WinPatrol (Free Edition)

WinPatrol (Free Edition) User Reviews



5 stars78% 15
4 stars10% 2
3 stars10% 2
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 19 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 19 user reviews
Post your own review

This puppy is your faithful watchdog 5 stars by henerey773 Sep 05, 2016 (Read all my 14 reviews)
Not every INTRUSIVE program is a virus or malware or even identified as a PUP, potentially unwanted program. Many are innocent of any bad intentions, they just want to install some service they need into your start-ups. To them it's innocent. But if you want to either PREVENT this, or Allow this TEMPORARILY, or just browse through a list of all your startups now and then to enable or disable (that's right, it keeps the disabled ones in the list) then this puppy is your faithful watchdog. show Review details
Winpatrol 5 stars by duncan.lucas217 Jan 31, 2015
I have been using it for years it is easy to install and I like the constant watch it has when you install programs or a program changes itself .Up comes Scottie with a woof and says will you accept or reject the change . Many times this has saved me from programs trying to take-over your PC and in that alone its worth installing even if you have a paid for virus program .Very happy with it ! show Review details
Excellent product! 5 stars by a1w84rs975 Jun 04, 2014 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I have been using WinPatrol for a number of years and have not been disappointed! It has always warned me when other programs want to appear in the Start menu with the option to disallow them to. It also allows one to stop a program or remove it if the need arises. Overall, this is a great product that has many great features to list here and has always worked as expected and more! show Review details
Free is not for me 3 stars by Smeagal1965 Dec 10, 2013 (Read all my 13 reviews)
Please note this review is about the free version only. I have had no experience with the paid version. First the good things: It's really easy on system resources. The download and install weren't horrendous and it seems to do what it claims at least to a point. It never has conflicted with any other software I use. The crippled version is free. Now the not so good things: I wonder how effective it really is. It never alerts me to anything....ever! Some might say that's a good thing but shouldn't it tell me when something has been removed from the autostart for example? It will sometimes but only after a reboot and then it could be too late! Summary: I think there are better solutions than WinPatrol free for many of the things it does. A good example would be Startup Delayer, found right here on SnapFiles. There are many process monitors and the like also. Try Startup Master by Smart PC Utilities. I found these and others to do a better job than WinPatrol, at least in the free version . That said WinPatrol is a decent program and it certainly won't cause ill to your PC, and may even prevent some. show Review details
Very good doggie 5 stars by Hapzap Dec 03, 2010 (Read all my 4 reviews)
This works, but it is best to upgrade to the plus feature, which is also free, you just have to register for it. It actual has helped me know some of the things I may have deleted if not for them saying it was for this or that. It actually explains these things that have weird PC names. Plus the dog has a cute woof too. Keeps my start up clean and lets me keep on top of anyone adding to my startup I dont want. And cleaned it up of junk when I started using it too. show Review details
Should be standard on all PCs 5 stars by daniel1212 Jan 29, 2010 (Read all my 7 reviews)
This is a needed quality piece of software, which exposes the clandestine practices of many software companies, including Microsoft. It has a EULA that you wish all software had, and simply doe sits job. Supplement this with Startup Control Panel, anther simply but helpful utility. I thank God for such developers. show Review details
#1 in many areas 5 stars by gimpguy Sep 18, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
WinPatrol is #1 in many areas. It's not only an awesome security, it's more... plus Bill P was brave enough to refuse those stupid toolbar installers and turned down a large sum to keep his software ethics. This should say a lot about him and the software he creates. 5! show Review details
The best startup manager/process terminator 5 stars by Tao2005 Jun 02, 2008 (Read all my 30 reviews)
Yep you read right. I would support this program, and recommend it to any one, who is looking for a startup manager. This program has so many features, it's Great, no wait es ist Prima. You need not a process terminator, a service manager, nor a startup manager. This program has that and more. This program is so good, I supported their works, and registered. The registered version has online support, where the free version is limited. I am proud to recommend, and use this program. You will not find a better program then this. WINPATROL is the best. show Review details
A must 5 stars by KEAndersson Feb 12, 2008 (Read all my 10 reviews)
We have six computers running in the family, and we work with computer support. When reinstalling Windows - or making a fresh installation - the procedure is always the same: 1. OS, 2. antivirus/firewall, and 3. WinPatrol. This software is indispensable, but I do recommend an upgrade to the PLUS version. show Review details
All PCs should have this installed 5 stars by CharleyBronson Nov 22, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
What a brilliant program! Hardly uses any resources but will alert you everytime something wants to make changes in the registry. Pop up alerts only happen infrequently so if a WinPatrol alert does pop up it actually means something, unlike firewall pop ups which often alert you to perfectly safe processes, only you have to troll the internet to find out whether to allow or deny it! If you haven't just downloaded a new program and you get a change to registry alert, there is a fair chance it could be detecting malware activity. WinPatrol notified me of Trojan downloader trying to execute and allowed me to block the activity whilst I used Adware to get rid of the offending item. If you've got this little gem of a program installed you don't really need a "real time" Antispyware shield which may well slow your program down and infact some paid for antispyware shields only do what WinPatrol does for free! Highly recommended, every home should have it! show Review details
Wow... 5 stars by leucippus Sep 23, 2007 (Read all my 18 reviews)
This program is easily worth $30 or $40 bucks. I love the internet! (and of course the kind people who share their labor) show Review details
Nifty start-up manager! 5 stars by yassertariq Aug 27, 2007 (Read all my 89 reviews)
This is the best start-up manager. I've used numerous others but I always revert back to it. This should be the very first application that one should install after Windows. At the moment I'm using the latest PLUS version (WinPatrol PLUS v12.0.2007.2). show Review details
A superb monitoring tool. 5 stars by moparmac Jul 01, 2007 (Read all my 11 reviews)
I used the free version and bought the Plus version after liking what I saw in the free version. The biggest incentives for my going that route were; the access to file information and real-time monitoring feature.The support is top-notch also! Win Patrol has caught exploits while I was browsing sites that should have been clean. show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by pantherman Jun 02, 2007 (Read all my 14 reviews)
Easy to use and does a good job. Well worth downloading. show Review details
Feedback 5 stars by Blasius Feb 19, 2007
It's a very good-featured, and easy-to-use program. Congratulation! show Review details
Very useful, light on resources 5 stars by fotosel Feb 19, 2007 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Great little software. always keeps running on my computers. not a real time protection, but tells you about important changes. I also use Startup Inspector. that has to be run manually. show Review details
Very nice, but it can be improved 4 stars by Apokalipsys Oct 03, 2006 (Read all my 14 reviews)
I have being using this for a a while now. It does not consumes lots of system resources, it is very stable and informative. Real-time notifications are too slow. I have it installed on my system because it's informative value and for process control. Nice if you are not a freak of security in your system, but if you are looking for a real-time fast notification and clean up utility this is nor for you. show Review details
Handy to have around 3 stars by alnjk01 Dec 17, 2005 (Read all my 124 reviews)
Been using this for a few years now. It's easy on system resources,very stable and very informative. However I believe that with the advent of many free sophisticated security programs out now that Winpatrol is being left behind. I still have it installed on my system but only for its informative value and for process control. That being said,other security software that I'm running gives me notification on an intrusion way before Winpatrol does. I believe that in this day and age of advanced malware,trojans,etc. it's more important then ever to have constant monitoring (not periodic) and fast (i.e. instant) notification. show Review details
Very useful utility 4 stars by Fortra Dec 15, 2005 (Read all my 11 reviews)
It's a very handy utility that informs the (USER) if there are program(s) that tries to alter your change program files on your system. So you could think of it as your system guard dog with attitude. *grin* show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

XMind Free

XMind Free create custom mind maps

TidyTabs

TidyTabs Give every window a tabbed user interface

PNotes.NET

PNotes.NET portable sticky notes and reminders

Plex Media Server

Plex Media Server streaming media server

CopyTrans Manager

CopyTrans Manager manage your iPod without iTunes

CDRoller

CDRoller recover data from damaged CD/DVD/BD

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility