AbiWord

AbiWord User Reviews



5 stars62% 5
4 stars12% 1
3 stars0% 0
2 stars25% 2
1 star0% 0
Based on 8 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 8 user reviews
Post your own review

Fantastic 5 stars by darkocean Mar 05, 2015 (Read all my 35 reviews)
My version of windows 8 came with a MS word but I have to register/pay or some annoying thing. This program is fantastic. It had a small problem for a moment, where it shrunk my text super tiny. This can be reset on the menu bar, look for 'page width' and reset to 200 or what ever size you like. This program has lots of useful features. The spell checker, for now seams useless. But it might be one of those kind where you have to teach it what words are good. And needs to generate a data base of correctly spelled words so, don't assume that it's crappy. It might get to be very good spell checker, later on. Anything is better then the Firefox one. Anyways the other things I like about it is the templates, those look useful if you have a website, or especially a blog. You can insert special Ascii charterers into it, can insert headers, footers, breaks, tables, text boxes, insert pictures, add page numbers, paragraphs, bullets/numbered lists, all text formatting, change language, check word count, search in Google and ad add in many more plug ins. Why is this free? Not that I'm complaining mind you! This perfect of you are an author or a webmaster. Mind you the html inserts it provides are very simple. Other then that this is just what I was looking for. show Review details
Perfect for assignments 5 stars by hwrd42 Sep 23, 2010
I need this for writing assignments for U courses. After trying several, including a couple I have on CD this is the one I settled with. It does all the basics, like, page set up, line spacing, footnotes, page numbering, word count, and more. It has a relatively small footprint. It is easy to learn how to use. A great user friendly freebie. show Review details
Simple, yet complete 5 stars by brunetu Nov 03, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I admit I don't use word processors much - I can usually do with something as simple as Notepad, even when I'm translating documents. I like the non-cluttered menus and their organization, getting to the function you need couldn't be easier. Also you will find in the menus just the right tools and actions you would have thought of. A close friend who is a total beginner in what concerns computers was having troubles in doing a paper for the university with another widely used office suite, and she only needed to add footnotes. I recommended Abi to her and she has never needed anything else since. Surprisingly, I didn't have to explain her how to use it. I believe that AbiWord has to offer enough features to satisfy virtually everyone. For spreadsheets, another application that's also part of the Gnome desktop and is available for Windows too is Gnumeric. AbiWord is my word processor of choice. MS Word compatible! show Review details
Conflicting with OpenOffice 2 stars by Nicholas Nov 01, 2009 (Read all my 61 reviews)
I tried almost every version of Abiword, in Windows as well as in Linux. And always there was that nasty incompatibility with OpenOffice. Abi cannot handle docs from OO with pictures, tables, etc. Abi may be nice for simple docs but I'll stick to OO. show Review details
My 2nd fav 5 stars by gimpguy Sep 17, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
This is my 2nd fav to OpenOffice although for newer users, AbiWord may be a nice break in due to being so scaled down compared to OO. Either way, this is another great word processor and of course, MUCH cheaper than MS Word. Free, as a matter of fact. I would recommend this to any user and think it's a wonderful freebie. show Review details
Abiword is a life saver! 5 stars by Galskygge Mar 12, 2007 (Read all my 3 reviews)
AbiWord is very easy to use and looks great. The size of it is very small considering what exactly it is, which works perfectly for me since I have some what of a small hard drive. The only down side of the program is that it doesn't include anything similar to excel, but as long as you don't use excel then that's not a problem. AbiWord gets a definite 5 star rating! show Review details
Good word processor 4 stars by johnick Feb 25, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I was searching a simple and serious alternative to MS Word, and my search ended with Abiword, it has all the features i need, and is relatively light. First of all it's stable (i had several instability problems with Open Office), and does the job very well without all the bell and whistle ala MSWord. Go for it! show Review details
Great surface, bad internals 2 stars by Murrell Mar 06, 2006
Each new "stable" edition, time after time after time, brings new, non-obscure bugs. If you want an open source editor, go with Open Office. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

LightZone

LightZone Open-source digital darkroom software

NetSpot

NetSpot Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Discovery and Troubleshooting

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders