icon

avast! Free Antivirus user reviews

5 stars84% 133
4 stars10% 16
3 stars3% 5
2 stars1% 3
1 star0% 1
Based on 158 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 158 user reviews Post your own review

Great antivirus 5 stars by farhandialga739 Mar 22, 2014
This antivirus is great. It doesn't use much memory from the computer. Long scan time, but the results remain accurate. showShow review details
Take care during install with version 9. 4 stars by oteotd Feb 28, 2014 (Read all my 49 reviews)
With the newest version of avast I went through a lot of problems. Installed on a clean Windows 7 machine and that is where the problem started. First I was not sure if the issue was avast, the website or the IE. I thought IE because Chrome did not have same issues. All HTTPs sites were rendered broken and I worked for a long time working this out as I did not try any of them before installing avast. Tried turning off the shields but that did not help. Finally I figured out that if you turn off the avast browser add-on's it fixes everything. This only effected IE not Chrome (which I hate). Of course I know how to deal with this now but for the general non techie how would they ever figure it out. The webpages all had different issues. Some logged you out, some would not display certain things and others just would not work at all. To stop this from happening to anyone else I would highly suggest when installing this version of avast to make sure to do a custom install not the standard install. When you get to the screen that shows the items to be installed uncheck the option to install "Browser Protection". avast will now be installed without the browser add-ons and you will not encounter this issue. You will also not accidentally turn the option on again if you turn it off. avast should warn about this issue during install but they do not. Lots of time wasted but if this helps someone else great. I almost walked away from avast over this. Faster browser now also. showShow review details
Used for years 3 stars by larram257 Feb 15, 2014
I have used Avast for years, and recommended it to lots of people. I just replaced a hard drive and and installed Avast. Over the last several days, I noticed that when I click on a web site, it is taking painfully long to load. After some searching, the Avast web shield came up as a problem for many folks. I turned it off, and the problem ceased. Same with the mail shield. I do not recall this problem in earlier versions, but it has me considering another program. I can't recommend, without a warning about this issue. showShow review details
Intrusive eula 3 stars by drfung Dec 06, 2013 (Read all my 17 reviews)
While full featured, the EULA is too wide ranging (my opinion) in what it allows the software to do. If you are ok with that, then the product is effective. I recommend a custom installation and install only what you need to minimize the footprint. showShow review details
I can no longer recommend Avast 1 stars by Klatuu Oct 16, 2013 (Read all my 15 reviews)
For years Avast was the only free Anti-Virus I would use or recommend. But as of version 8, they lost me. First, I hate the Windows 8 style interface. But more importantly, Avast removed come settings and abilities in version 8 as well. And now with version 9 they have made the registration go through a return email, rather than doing it right within the program, which was far more convenient. And the final reason I am moving away from Avast is that it seems to take longer and longer for Windows to boot up with it installed. Avast won me away from Norton Anti-Virus back in the day, simply because it was so fast starting up Windows. This is no longer the case. So the lack of controls that allow you to change settings on ads and pop ups and the more confusing interface might be tolerable, but the slow speed is not. At this point I think AVG, while not quite as good at protection (but very close) is the way to go. showShow review details
Fine until you have a problem 2 stars by pattyutterback912 Jul 29, 2013
Avast is fine until you have a problem. The 2 prior viruses that got through, I was able to fix with help that I found on Google. With this latest one I cant get my computer to do a thing and there are so many error messages we can't keep track of them. We called the customer service number we were given when we purchased the upgraded version of avast only to be told that they could help us clear up the virus for an additional 169 for a year of service, otherwise we were on our own. I honestly had less problems with Norton but was trying to go a cheaper route...lesson learned. showShow review details
Great product 5 stars by freeclick Mar 30, 2013 (Read all my 32 reviews)
Hadn't tried it lately but it's still as good as ever showShow review details
Second to none 5 stars by dem232 Jul 16, 2012 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This is simply the best free antivirus there is. There are many free AV tools out there, but this is unbeatable. It's come a long way since being one of the best years ago to take the crown. I liked this so much that upgraded to the paid full suite with firewall. And I have absolutely no regrets. Highly recommended! showShow review details
The best anti virus I have found 5 stars by lanestraironclaws30 May 14, 2012
This is the best program for finding and blocking viruses I have found. I find it to be very user friendly as well as price you can't beat for what it provides is peace of mind for any one that may use a computer weather you are an advanced user on a novice. All you do is register it as a free user for a year and there you are :) You're ready to go. Just make sure you set your times for it to do its thing. showShow review details
Unbeatable 5 stars by lanestra26 Mar 10, 2012
For free anti Virus software i feel that this one us unbeatable showShow review details
Great product 5 stars by rayandrews293 Feb 25, 2012 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Great program, some excellent new features, and it does not slow my PC down like some other anti virus programs. showShow review details
Great virus protection 5 stars by rmcummings2001792 Dec 16, 2011
I have the Pro version and I love it. showShow review details
Changed since 08 5 stars by gimpguy Jul 21, 2011 (Read all my 1158 reviews)
My last review was in 2008 of Avast, still when Avira was great, however, that has changed, completely. The new Avast is great at detections, non intrusive yet hosts a lot of protection. You would expect this to slow your system down, however, it is very light, surprisingly so for what it packs. It has numerous sheilds and a nice voice that tells you when updates are done, unlike that annoying in your face pop up from others. What I like is the auto sandbox, if you need to or if something is suspicious, Avast will ask if you want to run it in AutoSandbox, which is basically a virtual setting so no harm is done to your actual system. And this is in the FREE version! How great is that? Extremely! I find Avast to be one of the best out there. showShow review details
Best free antivirus on the web 5 stars by Bulasikci Jul 08, 2011 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Trust me, nobody can find a better free antivirus program on the internet. When I checked its rating on ... I was suprised to see it with the highest scanning speed even compared to Norton and Kaspersky. It also surpassed every antivirus product in the market in detection rates except GData and Trustport. It may show many fake positives but it is better to be overprotected than not protected at all. I suggest you use it with MSE for guarantee to be sure you are clean. You can not go wrong with Avast! End the reign of Norton and other bloatware. showShow review details
One of the very best. 5 stars by Mike132 Jun 05, 2011 (Read all my 18 reviews)
I've used this program in the past and at present on my dual-core machine. I've always found it to work very well and is reasonably fast. If configured correctly you'd be hard pressed to find a better anti-virus program.I would and do recommend it as a first rate solution to all. showShow review details
Best free antivirus around! Very reliable ... 5 stars by misty_shy May 02, 2011
Best free antivirus around! Very reliable always alerting my PC when it "smells" of a "malware" visit/attack. If I was not in a bad financial situation presently I would gladly upgrade. (I could imagine how even better it works/serves my PC with a complete package!) As it is, the only way I could show my appreciation with this software is to share an honest, sound, and "not under duress" so to speak opinion/review of this great software. Love my Avast! showShow review details
A free antivirus better than commercial ones 5 stars by iwillneverstop Apr 19, 2011 (Read all my 22 reviews)
I've never had any problems with malware since the program added the new anti-spyware engine to its very good anti-virus engine. It's fast, clean and safety. With the latest version (v6), avast now has 8 real-time shields and 3 additional protection. This makes the program even better. This is a program you can rely on. showShow review details
Great antivirus 5 stars by screamingeagle Feb 10, 2011
Avast is a great antivirus program. I have used it to remove corrupt files that no other antivirus program could find. The boot scan feature is the best. showShow review details
Great product, great support 5 stars by AEn1gm4 Feb 03, 2011 (Read all my 10 reviews)
This is a great product. I would also like to point out the excellent support on the avast forum. I had a problem with my Avast copy, but thanks to the forum users it was solved in less then a day. That is exceptional for costumer support. Thumbs up. showShow review details
The best antivirus 5 stars by Rustyboy Dec 10, 2010 (Read all my 33 reviews)
I was a dedicated Avira user but now find Avast to be as good (or better), all while using low system resources. Also, Avast does not issue many false positives like some other AVs. Just set up Avast and forget about it; let it do its job quietly and effectively without bugging you all the time. showShow review details
Fabulous 5 stars by Aussiel0ver Nov 23, 2010
It so simple to use,even my mother-in-law understands it ease of use. showShow review details
The best antivirus out there! 5 stars by chloja Jun 14, 2010 (Read all my 2 reviews)
No problems using for several years on many hardware platforms and different OS. showShow review details
Fantastic security 5 stars by JohnofTaunton Feb 23, 2010 (Read all my 13 reviews)
Fantastic security; I run it alongside Kaspersky 2009 and have never had a problem that one or other of these two has not dealt with. Occasionally I also run SpyBot but it never finds anything that has got through. showShow review details
The only one to use 5 stars by SeSorrow Feb 18, 2010 (Read all my 29 reviews)
This is the only AV to use. I have installed this program on over 50 computers. These are the ones that get brought to me because their commercial product, or their other free antivirus couldn't keep out the virus'. After I installed Avast, there were NO more problems. And there has been no slow down, freezing, or any other problems on any of these PC's, ranging from a 2.4ghz dual-core with 3gb of ram to a 550mhz Pentium III with 256 mb of ram. Avast is the first thing I install when people bring me their problems. My college even used Avast when their classroom PCs on a limited network got infected and their previous AV couldn't get the job done. showShow review details
The best, no matter the price! 5 stars by Mindach44 Feb 07, 2010 (Read all my 5 reviews)
I have tried them all in the past 20 years. Avast will work when others won't. The "boot-time" scan can kill an in memory virus. Wow what a great program, they should get an award! It beats all others hands down! showShow review details
The best there is . 5 stars by abcxyz Nov 29, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I read a review a few moments ago some people talk a lot and say nothing. I've been using this anti-virus for about ten years now and I have had no problems whatsoever, but the person who made the review was running Vista - duh it's slow anyway, so what do you expect. Avast is solid software and you can turn off the update audio warning, great work avast ! showShow review details
Trust it 5 stars by DavidLewis Nov 24, 2009
Avast is installed om all my XP machines (4) it works flawlessly but you need the Pro version to get full protection... showShow review details
Not enthusiastic. 3 stars by boofby Oct 25, 2009 (Read all my 14 reviews)
No this is not another cookie-cutter extol-the-virtues-of-the-program review. Not that a lot of the reviews on this page sound awfully similar, having the same grammatical style and syntax, one might question their authenticity.. but I digress. Have this installed on a 2GB Vista machine and it slows it down like molasses dripping down a picket fence. On another machine running XP it has similar results, slowing down performance of some online games. It does the job its supposed to, but you are certainly made aware of its presence, from the animated tray icon that spins 95% of the time as it constantly scans your hard disk and every action taken, to the highly annoying 'VIRUS DATABASE UPDATED!' announcement scaring the beejezus out of you as you quietly surf the net. This gets -1 because of the annoyances, and another -1 because it has difficulty quietly monitoring in the background like a good anti-virus program should. showShow review details
Avast is first class!! 4 stars by tonygreen Aug 18, 2009
I changed from Norton to Avast and have never looked back. My choice had nothing to do with cost, but was problem related. I have had constant problems with Norton 360, and after that Norton 2009 premier. Crashes, no start up, no shut down, virus scans freezing and crashing windows, not to mention un installing problems, even with the uninstall tool! But Avast has changed everything, no problems at all. It runs away in the background doing it's job. I wish I had installed Avast years ago, instead of being manipulated by advertising etc. For anyone who are thinking of giving Avast a go, don't delay, you will not regret it. showShow review details
I love this product 5 stars by wmcollins70 May 18, 2009
I can't tell you how much I love Avast! I was downloading a file one time, and a couple of other times I was surfing sites and it found and stopped it every time! THANK YOU FOR AVAST! showShow review details
Avast hands down 5 stars by Zundapp Mar 29, 2009 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Avast has worked fine on Windows Me, very easy to install and doesn't eat up system resources. Avast is a great free AV program. Preferred over many AV programs. showShow review details
Wouldn't recommend anything else 5 stars by martin77 Mar 29, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Really great product, still cant believe it's freeware for home users but their philosophy behind that decision makes sense when you read their website. I use this on all my machines, and have it on all my families machines. It's never let me down. showShow review details
Excellent free software 5 stars by shane7 Mar 19, 2009
Deserves the maximum stars. Highly recommended to everyone. Why pay for antivirus when Avast is free and performs better than the leading paid ones. showShow review details
The best free antivius program ever. 5 stars by cool_iceman99 Feb 07, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Perfect to install and easy too use. Had McAfee virusscan before, when I got Avast. I updated McAfee, unplugged the internet cable and did take a full scan. But it did'nt find anything. After that, I removed McAfee and installed Avast, updated the program, unplug the cable and did a full scan. Avast did find 18 different trojans/viruses. So yes, I will recommend Avast. showShow review details
All good except maybe the webshield feature 4 stars by davemiller Jan 22, 2009 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I really like AVAST! I've been using it for a year. I had no worries until just recently. It seems that sometime in mid-December they released an update. I had a problem with my browser stalling and creeping to a halt, as well as some strange conflicts with Call of Duty's World at War. As it turned out through trial and error I determined that if I disable the Avast WebShield the problems went away. Hopefully they will correct this in the near future! showShow review details
A great program 5 stars by Stevee Dec 15, 2008
I have been using Avast Home Edition for quite a while. In my opinion, it is far superior to applications I have used previously. showShow review details
Easy to use - peace of mind 4 stars by VikingMan Dec 12, 2008 (Read all my 15 reviews)
Avast requires virtually no maintenance at all. Just download, install, configure a bit, and then you can forget about it. Unlike the OTHER free AV, this one updates itself automatically all the time, without needing any special scheduling set-up. It uses few resources and the on-access scan traps viruses and trojans effectively. On-demand scanning is quite slow and tiresome because if it does find anything, the scan stops and waits for you to decide what to do. But I don't scan on demand much anyhow. I like the multi-lingual interface on Avast as well. showShow review details
Best antivirus 5 stars by JanyJulius Nov 28, 2008
I have been using Avast for years and it's the best anti-virus solution I can find. It is fast and the interface is quite nice. The options can be customized to my taste and. The main key advantage (I think) the databases are daily updated to keep you protected all the time. And best of all... it's free! showShow review details
Using it for 2 years 5 stars by miguel236 Nov 13, 2008
No major problems with the program. it does a good job. i like the fact that its a free alternative to Symantec Norton which i used to use a long time ago. I'd have already recommended it to people and will still do so. showShow review details
So much faster 5 stars by alexiussg Oct 20, 2008
Runs so much faster on my Asus EE-PC as compared to AVG Free. 5 out of 5 points for Avast! showShow review details
I love Avast. 4 stars by Robertw Sep 22, 2008 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I love Avast. I have it installed on my home computers and so far no Viruses. The program has blocked viruses many times while I was browsing the Web and deleted them before they caused a problem. It is light weight and does not consume lots of system resources. You don't even know it's there. I simply does the job without getting in your way. Great Product! I will upgrade to the pro edition soon. showShow review details
Best antivirus ever! 5 stars by Futurepig Aug 08, 2008 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I have been using Avast for years and it's the best anti-virus solution out there. Unlike those anti-virus programs that make your computer slow and annoy you with repeated pop-ups, Avast is fast and user-friendly. The graphic interface is nicely designed and looks great. The options can be customized to everyone's taste and convenience. The databases are constantly updated to keep you protected all the time. And best of all... it's free! showShow review details
Avast for the home 5 stars by BrainDribble Jul 22, 2008
Great tool - protected me successfully for a couple of years. Doesn't hog the system like some commercial programs! showShow review details
Always my favorite 5 stars by JaJoa69 Jul 22, 2008 (Read all my 17 reviews)
Been using Avast for approx 7 years,and so far found nothing better than it.However It would be nice if the following was improved" Avasts while scanning for viruses, u need to stay close to it, because if it finds a virus, you will have to delete it first, because the scan will not continue until u delete the infected file(s)" Otherwise,it's fantastic and free. showShow review details
Whoa... 5 stars by alex_dot_com Jul 14, 2008
I have used quite a few anti-virus proggies over the years. This one is another one of those that ranks up there. It does it do what is supposed to do, but what I like about it is that the bells and whistles it comes with are great. Because I can get to tweak it to my specs. Two Thumbs Up! showShow review details
Best of them all 5 stars by Setinut Jun 28, 2008 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Not one infection on our p.c. since installation.This is VERY GOOD since Mr. Potato head here takes risks with his packet sniffer. Always geting the win32 slammer bug, but Avast knocks it out cold... showShow review details
Not a memory hog 5 stars by nobull2 Jun 11, 2008 (Read all my 25 reviews)
Not a Memory Hog as I have experienced with another software av_. I have always liked avast for the ease of use and updates and I am back and am not using anything else! IMO this is the best of the FreeWare for AntiVirus! showShow review details
Light, fast and reliable 5 stars by fabrizio_conte May 14, 2008 (Read all my 5 reviews)
On my 1.4Ghz centrino laptop it's hard to notice performance differences after I installed it. As of my writing, it's requiring about 76MB of ram to give maximum protection. Compliments to all the guys that are writing and maintaining this nice piece of software. showShow review details
Very satisfied! 5 stars by debdisa May 11, 2008
Thanks, A friend turned me on to Avast, and frankly I don't know much about 'puters,and can't see how I could spend so much time on line without it. showShow review details
Keeping up to date 5 stars by madmike May 02, 2008
Amazed at the frequency of updates provided by this AV software and the ease with which it can be configured showShow review details
Great program 5 stars by sanford98 Apr 06, 2008
Been using for some time, Great Program showShow review details
Fantastic virus scanner 5 stars by webguy39 Apr 01, 2008 (Read all my 10 reviews)
This program is fantastic so easy to install and setup. And also this even picked up a few things that my old virus program missed. Highly recommended, my thanks to the developers of a great program. Keep up the great work for future updates. showShow review details
Very nice! 5 stars by chu1979 Mar 26, 2008 (Read all my 4 reviews)
All what I need to do is install. It is working very well after that. showShow review details
Very impressive! 5 stars by techqi Mar 25, 2008 (Read all my 7 reviews)
This is one of those applications that'd I'll probably upgrade to the paid version just to show my appreciation for a job well done! Norton and McAfee are both so ponderously full of nonsense and irritating system-clogging junk, avast! easily replaces them as my anti-virus application of choice. showShow review details
Great program 5 stars by RustyShackleford Mar 22, 2008 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Install it, set it up, forget about it. The best anti-virus program. showShow review details
Great program 5 stars by Sniffy Mar 20, 2008 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Works in the background and keeps me posted on what's going on, without interfering with my work. Has blocked virus' many times. showShow review details
Fast, efficient, and lightweight 5 stars by hognala Mar 18, 2008
Unlike Norton or McAfee, avast! will not cripple your computer with its "protection". PC stays snappy, and is secure. What else could you ask for? showShow review details
Highly recommended 5 stars by whiteowl Mar 15, 2008
I have used Avast! Home Edition for several years now after fleeing from heavy-handed Norton and McAfee (ugh!!!). I tried another freeware before Avast! and I must say Avast! wins hands down. It's light, quick, non-intrusive, dependable. I have recommended it to many people and all have been very pleased - and relieved. showShow review details
Very slow and has annoying interface 2 stars by OriginX Mar 14, 2008 (Read all my 3 reviews)
It's very slow and has annoying interface. Detection rate is not the best either. There is better free antivirus software available. showShow review details
Very pleased with this software 5 stars by einstein Jan 13, 2008
I started using AVG free edition, but moved on to AVAST and prefer it. I've used it for a year or two and think it's excellent. showShow review details
Only one thing stopping me from keeping it 4 stars by JFSturtz Jan 12, 2008 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I've installed it twice. Overall, looks very nice, and I like the way it runs. The *only* complaint I have is I have been utterly unable to obtain a registration key. I've filled out the registration form with my e-mail address probably a half-dozen times, and I have yet to receive a registration key. Messages to the support e-mail address also go unanswered. Can't keep using it if I can't register it ... showShow review details
Brilliant stuff. 5 stars by FriedrichH Dec 15, 2007
I do not believe any other application can be as effective as avast! Once installed, it works so effectively in the background that I am totally unaware of its presence. I am only reminded of avast! when it is automatically updated and/or upgraded or when it warns me about attempted intrusions. Brilliant stuff. showShow review details
Niiiiiiiiice 5 stars by RockmasteR Dec 10, 2007
Avast Home edition is one of the best free antivirus, its easy, powerful, and free. It can detect from the little viruses to the meanest. and the best of all it does not consume lots of RAM (Unlike other Commercial Antiviruses eg : Mcafee, of course I'm not saying that Mcafee is not good, but it needs lots of RAM) the only bad thing about Avast is while scanning for viruses, u need to still close to it, because if it finds a virus, you will have to delete it first, because the scan will not continue until u delete the infected file(s). It's annoying... showShow review details
Avast Home is all you need 5 stars by parkstreet1234 Nov 28, 2007
Avast is the BEST, I really LOVE this product. It updates automatically, HANDS FREE, and a pleasant voice tells me it has been updated. It scans memory, and also will scan on reboot if you want it to. It is nice because on reboot at the command, you can select "Delete all, or Clean all" a great feature when a newbie brings you his computer with 6000 viruses. Set it and forget it... Avast really has a bright future, what a great product. showShow review details
Tacky interface, blocked Operamail! 2 stars by CharleyBronson Nov 22, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I'm not as impressed with Avast as others obviously are. The first major problem for me was that it blocked my OperaMail from receiving e-mail. I only noticed a few days after I installed Avast, that I hadn't recieved any e-mail for days. There was also no notification from Avast that it had blocked anything. After much head scratching I decided to unistall Avast, no sooner had I done that then my e-mail came flooding in! I've used Opera's ultra reliable integrated e-mail for over 5 years, and no other program has ever blocked my e-mail before. I can't use it and can't really recommend it to others that use OperaMail. I also hate the interface, it's so tacky and looks like it's been designed by a teenager trying to look cool and hip, but the result ends up looking more like a car stereo than a professional antivirus application. AVG is my choice any day over Avast. showShow review details
I prefer Avast! 5 stars by GsyMoo Oct 13, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Which is the best Antivirus software? For most users something that does a good job, is easy to set up and doesn showShow review details
Best of the best! 5 stars by CrescentScapes Oct 12, 2007 (Read all my 7 reviews)
For years I used one particular free anti virus software because I liked it a lot, but then they decided to make people pay for their software so I stopped using them. Shortly after finding this out I found Avast by searching the web. I have never been more happy with an anti virus software than I have been with Avast. I hope to be able to use them for the rest of my computer years to come! showShow review details
Does a perfect job for free! 5 stars by Roland1955 Oct 12, 2007
I have been using avast for about 4 years now, and it has never let a virus slip through. It gets automatically updated daily, just like its expensive competitive products. Avast is and excellent anti-virus product, and it is freeware!!! showShow review details
The best of the best!! 5 stars by green70 Aug 29, 2007
I have used avast for along time now, and won't use anything else because I think it is the best. showShow review details
I really like it! 5 stars by peppefiorenza Aug 12, 2007
Avast! have an innovative gui that i really like, it's powerful, easy-to-use and the installation file takes it's really little (about 11MB) and... it's for free!! showShow review details
Avast! 4 home edition 5 stars by JerryChance Aug 11, 2007
Simply a BRILLIANT Program. I've used it for over four years and it's never let me down. It has intercepted many, many virus threats! Highly recommended! showShow review details
An excellent freeware antivirus app. 5 stars by redster Aug 11, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I have used AVG and antivir, currently and for some time I have found avast to be better than the competition on ease of use, detection rate and load on PC. showShow review details
Excellent product 5 stars by KevinL Aug 02, 2007
This is an excellent product -- and VERY affordable! showShow review details
Perfect for my needs. 4 stars by Shaggy Jul 28, 2007 (Read all my 15 reviews)
Avast! provides just the right amount of protection without consuming lots of system resources. It's ideal for me, but I don't necessarily think it's ideal for the average user, as the average user normally isn't aware of the risk they pose to themselves. It's an excellent product if you understand it's limitations, and in turn your own responsibility for safe computing. It's lightweight, dependable, and of course, free. If you generally practice safe computing, and have other products employed for different types of threats (i.e. firewall, anti-spyware, etc.), then avast! is an excellent choice for traditional virus protection. I would give it 5 stars if not for the fact that it's a bit cumbersome to configure avast! to ignore certain files appropriately and consistently. I've tried other antivirus products, paid and free, but I've stuck with avast! for the past three years or more. In general, I highly recommend avast! showShow review details
Full featured and free! 5 stars by moparmac Jul 01, 2007 (Read all my 11 reviews)
I switched to Avast and I have been recommended it to family and friends that are looking for an easy,dependable antivirus. Updates are reliable and regular. The really impressive part is the available components. Standard shield(monitor)Web shield,Network shield and E-mail scanner are the components I use in addition to the scanner. The configuration options are very good. I was surprised to see that the Internet Mail and Outlook mail scanners have heuristics. The updates are automatic,but that's another feature that each individual can configure also. Avast Home is packed with components and features,especially for a free program. showShow review details
Spread the news, this product is great! 5 stars by MaxWefringhaus Jun 15, 2007
I have recommended Avast to many people who had unsuccessfully tried to clean their 'virus protected' computers after infection for weeks. Avast ALWAYS did the trick immediately. We have bought the product for use at work and I use it privately at home. It is not easy to get me excited, but I am! The only downside is that the product is not well known. We do not rate marketing here, but this is about the only area where Avast could improve! showShow review details
Great product 5 stars by my_flow48 Jun 13, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Good side: -Good detection rates -Free antivirus solution for home users -doesn't hog your system(like Norton) -Automatically updates to newest definitions -easy to use -I had a virus that even Norton couldn't find and avast removed it successfully. Downside: Maybe that it doesn't have a web scanner but that isn't necessary if you use Mozilla. One of the best solutions in the market and free. showShow review details
Simple but effective 5 stars by geofrs Jun 04, 2007
A very good simple but effective A/V good interface!! showShow review details
I was shocked 5 stars by scatrbrain May 30, 2007
This software is a gem, and its free. How do they offer this for free? It has a level of quality that makes me want to pay for it. And let me tell ya, I put this antivirus to the test and it passed with flying colors. A couple days ago a friend brought me a very screwed up Emachine (I'm a computer / network technician professionally, so everyone i know has showed up at my door with computer problems at one point or another). At any rate, as i started looking at the system (win xp home) it was immediately obvious that the computer was infected with not only spyware, but i suspected that it had multiple virus`s as well. I had run across avast a few weeks ago but assumed that it was another one of these free anti-viruses that only detects problems, but wouldn't fix them unless you bought the product. After reading on their website that it does indeed remove what it detects, i still didn't have high hopes frankly but i decided to try it anyway. showShow review details
One of the best free av products 4 stars by duncan May 14, 2007
I've used them all (even the commercial AV products) and the only ones I recommend are Avast and AVG. showShow review details
Avast rocks! 5 stars by johneb Apr 30, 2007
I have found Avast AntiVirus Home Edition to be the very best anti virus program that I have tested, tried, used for over many years. Highly worthy of all it's accolades and reviews. I have tested many different free antivirus programs and this is by far the best user friendly, mostly automated, and very effective AntiVirus that I have come across. showShow review details
The best free av software! 5 stars by Sundar Apr 29, 2007
I would recommend this software to anyone who wish to have their PC safe from virus attack and also save money by having it free!! showShow review details
Great 5 stars by LukeHaste Apr 12, 2007
Avast fixed malware infections that many other programs could not fix. I highly recommend Avast as it is simply the best !!! showShow review details
Avast is excellent 5 stars by maremma1 Apr 11, 2007
Easy to use and free to charge for private use, is possible programming for scanning at startup,nearly every day automatic update list of virus, scann very fast,it protects the computer from horse trojan/virus/malware attack,also find and delete virus and horse trojan,there is an icon near the clock that announces that [avast] is in operation showShow review details
The best free av around 5 stars by twistydmorticia Mar 29, 2007
Easy to use and thorough. avast! caught a trojan that even a very well known AV failed to catch! First used this after my subscription ran out as a temporary solution but loved it so much i'm sticking with it! Also auto scans IM transfers, downloads and even speaks to you when it's updated itself! In short an excellent free all round anti virus program, the best of the freebies and better than some that are not! showShow review details
Nothing to criticise - everything to gain 5 stars by beccysmum Mar 18, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I've tried everything going, but nothing beats Avast! It cleared stuff the others didn't touch. Even more unbelievable - it's free! showShow review details
What more could you want 5 stars by rongin3 Mar 11, 2007
I have used AVAST for nearly three years now, and I have had no problems. Other than the re-registration every 14 months, it is the best. showShow review details
This is the best freeware antivirus 5 stars by Water4L Feb 13, 2007
Been using Avast now for about 3 years and found it faultless in operation and detection of viruses and trojans. The boot time scan is a feature that most other virus checking programs don't have. As a technician I have scanned hundreds of client computers for viruses etc. Regardless of what virus checker they have installed I always install Avast, update definitions then perform a full boot time scan with archive checking enabled. I can showShow review details
The best av programm! 5 stars by PhantomLord Feb 13, 2007
Strong and Light. Thanks Alwill! showShow review details
An extremely good anti-virus program!! 5 stars by dlbean1 Feb 11, 2007 (Read all my 4 reviews)
If you want/need protection for any of your systems, this is one full-featured product that you can not ignore. With Web scan, heuristics, email scan, P2P, and Instant Messaging scanning engines-this is nearly a "security suite". (If you use ZoneAlarm Firewall, you will need to disable one of the scanning engines due to software conflicts - still just as safe). Uses less resources than McAfee or Norton with a higher level of protection. Updates are daily and automatic. showShow review details
Better than most and it's free 5 stars by Djohnfot Feb 08, 2007 (Read all my 5 reviews)
This is a great program. It won't slow down your computer. It has a very effective resident virus shield(s). One can choose scanning depth from "quick" (only recently accessed or opened files) to "thorough" (every file on the computer) and several levels between the two. The interface is different but very easy to use AND one can "reskin" it using one of the many new "skins" available at the avast! website. Overall, a great program that's actually better than many (not all) of the antivirus programs you have to pay for. showShow review details
The best 5 stars by NSigounis Jan 30, 2007
This is simply the best antivirus, best of all it even comes with a free version. I had xxx when I had a virus in the same year, but xxx just couldn't detect it. I found out about this virus because of an online scan so I was looking for another antivirus. I downloaded avast, because it had a high rating from webattack, now snapfiles. My virus problem was solved right after my first scan, this is definitely the best antivirus. It even scans your computer as you use it, it monitors my internet usage, my incoming mail, and much more. showShow review details
I just love this 5 stars by Belatucadrus Jan 15, 2007 (Read all my 13 reviews)
I've tried most free anti virus so I've plenty to compare it to. I changed to avast! 4 as soon as it was released, AVG 6 was getting a bit long in the tooth and I was having update problems. I'd seen avast 32 and been unimpressed, but the new version was a revelation. The default settings are pretty well foolproof, but despite the loss of the Pro interface, if you take your time to learn your way around it, there's a lot of fine tuning you can do to get it to run the way you want. The incremental update system is top notch, quick and unobtrusive. The ScreenSaver scan is a good substitute for scheduling. There is e-mail support from alwil if you run into any problems. A good user forum, which incidentally can show you how to get avast! to run scheduled scans using Windows task scheduler. You can password protect it to stop the kids mucking it up. It's ICSA rated with good 100% at VirusBulletin so it works. I've yet to find a downside. showShow review details
Get it now! 5 stars by btk1w1 Dec 31, 2006 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Take my word for it... you will not be disappointed! I've been using this program for years and still I think the rave reviews don't do it justice! What everybody says about the program is true and whats even better is with imagination this AV program will do exactly (no more, no less), what you need/want it to do. I set the screensaver on our home networked pcs' to Avast! It scans with no human intervention!, and even if interrupted would start again right where it left off! Now how's that for piece of mind! Installing Avast! will give you a boot time scan for viruses that already exist... detecting the malware and quarantining/deleting before it has a chance to load with other apps. The ability to scan ANY file or folder simply by right clicking and selecting option highlighted with the avast! "A" symbol. THANKYOU AVAST! showShow review details
Im 55 kids and avast is the best anti-virus! 5 stars by WEIS4U2 Dec 12, 2006
Im not going to sit here all night and bs you about what kind of system im going to buy next month or when my mommy gets her raise,Im a grown man and I dont endorse products ,ever,except apparently Avast,because I have everyone I know using it,Im also disabled and poor and Avast has been taking care of me just as well as if I was able to pay with Avast free Home edition,Thanks and much respect to the anti-virus of the masses. showShow review details
The best anti-virus for any money 5 stars by dsilver Dec 10, 2006 (Read all my 8 reviews)
I am completely confident that this is the best anti-viral protection you can find anywhere. The fact that is is free is just icing on the cake. I use ZoneAlarm Pro as a firewall, avast! for...and a freebie program called Spamihilator (you can find it here)for, well, spam. Great combo for me. showShow review details
Get it 5 stars by Pockoleotis Dec 04, 2006
Very powerful anti-virus. Why pay when this free app works as well as any for profit app available. For home users only. showShow review details
Fantastic Software. 5 stars by Andrizzle Nov 20, 2006
Fantastic Software. Simple, unobtrusive, and effective. I highly recommend this software. showShow review details
Avast! me hearties - a unique av program! 5 stars by Dragon10 Nov 19, 2006 (Read all my 41 reviews)
There are an insufficient number of superlatives, as well as space to sing the praises of this excellent AV program. I have had v4.7 installed on my PC for about a week now and still feel exhilerated on each and every occasion I start it up!! :-) Make no mistake Avast! is truly unique, innovative and creative in AV program design, which in my estimation is a clear 'head and shoulders' above its rivals! In some respects, it might well be considered a cross between an AV Program and media player inasmuch as the skins that can be selected to transform its appearance. These in my opinion are true works of art. They are really well-designed and beautiful in appearance. As for the 'business end'? That is just as keen, sharp and beautifully crafted as well. I must leave room to express my gratitude to ALWIL software for providing a richly featured freeware version of the program to home users. I would sincerely hope to upgrade to the Professional version, one day. showShow review details
The leader of the pack. 5 stars by ShockTroop Sep 29, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
By far, AVAST is the best anti-virus package, and one that most users have never heard about. It's detection rate is better than any popular commercial product I've tested. Unlike other AV software, AVAST does not gobble up system resources or clutter your operating system with unwanted annoyances. The interface is clean and easy to use. Also, it's one of few AV products that can scan before windows loads, which is vital to preventing infection. You can use the free version as long as you want without any hassles but it's worth every penny if you buy it. showShow review details
Best i've used 5 stars by euphrontis Sep 27, 2006
I have used both McAfee and Norton. I experienced conflicts with other software with both of them. Avast is, by far, the most efficient, effective and user friendly of the three. When my Year is up, I will convert my office network to Avast Professional. showShow review details
Alast, avast! 5 stars by not_in2_bars Sep 14, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Great product, have been using for awhile. It has done a great job of keeping my computer clean. Does exactly what it is supposed to do. Like it better than Norton or mcafee. showShow review details
Great program 5 stars by mikewb Sep 02, 2006
Saved my system many times showShow review details
Simply the best!!! 5 stars by SNOWHITE Aug 31, 2006
Excellent free antivirus that is keeping your computer safe at all time...avast! rules showShow review details
Avast solution 5 stars by alanton Aug 23, 2006
Just excellent. Everyday quick update. Feel secure. showShow review details
Considered ok... 4 stars by Zeazera Aug 18, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Chose Avast bcoz it does not slows my pc, but cannot compete with [...] when scanning worms in warez website. showShow review details
Brilliant 5 stars by Flowta Aug 12, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I strongly recommend this product to all who are seeking a comprehensive integrated security solution. Have been using for 18 months now, previously using commercial products, and Avast is so much better. Try it, you wont go back. showShow review details
The best 5 stars by james5 Aug 10, 2006 (Read all my 7 reviews)
I set up computers for others and this is one of the best virus programs to use. It has an auto update so people do not have to remember to update and that is a very big plus. Unlike some of the big named products that slows you computer down it has very little effect on it at all. showShow review details
It does the job - and does it right! 5 stars by Anomyous Aug 09, 2006 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Avast! Anti-Virus is an easy to use anti-virus program. It has a an easy to use interface and a whole lot more. One of the things that I like about this program is that it's skinnable. You can download skins from the avast! website, or you can follow the online tutorial to make your own. And best of all, it's free! You just have to register online (which is free). I've tried AntiVir PE, AVG Anti-Virus and BitDefender 8 free edition and I found this one to be the best! Overall, it's a program that does the job - and does it right! showShow review details
So far so good... 4 stars by gusimio Jul 10, 2006 (Read all my 31 reviews)
Very nice for the price! showShow review details
Putting it simply: the best anti-virus 5 stars by magnetic56 Jul 06, 2006 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Avast is the best Anti-Virus I have used; and that includes paid for ones. Their website contains answers to any and ALL of your questions about the product, and if you wish to, to upgrade for business. What more can you ask for! Mick showShow review details
The best free anti-virus software 5 stars by DuckForever Jul 06, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
It's totally free, and provides even more features than some expensive products. In addition, I use 'URL Blocking' to remove ads, and 'Blocker' to protect system files. showShow review details
Avast anti-virus 5 stars by SwathingScientist Jun 10, 2006
Members and visitors to SnapFiles.Please Do try the Avast anti-virus program if that is what your here looking for(an AV program/app)It is by far,the best available on the Internet today,bar none.Try it,you'll love it!.A body(computer) can't help but feel completely safe with Avast on the job 24/7. showShow review details
Excellent 5 stars by FlatCat Jun 06, 2006 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Good piece of software. Whilst the on-access checking can be a bit intrusive, it certainly stops any virus' showShow review details
The best 5 stars by Jayfive Jun 03, 2006
The best free antivirus software around!! Picked up trojans as soon as I installed it! showShow review details
A very good choice 4 stars by jextuens May 25, 2006 (Read all my 39 reviews)
I would not put avast! up with the best-of-breed AVs in terms of detection capability, but it is nonetheless very good, and certainly good enough for anyone who isn't completely careless. Updates are totally painless--including program updates. It just works. No need to uninstall/reboot/install/reboot/clean up. I wish competitors would look long and hard at the avast! installer/updater. The avast! screen saver is a very nice touch. For me at least, it obviates the need for scheduled scans. One potential gripe is that signature updates aren't very frequent. Rather than the incessant updates of Kaspersky--or even the semi-regular updates of NOD32--you will only see an update every couple or few days. Highly recommended, especially if you're as sick of forever paying for upgrades as I am. showShow review details
Do not believe the hype! 3 stars by MikelGraham May 24, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Don't get me wrong this is a pretty good free anti-virus program with alot of features, BUT AntiVir is simply a better program! This program let trojans undetected on my computer and after I realized that something was sadly wrong with my computer and after running scans with avast, that did not detect anything at all, I switched to Antivir, which found right away three trojans. I will stick with German know - how. "AUF WIEDERSEHEN" avast! showShow review details
The best free antivirus you can find!!! 5 stars by BJ_Ge0rgE May 18, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I've tried AVG free, Kaspersky, Bitdefender 9, Norton 2006, NOD32....they are all good....all of them aren't free except of AVG Free...before trying AVAST i thought it sucks but i was wrong..it does an excellent job and it has plenty of features that other freebies haven't...so if u want a free and effective antivirus u can download AVG or AVAST with the difference that AVAST is the best... showShow review details
Thank god its free! 5 stars by downloadFANATIC Apr 05, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
The good thing about avast aside from being free is its detection and its real time protection. Avast is excellent in scanning and removing viruses. It has a nice user interface(depending on which skin you are using). Frequent updates, nice support. Highly recommend this one! showShow review details
Excellent for the price 4 stars by Spimby Apr 02, 2006
Does the job, looks nice. Some features are a bit difficult to find. For example, it took me about 5 mins to figure out how to make it scan archive folders when doing a system scan. All in all, it's a great program though. You should have an anti-virus on your system. If you can't afford one, get this now! showShow review details
Use it and don't forget registration 5 stars by eddymulyono Mar 14, 2006
1st time I used this software, a lot of doubt coz a lot of virus threating in web..but days I used it, Avast have proved me a lot, any threating some adware/malware and any kind of virus have been detected or any connection that suspects contains virus, Avast can abort it. Trust me I used it till now and don't forget to register, its free..!!! showShow review details
Great program 5 stars by GRDEFEN Mar 09, 2006
I was have problems with old anti-virus not working well with spyware program and this cause me to get hit with a bad virus. I download Avast and it removed the virus and has worked great since. showShow review details
Outstanding 5 stars by gbjennings Mar 03, 2006 (Read all my 21 reviews)
I was an avid AntiVir user until they released version 7. Such a shame they no longer support v6.x. They FORCE you to upgrade. I switched to Avast! and love it! Try it - you'll like it. showShow review details
Avast 5 stars by primessor Feb 14, 2006
Just great, a worthy choice indeed. showShow review details
Avast rocks! 5 stars by RockYouOn Feb 03, 2006
I just bought a new computer a couple weeks ago and it had come with Avast Home edition already on it. I hooked up my other computer to home network and was transferring files from my old computer which I was using Norton and have been using Norton for years. It had the latest updates of dats. I couldn't believe what I was seeing and hearing. Alarms and whistles went off from avast informing me of worms and another time trojans. I must have had at least 6 or 7 infected files with worms when I was transferring files from old to my new. Norton had overlooked everything. I couldn't believe it. I immediately went and downloaded and installed avast on my old computer and threw away Norton and I scanned my old computer with avast and it had found over 15 viruses that Norton didn't even know was there. I am sold on avast and will be updating to Pro soon just to help support the programmers that built this excellent antivirus software. Good job Avast! showShow review details
Best anti-virus program i have ever used. 5 stars by Myla944 Feb 02, 2006
This program was easy to install, has many features and has kept my computer virus free for over a year. It beats [..] and [..] and I should know has I used them prior to finding this gem. This program is free and updates the program and definitions in the background automatically, keeping your computer safe at all time. Would recommend and have recommended this program to many. Thank you Avast for making the best Anti-Virus software I have ever used. showShow review details
Better than norton - fact 5 stars by NeilMurray Feb 01, 2006
When my Norton subscription ran out I decided to try a free anti-virus instead. After the pain of having to scour the Symantec web site for a tool that would force an unistall of it's flagship product because Add/Remove programs wouldn't get rid of it, I downloaded the free version of Avast. As soon as I first ran Avast it found a Trojan previously undetected by [..]. No going back now, not ever. Not even for the free version of Norton Google will be giving away. showShow review details
Superb program! 5 stars by bluehorizon Jan 25, 2006 (Read all my 18 reviews)
You really can't go wrong with this program. For free antivirus protection look no further! Have been using this program for years. Has stopped every virus/Trojan thrown at my computer. You can configure the program to download the latest antivirus definitions automatically as soon as you connect to the internet. These come sometimes 2-3 times a day.Very reassuring! Many thanks to the company for making a freeware version for home use. No noticable slow down to my computer. The email scanning feature most welcome! Don't hesitate install now! showShow review details
Avast picks up where ... leaves off 5 stars by laytonja Jan 15, 2006
Provides wide ranging protection. Stays up to date with definintions. And is hardly noticeable as it does. showShow review details
User for 2 years 4 stars by shaktia Jan 03, 2006
Very happy with this freebie product. One person stated that it uses alot of system resources. I control the usage because in the menu, you can check folders, files or programs not to scan. Why scan old MP3 or video files that I have had for years. I used the AVG in the past. In my opinion, Avast was much better in a proactive approach. Especially while surfing the web. showShow review details
Needs a scheduler but great aside from that 4 stars by tarzanna Dec 26, 2005 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I decided to test this program out after exclusively using AVGFree for the last year or so. It is very robust and thorough - however, my only complaint is that the free version doesn't allow you to schedule virus scans. Not a big deal if you can remember to manually run scans a few times a week. The default interface is quite ugly - but this is easily remedied by using a different skin (my personal favorite is the MacLover skin). Due to the lack of automatic scheduling, I haven't decided if I'll keep this as my default anti-virus scanner over AVG (which also has an ugly UI but at least has a scheduler). Even so, I'd highly recommend this program to anyone who doesn't mind the absence of a scheduling feature and wants a reliable (and best of all, free!) anti-virus program. showShow review details
This is the best one 5 stars by w1cougar Dec 22, 2005
It does all the things the high priced ones try to do. I recommend it to friends and on my website. showShow review details
Goodnews 5 stars by AltonCarpenter Dec 12, 2005
This program is among the best freeware programs I have used. It has found and cleaned several viruses and worms from my system. The publishers were prompt on issuing me a user number for just a small bit of information. The frequent automatic updates take very little time to download. Unlike some of the major "buy it now" programs, this one does not try to take over your computer. It is easy to disable while making installs and is just a comfort to have around. I would rate it a 5/5. showShow review details
The only anti virus i will put my name behind 5 stars by Dennis57 Dec 07, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Look no further, download and start using the best anti virus software available. Have been a user for over 2 years now. I have never had a virus sneek by Avast. Rock solid, never any problems, does what it suposed to do, KEEP YOU AND YOUR MACHINE PROTECTED ! showShow review details
Avast rocks!!! 5 stars by Nexar466 Nov 17, 2005 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Avast Home Edition is the best. AVG was good, but I got a virus, and AVG found it but wouldn't delete it. The virus got into my system, and that was it. I got one of the bot virus as soon as I got on line. Avast got it, I put it in the vault, and kept going. People with high speed internet, YOU NEED THIS! showShow review details
Very very very very goooood. 5 stars by thundermavs Nov 16, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This is a very good program. One of the best I have ever seen for free.If you don't use it I feel sory for you. love it! showShow review details
Excellent 5 stars by red917 Nov 15, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Very glad I found this program - does a wonderful job. showShow review details
Hard to believe there is no charge! 4 stars by PeteJust Nov 13, 2005 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I have been testing several free solutions (same more than once) and every time I ended wit Avast. If you get rid of the awful skins you get a nice simple interface. Installation and configuration are quite easy and they update very regular. One minor thing: scanning a whole disk needs quite a lot of time compared to others. I think you never should rely on one anti virus product and therefore I combine it with free scans now and then. It does the job very well and in my opinion it showShow review details
Outstanding anti-virus prevention/removal 5 stars by ThunderOwl Nov 03, 2005
Robust and powerful offering which I found hard to believe was available to home users without charge. Installation was smooth and integration with my firewall, Adaware and spyware screens even side by side with MaCafee without any contention or problems.... The product sells itself and I am going to subscribe to the Pro version with full confidence in the product. showShow review details
Great...but 3 stars by brianyoungless Oct 30, 2005
For freeware this is great but it is a bit of a resource hog and scans everything, also automatically starts downloader even if you turn it off, this was conflicting with other programs at startup. showShow review details
Fantastic!!!! 5 stars by Ramsey Oct 22, 2005 (Read all my 5 reviews)
This is a great product much better then other free anti virus software. Updates are frequent and automatic, detection is superior to other anti virus software, believe me I've tried them all. for a more professional product buy the pro version. Although the home version will be more than sufficient for all users. showShow review details
Excellent - an essential download! 5 stars by digipaws Oct 20, 2005 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Alerts you when you have a virus straight away, quick smooth and simple virus detector, a real gem of a program. showShow review details
Avast, the #1 choice 5 stars by lorrykirk Oct 19, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Avast is the perfect antivirus program out there. Besides the boot sector scan, which runs BEFORE windows starts, (a must for some trojans), just the all around use of Avast is fantastic. I install the software on every computer I upgrade and maintain for friends and family. Only withdrawal. most newbies do not understand the registration process on how to do it. Other than that, Avast bypasses [..] and [..] hands down, eyes closed. A must have on every computer! showShow review details
So much bang with no bucks? 5 stars by BPNoiD Oct 10, 2005
I dont know how they do it. Forget Norton and all the rest, this anti-virus provides the most trustworthy protection you will find, and they don't charge you. The program uses far less memory than the competition also. If you havent tried Avast you've been missing out. showShow review details
You can count on it 5 stars by IvanCoffey Oct 01, 2005
I read alot about this software, and i must say as a free anti-virus system it does a great job and the auto update is very good with no slowdown to my dialup connection. showShow review details
Avast! is cutting edge technology 5 stars by dirtnap Sep 23, 2005 (Read all my 19 reviews)
I wanted to dump my ... that took over my system and disk and slowed Everything down (booting took Forever!). I tried several of the top-rated free virus apps and avast! was the hands-down winner for me. This virus program is awesome, efficient, small and fast with great features. Norton better pay attention because many others like me are dumping them. With an app like avast! you don't need Norton and their pricey upgrades, and it's FREE! showShow review details
Avast is free and great!!! 5 stars by diecompnut Sep 23, 2005 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This has to be the most amazing accomplishment in freeware on the web. I have used Avast for about two years and it has never let me down. I do various online scans from time to time, always showing that Avast missed nothing! After years of Norton it is great to find an anti-virus that works without messing up my computer. showShow review details
Best of the best 5 stars by bigbrother43913 Sep 15, 2005
Avast is better then any anti-virus program i know ... its better then ... showShow review details
Avast! great antivirus program!! 5 stars by Jaymz_ Sep 03, 2005 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Have been using the software for about 4-5 months now. It's been Great! No annoyances like .... Lets me know when it's updated itself & warns me of viruses, even from websites.. This Freeware Version Is AWESOME!! If i had the monies, I'd definitely upgrade to the Pro version. Thank You Avast! showShow review details
Vikinglarson 5 stars by vikinglarson Aug 25, 2005
We are using it on my wifes computer because of a compatibility problem we had with Norton. With the Norton program (system works 2005) it would not let me use any CD roms or jump drives. When I uninstalled Norton everything works great and Avast 4.6 does the job. I had been working with Symantec to fix the problem but I gave up and went with Avast 4.6. Thank You for being there. Norm. showShow review details
Incredible! 5 stars by Stolichnaya Aug 20, 2005
This is an awesome product. Sure beats the heck out of all the other big-boy antivirus products there. I have tested quite a few, and until recently was very complacent thinking that my desktop pc and laptop both were virus free as I was using one of the more exclusive ones. Then I saw this and installed it. Bam, bam, bam - there were these three trojans sitting pretty in my Desktop! Full marks to avast! Definitely recommended. showShow review details
Unbelieveable for a free app! 5 stars by TechDaddy Aug 12, 2005
Having tested several paid & free AV apps, this one provides protection where others fall short. It runs "shields" in 7 categories (which can be independently disabled) and has stopped intrusions on all 5 of my machines. Just a right-click of the tray icon allows access to many settings & features for customization. It is an excellent supplement to a personal firewall. I have had no infections since installing it and all scans have come up clean. showShow review details
Very good 5 stars by avantis Aug 02, 2005
Been using it for more then a year. Much easier on the system then Norton. It saved me more then dozen times - email, chat, browsing... Excellent! showShow review details
Avast! home is the best free antivirus 5 stars by Teenod Jul 31, 2005
WOW!!! I can't believe it's free. avast! Home is the best free antivirus and even better than some commercial antivirus. avast! Home Edition is no doubt the best free antivirus solution for home users out there. Pros: It has advanced multi-layer real-time protection as the following 1. Real-time HTTP scanner, basic web filtering for fighting against web-based threats 2. Scan network traffic in real time (similar to IDS) for blocking network worms 3. Real-time P2P, Instant Messaging scanner 4. Real-time e-mail (POP/SMTP/IMAP/NNTP) scanner 5. Standard real-time file scanner and these advanced features... 6. Complete auto incremental updates that's fast, small and very effective 7. Boot-time scanner 8. Antivirus screen saver 9. Superb support forum .... Cons: Some skin interface is rather cumbersome but its skinless interface is plain and simple to use. All I can say, you will not be regret with this product. avast! Home Edition showShow review details
Great free antivirus software 5 stars by pilatus Jul 16, 2005
In over three years of use, I have only made good experiences with Avast, even with the old version 3. And the program has come a long way since. It is very reliable, well-equipped and one of the most complete and comprehensive among all the free AV programs out on the market. The interface may lack some fine-tuning features compared to the professional version, but these are for experts anyway. showShow review details
Why pay for less? 5 stars by GrannyJ Jul 14, 2005
Just renewed my license for the third time. This program continues to surpass all the so-called "big boys", finding things the others miss...and all for FREE! Thanks, avast! You're still tops in my book! showShow review details
Orsm software 5 stars by Tonesta_tone Jul 01, 2005
I have been using Avast for over a year now after using many others (paid and free), i can confidently say this is one of the best Antivirus software. Avast also has one of the best user forum for technical issues. The users who support Avast are knowledgeable and quick to assist any difficulties you may encounter and there is next to non. It just runs and it protects. i have not ran a scan for 6 months and did one the other day and surprise no virus, not one. Avast is highly recommended and i can't believe it is FREE for home use... keep up the great work!!! showShow review details
Safe feeling 4 stars by Nicholas Jun 10, 2005 (Read all my 58 reviews)
This is the very best virus finder and protector I have ever used. It performs far better than all others, McAfee and Norton included. Email protection is no less than excellent. However, the game-like user interface could be better. After installation Avast discovered and eliminated three trojans which 'the others' never noticed. I think I experience a good feeling: safety. showShow review details
Back to product details   Add your review...
Download avast! Free Antivirus

Check out these featured downloads...

PhoXo

PhoXo image editing and effects

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

Emsisoft Emergency Kit

Emsisoft Emergency Kit portable malware removal kit

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring