates and new versions. I turn off automatic updates in the options and normally use Firefox for years before I download a new version. I don't care if Mozilla updates and create new versions every day. It's nothing to me. None of them are mandatory. I see version 17.0 is available. I'm still using version 9.01. Version 17.0 looks stripped down (like Chrome) I don't believe I'll be updating anytime soon. show Review details
Recent problems 3 stars by madmik Feb 13, 2012 (Read all my 32 reviews)
Prior to versions 9 and 10,Firefox was a moderately fast, relatively trouble free browser packed with features which made it a winner. Regrettably, something seems to have gone wrong with the last two versions,which seem wracked with mysterious issues,causing freezing and shutdowns on a frequent basis.I doubt these are unique to my particular configuration,as these problems didn't occur prior to version 9. One recent change in versions 9 and 10.1, seems the allowing of over riding compatibility with extensions ,which previously may have been considered incompatible. Whatever the cause, these issues are severe enough for me to consider a browser change. These problems have been reported. Regrettably,owing to the present difficulties,it is hard to recommend the current versions. Version 8 was good if not particularly fast. show Review details
Neverending update cycle, broken addons 1 stars by Vagablonde Sep 29, 2011 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I am a long time Firefox user. I am not certain what they are doing with these round of new updates... I just got 6 installed and finally got my addons working.. and today its a new version. No thank you show Review details
Best browser for me! 5 stars by mmgonzo Jul 13, 2011
I have used Firefox since version 1.5 and have never looked back. For me, Firefox is much better, easier to use, and safer than IE. I have tried Chrome, Opera, & others, but I found Firefox to be the best. When Firefox 4.0 became available I downloaded, installed, and just loved it. Now using Firefox 5.0 and still find Firefox to be the best; hand down. Best for ease of use, security, safety, and a world of great add-ons. No other browser comes close!!! I use on my Linux Mint 9 pc, WinXp, & Win7. If I did not have to use IE or MS Windows at all, I wouldn't. As for me I'd give Firefox 10 Stars if I could! show Review details
I will stick with 3.5 1 stars by whoever Jun 10, 2011
Snapfiles review clearly states that it is for 3.5 but I tried 4 anyway and took it straight back off. It is absolute pants and worse than any other browser I have ever tried. I will stick with 3.5 and once I get to the stage where I maybe can't use 3.5 I will look elsewhere. Sorry but this a one giant leap backward and an absolute mess. You won't bother with it if you have any sense. show Review details
A competitive browser with excellent add-ons 5 stars by iwillneverstop Apr 24, 2011 (Read all my 24 reviews)
Maybe, Firefox itself isn't as good as Internet Explorer but with a huge set of excellent add-ons, Firefox becomes one of the leading internet browsers. Supporting Windows (including XP), Linux and Mac OS is one of the advantages of Firefox. You're looking for a browser that is flexible but still good, Firefox is your destination. show Review details
Beware the update 4 stars by raptozilla Mar 23, 2011 (Read all my 14 reviews)
I have been using Firefox since 0.4 came out; on this computer, I have several versions since about 1.5. When I did the update to 4.0 through the Firefox interface and tried to start the browser it crashed most of the time. If it didn't crash upon starting, it crashed every time I tried to access the options popup. I did a complete uninstall of Firefox using Revo Uninstaller advanced mode and then installed 4.0; this corrected the problem. Hardly any of my extensions or themes were compatible with 4.0, so I have to do a complete reworking of that aspect of 4.0 from scratch anyway. If you're going to use 4.0 and have installed previous versions of the program, you might want to do the complete uninstall before installing 4.0. Upload your bookmarks to Xmarks and export your speed dial settings so you can easily retrieve them after installing 4.0; if you do these things, it's most of the battle in getting your Firefox back to the way you like it. show Review details
Best browser I have ever seen! 5 stars by RyanStampton Mar 22, 2011 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Firefox Is The Best Browser Ever. Its Faster, Add-Ons, Smaller Download. So I Would Recommend Firefox To Everyone! show Review details
Not this version 3 stars by Fuzzy55 Mar 23, 2010 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Have been a Firefox fan, for years unfortunately version 3.6 / 3.6.2 has some real problems with Flash sites, and is full of Bugs. I have always rated Firefox as 5 star, but not this version, went back to version 3.5.8 show Review details
I don`t get it 2 stars by wildgoosespeeder Jan 01, 2010 (Read all my 52 reviews)
I read pcs800's review and couldn't agree more. I just don't get it. You need plug-ins to be able to compare it to what Internet Explorer can do on it's own. I can program in JavaScript and one JavaScript I made runs in Internet Explorer as intended. Run it in Firefox and we get a different result! The JavaScript was adding two numbers but Firefox thought I was trying to piece together two string values. 1+1=11? I don't think so. I had to fix it using an algebraic way. 1-(-1)=2. That fixed it. Cool people use Firefox. Cool people follow fads and don't question them. I'm not cool. I'm questioning Firefox. Why do people think it is so much better than Internet Explorer? So what if you can use different skins? Looks don't determine how good a program is. It's the functionality. I know some looks are good but there needs to be balance. People claim Firefox loads faster than Internet Explorer. It doesn't for my computer. show Review details
Still the very best. 5 stars by Mike132 Nov 21, 2009 (Read all my 18 reviews)
There is not another browser that can touch what FireFox can do.I've used this browser from it's beginnings and have always liked it.With all it's add-ons there simply isn't anything I know of that's better or even close to it. I recommend it to everyone as my number one pick in browsers. show Review details
Tired of add-on problems with updates 2 stars by spreland Aug 31, 2009 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Tired of my addons and themes no longer working with each update. Addblock Plus quit working with v.3 of Firefox. Who wants a browser with no ad blocking? Reinstalled v.2 - Mozilla can keep their updates. Not worth the problems. show Review details
My favorit web browser 4 stars by lokiasan May 17, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Firefox is my favorite web browser, it free from worm and trojan attack, easy to use and fast on surfing. Unlike other web browser, so many bug and easy infected by worms and trojan or spyware. show Review details
It`s getting worse 3 stars by bluenorther May 08, 2009 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I've been using Firefox for 5 years.It was a promising browser, but the v.3 is a mess.The Boookmarks are simply awful, many extensions still don't work,the interface even on the Firefox add-ons page is a chaos. It's sad, very sad. show Review details
Firefox all the way !! 5 stars by Zundapp Mar 29, 2009 (Read all my 8 reviews)
I had IE, then tried Firefox and haven't gone back to IE, Firefox is so much better !! I've running it for about a year and it keeps getting better :) show Review details
When you want the very best... 5 stars by BillPfeifer Jan 31, 2009 (Read all my 3 reviews)
It's free. It's excellent. And it just keeps getting better. show Review details
Bookmark manager too difficult to use 1 stars by 7654321 Nov 15, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Having used Firefox 1.07 through 1.5, I recommended Firefox to everyone. Now that I tried 3.04 (2000 SP4), I no longer recommend Firefox, because I don't have a clue how to use the Bookmark Manager! In versions 1.07 through 1.5, I learned everything I need to know about Bookmark Manager in 30-40 seconds. After using version 3.04 for about a month, I have no clue how to perform basic tasks in Bookmark Manager. I Bookmarked a site, but cannot find it under Bookmark Manager. I created a folder, but when I click on 'Bookmark This Page,' I cannot put it in the Folder I created! I have no clue how to 'Move' a bookmark to somewhere else, such as another Folder. I looked in the Help File (which should NEVER be needed for tasks this basic), and there is NOTHING. Bottom Line: IE6 is 1,000,000 times better then Firefox 3.04, because there is no longer a reasonably easy way to control or work with Bookmarks. I would still recommend Firefox 1.5, but not version 3.04. show Review details
Very good 5 stars by crazynut Jun 28, 2008 (Read all my 4 reviews)
An amazing web browser with lots of plug- ins and add-ons. It is fast an can easily beat Explorer with its features. It is very secure and there are many features. show Review details
This is the best browser as of june, 2008! 5 stars by garyganu Jun 23, 2008 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I absolutely LOVE Firefox 3.0! I have not submitted a review for any software on this site until now, though I've used the site for quite some time. Once I downloaded 3.0, I immediately noticed an increase in speed when browsing. I also love the "Awesome Bar" feature, where you type in keywords in the address bar and as you type, you get sites which you have visited recently, are in your Bookmarks, or have been tagged with the word(s) that you are typing. With the previous version of Firefox, it seemed that when I first went online, I'd have a minute or two of very slow page loading, then it would go away. I no longer have this problem on 3.0... The interface is very clean and doesn't take up too much space. It's a winner! show Review details
Tons of problems 1 stars by bplayer Jun 22, 2008
Firefox 3.0 worst piece of crap i have ever seen. Tons of problems, it hangs, there's trouble with Java, YouTube videos wouldn't work well, trying to get support for the problems with the browser is unbelievable. Since i downloaded it, there are more people that commented on my thread about how terrible the browser is. Fix it fast Mozilla, or I give up on Mozilla show Review details
Best browser i've ever used 5 stars by beltman713 Dec 01, 2007 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Started using firefox a couple of years ago because was tired of IE's constant problems. Faster page loads, tabbed windows and the endless number of add ons make firefox the winner, hands down. show Review details
Love and hate firefox 2 3 stars by MouseChaser Oct 07, 2007 (Read all my 27 reviews)
This New Version Update Keeps Freezing.Every Time I Open And Use Fire Fox Now It Always Tells Me That It Does Not Respond. I Used To Love Fire Fox Before Fire Fox 2.But Not Now As I Hate It When It Keeps Freezing Up.I Wish Mozilla Fire Fox Will Fix This,But Now I Have To Use Another Browser.If These Bugs Are Fixed Then I Will Come Back to Fire Fox. show Review details
What`s the hype about? 2 stars by pcs800 Jul 10, 2007 (Read all my 222 reviews)
Personally, I have tried this several times thinking I must be missing something really cool because everyone raves over it. I am starting to think the rave is just to spite Microsoft. This browser is bulky and uncomfortable to me. I use Avant browser, have for years, it has much better features and it's fast. When will this FAD end? show Review details
Firefox is a browser to have. 4 stars by moparmac Jul 02, 2007 (Read all my 11 reviews)
Firefox is another alternative to IE. I haven't found it to be as fast as Opera. But it's not slow either. There is a speed tweak that sometimes improves surfing speed. There are some excellent themes and add-ons for this open-source browser.It has multi-tabbing and is customisable. Firefox is definitely better than Internet Explorer or any of the IE knock-offs. Security is updated when needed. Firefox is a dependable browser and I recommend it. show Review details
The mother of all browsers 5 stars by candyloo Jun 28, 2007
Not one regret have I for choosing the best and easiest-to-use browser ever created. It is an adventure into choices and discoveries. "Too many chefs...not enough cooks" speaks of inability to adapt to change. You Rock, Mozilla Firefox! show Review details
Fair firefox 5 stars by pantherman Jun 02, 2007 (Read all my 14 reviews)
MUCH better than IE! I like the tab browsing. Some add ons are a bit of a pain to use. But in general I would rate it excellent. show Review details
Not the fastest nor the more reliable 4 stars by ArturN Jan 11, 2007 (Read all my 19 reviews)
Used Firefox for an year - versions 1.5 and 2.0 - and at the end, I ended with Opera. The most interesting thing abt Firefox, are the addons that one can integrate with the browser but had many crashes with version 2.0. Opera is faster, does not eat as much memory as Firefox does and at the end is more user friendly than Firefox. However, Firefox is a good alternative to IE...but not for Opera. show Review details
Good 2nd choice for a browser 3 stars by dlbean1 Jan 01, 2007 (Read all my 4 reviews)
This application leaves too many cookies in its own directory structure. They usually can be found with Spybot, but just a hassle running that all the time. Like the basic feature set and extensions, just another hassle searching for them all (like Cookie Safe, Ad Blocker, etc.) I would recommend that a average user update Microsoft IE to version 7, then download AVANT browser. AVANT has the built in features from most of Firefox extensions. Cookies can be more easily managed (deleted). AVANT Speed renders approximately 1.5 times faster than the FOX. Recommend Fox 2.0.1 over IE7 (barely), but quite a bit behind AVANT 11.0 build 43 . show Review details
A good recommendation 5 stars by tripham Nov 15, 2006
I turned to Firefox from Avantbrowser and never come back. Good add-ons and speed attribute have persuaded me that this browser will dominate the internet market very soon. Thanks for Mozilla and their partners. show Review details
Much better than explorer 5 stars by alezjxxx Oct 24, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This software is definitely the best browser. It show Review details
Deletes your bookmarks 2 stars by dude11111 Oct 21, 2006
Be aware that when Firefox updates it may wipe out all your bookmarks. It's happend to me twice, time for me to find a new browser. show Review details
Rather good browser 5 stars by Castor_T Oct 19, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Mozilla has a bunch of secure features that other browsers don't possess. Mozilla's connection rate isn't as big as Opera's. And of course it doesn't possess with such convenient browsing features as Opera but it hasn't got problems with connection to particular sites. Well can recommend Mozilla for rather convenient and very secure browsing. show Review details
Good browser 4 stars by funkster Oct 13, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Mozilla has very good secure features that any other browsers don't possess. But in browsing options Mozilla is behind Opera for sure and comparable to IE. As for connection speed Mozilla isn't the best browser in the world but not the worst. So Mozilla is very good browser that can block anything that annoys you. show Review details
Best browser ever 5 stars by caboing Aug 29, 2006 (Read all my 18 reviews)
Light fast and me as a gamer I can say that Mozilla Firefox "AddOns" are... what CounterStrike was to Half Life. show Review details
Stop using IE - get Firefox! 5 stars by Anomyous Aug 12, 2006 (Read all my 6 reviews)
After hearing about the many security holes in IE that Microsoft hasn't fixed, I decided to look for a new browser and found Firefox. And boy, was that worth the download! Firefox is more secure, skinnable, has many more features than IE and best of all, it's free. Each browser has it's ups and downs, and one of the downs of Firefox is that some Microsoft sites require you to use Internet Explorer 6 to access their page for some reason. Firefox has a popup blocker that is way better than the one for IE included in Service Pack 2, so I don't need to install any additional software, saving me computer space. Overall, I would definitely recommend this program. Stop Using IE - Get Firefox! show Review details
Firefox is the best fo them all! 5 stars by hyiposerver Aug 07, 2006
I give Firefox a 9.9/10 rating. show Review details
Better security than IE 5 stars by jaynark Aug 05, 2006
Better security than IE, Fast to fix problems, highly customizable thru extensions,and Open Source show Review details
I agree somewhat but opera is still # 1 2 stars by flash32_me Jul 29, 2006 (Read all my 5 reviews)
I also used both firefox and Opera. the bad default with firefox is the fact that it will not let you Cut and paste. I am into graphics pretty heavy and Firefox just does not come up to Par with Opera. One Day Everyone will Learn. IE - Well IE is really the Pits from just about day #1 !! I would Never go back to IE - version 1 through 7 or 12 for that matter and it won't be long before 12 will be here too.... If you have never used Opera then I would suggest that you give it a try. The Best of the Lot...Just as many features as Firefox and they work a lot better and themes tons of them. My two Cents worth...for what it is worth..!! flash32 show Review details
The fully featured high-speed browser 4 stars by Leendert Jul 29, 2006 (Read all my 27 reviews)
Firefox is fast, even if it is true that Opera is faster. But do we go on holidays with a dragster? Firefox remains the best combination of speed, features and security. I've tried them all, but Firefox always called me back. show Review details
Opera's render is much faster 3 stars by MrMurder Jun 29, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I used both Opera and Firefox for a long time, and for many times, but every time I try to use Firefox, I return to Opera, because it's rendering is miles and miles faster and sharper than Firefox'. Ok, extensions is a great idea, but I use only features provided by Opera. Cheers for the team developing Opera! show Review details
IE and Opera pale beside firefox 5 stars by Questdelsangraal May 22, 2006 (Read all my 5 reviews)
I have been using Firefox since it was Firebird and it only gets better with age. Easily customized with many extensions and themes available. Security is better with Active X like in IE to deal with but like any other Program use good common sense. show Review details
Better than IE 6 5 stars by diecompnut Apr 14, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
An outstanding browser that is very easy to use and fast. show Review details
An essential software program. 5 stars by gamesecretarydotcom Apr 10, 2006
Firefox has revolutionized the world of browsing. It offers advanced features like tabbed browsing, extensions, and standards compliance. show Review details
Firefox memory leak 4 stars by cyberhobo Feb 04, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Still has the memory leak! show Review details
Don't unless u want to lose speed and...!!! 3 stars by tomcat Feb 04, 2006 (Read all my 16 reviews)
Sorry, I am still on dialup (still the majority) believe it or not, and anyway I noticed a big speed difference between the 1.5 vs and the 1.5.01! Believe me, every step that firefox makes to make it self more stable and impervious to attacks takes resources and slows it down. I am thinking of reverting or rolling back to vs 1.0.7. Thats no joke. It was fine b4. I dont know what the hell they r doing now, but it aint working. Too much protection is just overkill. Stick with the version you got now and be HAPPY! Fast and stable. Not too mention how each version is stated to be quicker, but I beg to differ and would argue it with the developers themselves! They wouldn't go there. So I just went back to vs 1.5 and guess what? My surfing is quicker again! Love it. Go with the newest version if you want. goodluck show Review details
No replacement for ie 2 stars by Mike98 Feb 02, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
Pros: 1. Tabbed browsing 2. RSS reader 3. Blocks worms, virusses, spyware and adware 4. No support ActiveX 5. Print the whole page Cons: 1. Too many times a website not (correct) visible 2. Flash Player for Firefox doesn't work 3. Sometimes Firefox doesn't show the latest version of a website show Review details
A great piece of software 5 stars by Sawyer Jan 14, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Mozilla's Firefox features make for a smooth internet experience. The browser is simple and blocks an extremely high ratio of all pop-ups. If a vulnerability is found it is patched quite quickly. Firefox is the "Allstate-Your in good hands" of browsers and it makes a dial-up connection alot more pleasant. Extensions and themes can be applied for broadening the features and looks of Firefox. No Spyware is currently aimed at Firefox, but I feel confident going into the "malware" future with Firefox. Mozilla's Firefox browser makes the internet fun again. show Review details
Great ! the best !!! 5 stars by jem7br Dec 10, 2005
The Champion Web browser !!! show Review details
Simply the best. 5 stars by Gizmo_151 Dec 07, 2005 (Read all my 10 reviews)
I've used Firefox now as long as it's been around.It's simply the fastest,most extensible browser there is period. I don't believe there is anything even close too what you can do with this browser. I know I've tried a lot the others and they just don't standup to Firefox. show Review details
I was a little skeptical, but when... 5 stars by zeeLaz Dec 06, 2005 (Read all my 20 reviews)
I was using IE since 1997. One year before that Netscape. I was a little skeptical about Firefox, with all the hype and praises. But when I installed it and did the first browse - the difference was right there, and this moment when click a link. It was as fast as it was when you fire up your new computer without almost nothing installed there. But when you go back it's even faster! There are of course issues with certain links that don't work. Hopefully it will be fixed. Highly recommend! show Review details
Not faster than ie 2 stars by stormbringer Dec 06, 2005
Had Mozilla for a couple of months. It's not faster than IE if all you have is dial-up modem...and you don't have the ability to individually "show picture" manually to speed things up. IE's better so far but I'm going to try some others. show Review details
It's ok though... 3 stars by Fortra Dec 02, 2005 (Read all my 11 reviews)
It's not that bad using firefox v1.5 but I also use Avant Broswer v10.1 build 32 which I've found to have more configurable options built-in than what I've seen in firefox. show Review details
The best browser ever ! 5 stars by Anabel-lee Nov 25, 2005 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I recommend Firefox with all my heart to everybody who likes not only to surf - but also enjoy the surfing while at it ! First of all - firefox is the Safest Browser, and when it comes to safety - it's the best and safest ! Second - The initial downloading is very light and fast. After that - each user can add his own favorite extensions - according to his own demands and wishes ! Themes are also available in a large scale and variety - Just pick your choice ! All in all - I would not go back to the anachronistic IE - Ever ! show Review details
Functional and secure 5 stars by TheDarkLord Nov 24, 2005 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Brilliant! Has all the features that IE doesnt have, and without any security problems. As well as this you can download extensions and themes to make it look like and do you want it to. show Review details
Better every time 5 stars by estople Nov 22, 2005 (Read all my 8 reviews)
We switched from Netscape 7.1 to Firefox 1.0.4 and haven't looked back. Features aren't as hot, but as its standards compliant (and so are we), we love it. Better support for CSS than most any other, and some terrific little features that you do have to go looking for. Easy to use even for the first timer, the "Clear Private Data" and "Options..." tools are worth the download, but the advanced tab browsing is killer! Yep, its slow to load and its still got some plug-in issues (Acrobat Reader makes it skip a beat now and then), but its still better than IE7 and should get better as 1.5 and 2.0 are released. Highly recommended for anybody. show Review details
It works. it's just that simple. 5 stars by LinkTiger Oct 17, 2005
Very simply, Firefox just works. Despite Internet Explorer users saying that their browser works better with some pages and Opera users saying that their browser has more features, the truth is, Firefox helps the user along only when they need it (importing settings and bookmarks, for example), but otherwise just getting out of the way and letting the user do what he/she wants or needs. It works. It's just that simple. show Review details
It's ok! 4 stars by JEstrela Oct 06, 2005
Fast and furious. But Opera is also a good choice. show Review details
The best browser 5 stars by shatterstar Sep 27, 2005 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Firefox is, by far, the best browser out there. With its tabbed browsing, powerful user-created extensions and strong support community, Firefox has taken the web by storm for the last two years and is only gaining momentum. My favorite extensions include Tab Mix Plus, Session Saver, and Mouse Gestures. The fact that you're reading this review says that you're looking for an alternative browser, so make the switch today. What do you have to lose? It's free! show Review details
Definitely the best browser 5 stars by ElykSamoht Sep 25, 2005
Firefox is the best browser by far. Open source, and free, so you have nothing to lose by trying it. It is much more secure than IE. I haven't gotten a single spyware since switching, except for the one time that I was forced to use IE for a site. You could call that a coincidence, but I don't think it is. Security aside, it's loaded with features, including tabbed browsing, which makes reading multiple webpages much easier. If there's a feature it doesn't have, I can usually find an extension to add it. I can change the look at any time simply by selecting a different theme. It's faster than IE by default, and advanced users can tweak it even more to optimize it for their computer. show Review details
Ace 5 stars by Ramsey Sep 24, 2005 (Read all my 5 reviews)
It's a fantastic browser much better than IE. Far more secure less bloated it's my number 1 browser by default. It renders web pages much faster than any browser I've used, and I've used them all. Ditch that old vulnerable IE for this it's miles miles miles better. show Review details
The best of the best. 5 stars by Ghost_grey Sep 22, 2005 (Read all my 56 reviews)
Firefox is the best browser around, simple, clean, and easy to use, but Firefox really is a beast, Just look under the hood and you've got superior browsing power with an extremely flexible extension system, customizable, and very well built for the web But It's still a baby so handle it with care. Firefox is Easily my favorite browser. Although I recommend sticking with Internet Explorer, or whatever your stuck with because you probably wont like Firefox. show Review details
Excelent 5 stars by magnuspark Sep 17, 2005 (Read all my 9 reviews)
Not the best, but close, no doubt slaps the stupid grin of MS, nice one, I still use it, after 10 months, along with avant. when you think I have had a PC for 8 years, I hated IE for all the time I had no choice. show Review details
Firefox security is just as bad. 3 stars by SubwayGOP Aug 23, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Firefox claims to be more secure than IE. I beg to differ. As more and more people use Firefox it will get attacked just as much as IE, and many patches will soon follow, as they already have. The popup blocker is very weak. At least with IE you can add a good 3rd party popup blocking program such as POPUPCOP! On the plus side the tab browsing is KOOL! I show Review details
Convenient and practical 5 stars by msahir Aug 07, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
The best browser I've ever tried, intelligent address bar search, fast and skinnable. however i found that the last version 1.6, seriously overload my system. show Review details
Bugs 4 stars by USMC8541 Jul 31, 2005 (Read all my 11 reviews)
I install this 1.06 version on my system WinXP with SP2 and it did not run corectly at all so i reinstall version 1.5 and it work better i dont know if it have something to do with Sp2 or not show Review details
Not a lightning fast browser 3 stars by Semantic Jul 29, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I like this browser. For a full featured speedy browser I find the IE based Cayman browser to do circles around Firefox. If your stuck on a dial-up connection for some reason or other you will find that IE and most any IE based browser is faster than this excluding Maxthon which in my tests was just as slow loading graphics. Although I'd give Maxthon a higher rating than Firefox it is very well featured and not buggy in some aspects like Firefox is. Firefox extensions are very nice but the themes I think are lame. I would still recommend this to use but is not my browser of choice. I like it better than Opra but then again thats not saying much. If you have Firefox and are a bit disappointed then give the new Cayman browser a try. I think you will switch. Cayman is very full featured and the fastest browser I have found yet. Security wise I find that if your machine is fully patched it is as secure as it's going to get with any browser. show Review details
Good 5 stars by jalaluddin Jul 27, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Everything about Firefox is marvelous, my complaint is some conflict with Windows XP show Review details
When in rome... 3 stars by JasonK Jul 25, 2005
Face it, the web is a Microsoft dominated part of computer technology, IE is more compatible and stable, may not be safer though, thats why I recommend Maxthon, uses the IE Engine, but doesn't contain all the IE flaws, so you have a safe, compatible, useful and stable browser that has many more features , the same ability to download plugins, and you don't have to import your bookmarks and other things. So in short, Maxthon > Firefox; however, I have heard good things about opera, so I would recommend that above Firefox as well. Maxthon (and maybe opera) > (certain other browsers including avant and slimbrowser) Firefox > (some other certain browsers that are even less popular like Mozilla) > IE > Netscape (why would someone use Netscape anyways?) show Review details
Okay but needs work 4 stars by duddykravitz Jul 22, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This is an OK browser for those that dislike IE. I find that the 'bookmarks' menu is buggy and needs work to make it less frustrating to use. show Review details
Great browser 5 stars by TheAdmaninoz Jul 14, 2005
Firefox is super secure and easy to use. If you are sick of acquiring Trojans just from LOOKING at certain web pages then make the switch to Firefox. Not only is it extremely secure but feature wise it blows IE away. (Tabbed browsing, RSS news feeds, password manager etc) You get the ease of use of IE with great additional features, plus the security of say, Opera, WITHOUT the steep learning curve! Highly recommended! show Review details
Why use anything else? 5 stars by MichaelMaltenfort Jul 12, 2005 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Mozilla Firefox is a browser that is extremely flexible and which has tons of features. The "tabbed browsing" is wonderful (though other browsers have that too). What really sets Firefox apart is the ability to customize it by downloading extensions. These extensions (mostly free) can be found at Mozilla's Web site and can add various features. I particularly like the extensions CustomizeGoogle (to improve ease of Google searches) and Forecastfox (weather forcasts appear in my browser window), but there are others that may be more useful, depending on one's preferences. Firefox is just terrific! And, importantly to some of us, it's one way to take a stand against Microsoft taking over the Web, since it's a browser which is not produced by them. show Review details
Nice browser, but i uninstalled it 4 stars by Nirrad Jun 19, 2005 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Nice easy to use interface. Many like the fact that there is a ton of extensions out there. I for one, dont. I prefer to have a browser with all the features I want already included. Dont want to have to add extensions to it. I do see why people like this though. The possibilities are endless with it. I guess Im different ;). I have had nothing but problems with it so I uninstalled it. Ill continue to use my favorite browser, Opera. show Review details
Missing a category 4 stars by ZachFSW Jun 16, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I could rate this excellent on all four categories you have - and I still would never recommend its use to anyone. Does it work? Not in a test tube environment of pages built to an unofficial standards approval. Does it work in the real world, with real webpages, some of them many years old that are not going to ever be updated again, but still have very valuable information on them - Does it work for those pages? Not very often. Does it follow the standards as set by use? No. Does it go out of its way to be incompatible with other existing browsers? Yes. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

LightZone

LightZone Open-source digital darkroom software

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

NetSpot

NetSpot Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Discovery and Troubleshooting

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility