Avant Browser

Avant Browser User Reviews

5 stars64% 25
4 stars17% 7
3 stars7% 3
2 stars5% 2
1 star5% 2
Based on 39 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 39 user reviews
Post your own review

Keep your eye on this one. 4 stars by kpupright799 Jun 24, 2016 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I loved that the GUI did not immediately scream "Windows". It's a beautiful layout and easily personalized. The problem I'm having is compatibility with sites we use at home. Sometimes it partially loads pages and sometimes not at all, but it almost never fails to get a prompt to upgrade to a supported browser at least once around the web. I would say that lack of compatibility is the only reason I won't stick with it. But, all is not lost. Smart people made this thing and it's no doubt that it is on the rise, so smart people will fix it. One day it will be a fine player in the game. show Review details
Great if you want the Windows 95 experience 1 stars by bolgwrad Dec 07, 2015 (Read all my 15 reviews)
I use WindowBlinds. Have done for years. Even Microsoft acknowledge that WindowBlinds is a stable, useful and popular add-on for their OS. Avant doesn't recognise it, happily rendering its own version of IE whatever skin you select. And it does it jerkily; not all frames render at the same speed. As for the supplied skins, well, you know what to expect. I wouldn't care if Avant was the best browser on any OS on the planet - which it isn't - I just don't want any application I run to look like it was abandoned in 2003. show Review details
Powerful browser 5 stars by nikata.che782 Aug 02, 2013
You cannot image a small browser could have so many powerful features. You can add the search engines you like, you can set url aliases to the websites you often visit, you can switch rendering engines for each tab, you can even use four different downloaders in just one browser. That's really cool. show Review details
Best browser 5 stars by framick550 Jul 11, 2013 (Read all my 5 reviews)
I'm been using this browser for a while now, and I'm even more convinced this Avant Browser really is at the top of any other one. It has everything's on it, IE, Chrome and Firefox engines and it also allows you to browse multiple Web sites simultaneously; just amazing. It is the first browser which allows to be personalized as per your needs. I recommend Avant Browser; try it and you will see the difference. show Review details
Like the new interface 5 stars by 1063233306977 Jun 05, 2013
I just update from 2013 build 23 to 2013 build 107. The UI in the latest version changes a lot. Buttons have changed. Like the new buttons which looks more beautiful. This version improved a lot about the CPU usage. In previous version, I open three Avant windows the cpu will reach almost 100. It's hard to use it under this situation. Now the problem disappears. Still open three windows, but the cpu usage is still slow. show Review details
I recommend Avant browser 5 stars by senina.chung405 Aug 07, 2012
I recommend Avant browser. Its three engines are very useful when you have problems to display some certain web sites. You can set a default engine and assign some sites with certain engines. Moreover,I like its video sniffer and video downloader . Gimpguy, you should uncheck the option to set default browser and then click NO. show Review details
Wasn't extremely happy 3 stars by gimpguy Jul 20, 2012 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
Thought I'd give it a try and perhaps others will have a better experience. Installed fine. Opened browser for the first time, asked me if it should be default, I chose no, and closed the box after making sure I chose to not have it open and ask. Unfortunately, it did make it the default anyway. First of all, my system is NOT compromised. I use a clean system to test on, I have no BHO hijackings... that said... Tabs were buggy, no matter how I closed the browser, choosing all tabs or windows, they would still appear. Setting the home page was a breeze, until upon reopening it went to Yahoo "Why??" when I clearly typed in Google and set it "even tried having Google make itself the home page". Every time I opened it, it seemed to go to somewhere different when hitting the home button. After Yahoo, I closed the whole browser, windows and all, it then went to Avant home page that first opened when I installed it. So no, not once did it go to Google. It is very fast, I'll give it that and over-all is a nice interface. It's not the worst browser I've used but again, I've never had so many issues just getting a home page or closing tabs and windows as I did with Avant. "Yes, I read help and such before posting this to make sure I was in fact doing everything according to Avant correctly" It doesn't mean I've given up on it or hate it, but maybe in the future I'll try it again as others seem to have good experiences with it. show Review details
Tri-core browser starts fast 5 stars by may1201154101 Jun 27, 2012
You can't believe a browser with three engines can start so quickly. The biggest adavantage is that you can easily switch between the engines of IE,Firefox and Chrome with simple click. Furthermore it provides as well the possibility for self-assigning some sites to be loaded with certain engines, so that you are unaware when it calls and ends a certain engine. I suggest it a try. show Review details
Star in browsers. 5 stars by elfsun Apr 12, 2011
It just like a old friend of me ,fast and stable ,I didn't find any big problem when using it surf the internet. show Review details
Old friend 5 stars by elf0402 Mar 15, 2011
Avant is my old friend,it have been follow with me for several years since 2003 maybe? It always open webpages fast and use you less memory which compared with other browsers. Although the number of her users is small maybe just three or four millions but it really worth you having a try. show Review details
Good 5 stars by swiggy Feb 21, 2011 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I've always been a skeptic regarding alternative browsers to IE. I've use Opera, Mozilla, and many others, too many to number. But after using Avant, there is no need to look any further. They looked at what a power user really needs, and incorporated it into the browser. Not only that, it sits on top of the IE, so keeping your favorites and security settings will not be a problem. , Avant has a very effective pop up killer, and so many features (easy to use) that when I go back to IE at other computers, I really dont know how I used them before. show Review details
My favourite browser for more than 5 years 5 stars by iwillneverstop Dec 11, 2010 (Read all my 24 reviews)
Very low memory usage, very easy to customize (such disable JavaScript, ActiveX, ...), being able to block ads and pop-ups. I wonder why MS doesn`t do the same for us. show Review details
It's pretty stable for me 5 stars by Carlos1982 Nov 15, 2010
Whatever in my laptop with xp/ie6 or my desktop with win7/ie8, the latest release 2010 build 123 rarely crashes even I keep my system and browser running for 3+ days due to working requirement. If you ever used Chrome, you'll understand what these ybrowser.exe are for. I choose it instead of Chrome due to its stability and compatibility. show Review details
Ybrowser issues 3 stars by roberta Nov 11, 2010 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I do not recommend using this Browser...it has an interface that gobbles up your CPU. If you download this browser, go to the Task manager and you will see 'YBROWSER.exe' running high in usage. I reverted back to the previous version of Avant browser. It is more stable and I do like their browser. However, AVANT needs to correct this issue...if you search Google, you'll find many users complaining about the new browser using the 'Ybrowser'. show Review details
Slow as... you know what..... 3 stars by Tommiet Jul 11, 2010 (Read all my 9 reviews)
I've been using Avant for about 3 years and I had hopes that this version would fix some bugs - AND IT DID! At the expense of being DEAD SLOW...... IE5 would run faster than this version. I'm sure they will get it fixed, but I'll hang on to my older version for now. show Review details
As an IE browser, Avant rocks 5 stars by J4Software Feb 13, 2010 (Read all my 2 reviews)
What I like in particular about Avant Browser is the availability of the portable version that can be run from a flash drive. The tab management and content blocking options also go far beyond what IE or most other browsers can do. Subjectively speaking, even without using any of the blocking options, it seems to load pages -much- faster than plain vanilla Internet Explorer - some sort of enhanced memory caching perhaps. show Review details
Valuable browser 4 stars by nrkmenon Mar 10, 2009
I'm using Avant regularly. I find it user friendly with plenty of facilities. It is a wonder Microsoft cannot match Avant with new editions of IE. Only Firefox is superior. show Review details
Simply the best ! 5 stars by User07 Jul 06, 2008 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Have used this for years now, and I am very happy using it. One disadvantage, the author keeps pouring out new versions all the time, keeps one busy to always have the latest version installed. Besides this, a really good piece of software ! Thumbs up ! show Review details
One awesome browser 5 stars by Grizzly660 Dec 12, 2007 (Read all my 7 reviews)
I probably should of done this a long time ago but I want to throw my 2 cents in also. I have tried Avant when it first came out and had it for awhile and I deleted it and took it out of the registry. I have tried many others browsers listed here including Maxthon which I had for awhile but I went back to Avant and stayed with it through out each build and update. I will never ever switch again. Download it and try it, you'll be glad you did. show Review details
Look no further for your browser! 5 stars by ChrisD Dec 07, 2007 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I've been through them all. I won't even spend time listing them. I've ended up with Avant which is a great combination of the IE browser core and an excellent productive user interface. There are features here you just must have: Ad blocker, AutoFill (which really works!), and URL Aliases (speeds up your browsing considerably). Of course there's tabs which works much better than in IE7 and you can configure the UI to fit your browser needs perfectly. The browser is my most used program so it's essential that it works and does it's job. Avant does. There's no doubt in my mind this is the best there is right now. Yes, there are others with more fancy looks and even more features, but every line of code added to the browser usually results in pages loading slower. Not with Avant! Finally, the on-line bookmark feature in Avant is great. I can now easily reproduce my favorite browser with all it's bookmarks and settings across computers. Get Avant! show Review details
Still the best. 5 stars by asrs2007 Apr 23, 2007 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I've been using it years and although I tried some others with one or two better features such as built-in download managers, more plug-ins, etc, Avant is still the best. It is very fast, safe, easy to use with many features and IE compatible. It could be the perfect browser as it used to be if a couple of minor bugs (they were not there in older versions) could be fixed. It remains memory resident even after quitting (have to use task manager to end the process), CPU is used all the time (if you check cpu usage using windows task manager, you'll notice it) even without any web pages open. show Review details
Best yet 5 stars by pcs800 Sep 28, 2006 (Read all my 222 reviews)
I have been using this browser for a couple years, and this latest release is the absolute best yet. I LOVE the online bookmarks syncing! Too bad it runs on IE or it could knock it off the map. show Review details
Much faster than Firefox and IE 4 stars by slantedplanet Aug 25, 2006
Have tried this for a couple of weeks and found it to be very quick which is a pleasure. The problem is that certain plug-ins that I must have are not compatible with Avant. show Review details
Great browser 5 stars by hidyhyett Aug 24, 2006
I have been using this browser for quite a while and i have had no problem what so ever. The features and ease of use is excellent, it is 100% better than Internet Explorer show Review details
Great browser 4 stars by Nightowl Jul 18, 2006
This is a great browser that has a serious bug that needs to be fixed by the author. The latest version which came out in May, will leave itself running as a process, and then when I shut down my computer or reboot, the exe which is still running then crashes. Other than this bug, it's a really great browser. show Review details
Slow and always crashes!!! 1 stars by dawnjones Mar 04, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I used to always use avant and it was fast and had great ad blockers and tabs. but for the last year it been a pain. i'm using maxthon and it's like avant used to be... fast and dependable! show Review details
Best all round browser and rss reader 5 stars by ianmacm Feb 05, 2006 (Read all my 174 reviews)
This is undoubtedly the best combined browser/rss reader available, and has far more options for customising the interface than any other browser. One advantage of Avant is that since it uses the internal architecture of Internet Explorer it does not suffer from the page compatibility problems that occasionally trip up Firefox and Opera. Avant's ability to open rss feeds automatically with a single click is something that rivals (including the new IE7 beta) should copy. show Review details
Good for a try 4 stars by bluenote72 Jan 17, 2006 (Read all my 17 reviews)
During the first few days, everything appeared to be fine. But in the days to follow, Avant Browser and IE were constantly competing to be the default browser. I like to have control over the programs that open on my machine, and when they open. Avant browser doesnt allow that control so I dont recommend using it for that reason. Otherwise it is a fine program that does what it says it does. show Review details
Avant Browser is a really outstanding... 5 stars by isailthe7cs Dec 17, 2005 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Avant Browser is a really outstanding browser. Tabbed, RSS feeds, and a great F11 full screen mode (the entire interface disappears and the whole screen can be viewed. It is one of the most stable programs I own. The menu and options are truly intuitive;never need to look at the help menu! show Review details
Best browser period 5 stars by dlbean1 Dec 04, 2005 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Microsoft is "working" on developing the feature set that AVANT has mastered. Mozilla's latest Firefox release still doesn't touch it. For the very best of all the Browsers, do yourself a favor and make this one your default. show Review details
It's packed with extra features. 4 stars by Fortra Dec 01, 2005 (Read all my 11 reviews)
I've used this browser for quite a while now and it has a few extra features that you won't see in any other browser. It's fully configurable which is very useful. One thing that I would like to see implemented in future release is an ability to copy and paste weblink from within your favourites folders!!! just like you can do in Firefox and IE6. show Review details
With browsers like this... ie must die 5 stars by mapinedamtz Oct 28, 2005
This is an excellent browser, makes the navigation easier and faster, IE is in a place that does not deserve. The final users need to make the change. show Review details
Not for me 2 stars by digipaws Oct 20, 2005 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Reminds me of IE but just with tabbed browsing.. personally not too keen on the interface and buttons and toolbars at the top were too easily moved around and lost. I find Mozilla Firefox still seems more neat and professional than this browser. show Review details
Nice! 4 stars by magnuspark Sep 17, 2005 (Read all my 9 reviews)
At last, none IE garbage, honest and tidy as well as fast, up with mozilla group, gets A1. Well done show Review details
Avant browser is best browser hands down 5 stars by neubrain Sep 14, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I have tried Opera, Firefox, MyIE2, Maxthon and others. I have been a longtime user of MyIE2 because of its tabbed functionality. However, the new version of Avant Browser is very impressive and I have now switched permanently to Avant. The tabbed functionality comparable to MyIE2, and even superior in some ways; for example, you can make your tabs as a floating window off to the side of your browser. Also, the 'similar websites' feature is very fun and novel. Another interesting feature involves leaked memory; Avant Browser is the only browser that deals with this problem completely. Finally, Avant Browser has the most style I've seen of any browser; it is a beautiful frontend that makes Firefox look hideous by comparison. show Review details
Discreet elegance 5 stars by Leendert Sep 13, 2005 (Read all my 27 reviews)
If you're not an anti-Internet Explorer aficionado, if you're searching for the best IE engined browser available, Avant Browser is the answer. Discreet (not bloated!), fast, powerful, it is a Ferrari, not a tank. Everything anyone needs is there, except the plugin the friend of the brother of my sister-in-law will wish once in a decade! AB has many features, those of speed and tranquility (pages render fast, smooth 'n' fast, the ad-blocker is a marvel), the default skins are sexy, others very tempting. I love this software, and I've tried practically everything a browser may be! Just try it. It does not intoxicate the registry, and is as easy to remove as to install. But I'd be surprised you remove it! show Review details
Awsom browser!! 5 stars by Nexar466 Sep 07, 2005 (Read all my 6 reviews)
This is the best one I have used. Takes a little getting used to, but easy to use. I love the full screen option. show Review details
Nice looking-fast but... 2 stars by Rajahh Jul 19, 2005 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Works great untill you use the "clean system" features then messes up your Email settings royal-I dont know why they dont fix this or at least remove that feature... PLEASE backup (export) your email settings before installing this.. show Review details
Good 5 stars by USMC8541 Jul 18, 2005 (Read all my 11 reviews)
Its real Good i have been use it for a long time now show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software


CintaNotes take and manage notes


Unchecky prevent accidental installations of third party offers

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring