Privatefirewall

Privatefirewall User Reviews



5 stars43% 7
4 stars31% 5
3 stars6% 1
2 stars6% 1
1 star12% 2
Based on 16 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 16 user reviews
Post your own review

Excellent firewall and true antispyware 5 stars by z28tommy95597 Mar 22, 2014 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Private Firewall is rather simple to install yet has extremely powerful capabilities and also acts as a true antispyware and protects against screen capture, hooks and logging to name a few quality's. The trick to getting it dialed in right is to properly adjust settings which took me a little while to adjust in knowing how Private Firewall would react. Can be very user friendly and also set as a true professional grade AntiSpyware. Take some time to get use to it, its worth it and will provide world class protection. A lot of people may get disappointed because of some aspects are complex. Dial it in and you will be glad you did. Also works with other firewalls no problem. I recommend Private Firewall and Emsisoft's Online Armor and I run them together with no loss in performance. show Review details
I haven't tried better 4 stars by Smeagal1965 Sep 20, 2013 (Read all my 13 reviews)
PrivateFirewall installs easily and very fast. It is very light on system resources and integrates with the Windows environment (Can control it from action center in Windows 7). It is ready to use right out of the box, but more advanced users can tweak it a little. Has a training mode to make it easier to configure rules. It has passed every test I could throw at it. I have tried several free firewalls over the years and the bottom line is, I have never tried better than PrivateFirewall! There are some just as good however. So why do I use PF? Firstly, it updates frequently. Secondly, it is very effective for my needs. Thirdly, it has very little if any negative impact on pc performance. It is ugly as sin however (lol). After trying them all I'm sticking with PF for the reasons mentioned above. It seems people have real mixed experiences with PF, so try it for yourself. Maybe you will be like me and find just the perfect firewall for your needs. Did I mention that it was really ugly? :o) show Review details
Poor firewall 1 stars by WeissThon May 21, 2013 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Some time ago I had this but uninstalled after an update made it ask again and again each time a program used a new port or so without an option to set it to allowed other than going to settings. Then all settings were lost upon new updates to the program. Since the firewall I changed to (PC Tools') stopped being updated a while ago, I was looking for a new firewall and seeing nothing new and good, tried to check the new version of this. It's much worse. Second PC start I had to hard reboot it, as it made the system hang out and cursor movement was the only input working. Then it causes a big latency to connections and at one point the browser kept one minute and a half with the animation of waiting to contact the server, doing nothing, which stopped happening as soon I closed this firewall. So I'll remember to not waste my time with this ever again. show Review details
Highly recommended... 5 stars by macquee06189 Apr 24, 2013
It passed the GRC Shields up test! show Review details
A real firewall at last 4 stars by Nicholas Sep 01, 2012 (Read all my 61 reviews)
I'm using Private Firewall for several weeks now and I can say that I am impressed. The program is always there being alert and doing its job without bothering me with adds and nag screens and it also never begs for donations. At first it seems a bit overwhelming but after a while you can see the benefits of all the features. One remark: the GUI is sometimes puzzling and could be more helpful. Apart from that: Recommended. show Review details
Over rated 1 stars by jakestone1954878 Apr 29, 2012
Well for myself found this very over rated , done various leak tests and did not fair that well on Windows 7 , and it has a habit of crashing have seen various other reviews that have said the same PC Flank failed , commodo is far better , and on XP I have found PC Tools firewall to pass all. show Review details
Very good free firewall 4 stars by ianmacm Feb 25, 2012 (Read all my 174 reviews)
Privatefirewall gets the balance about right, as it is not too fussy, difficult to understand or set up for first timers. It is also light on system resources and generally unobtrusive. Recommended as a good starting point for someone who wants a free firewall. show Review details
Passes everything for me 5 stars by whiskeydence02205 Feb 22, 2012
...Passes everything for me. And If you trust the leak test you're being faked out. It passes 2 others and unlike GRC others aren't trying to sell ZA or any other firewall. Learn to set the damn settings and rerun the tests, this time use a PCflank then come back and tell us what you see. BY THE WAY, I run XP and out of all the others and that includes Zone Alarm, Comodo, Online Armor etc... Privatefirewall was the ONLY firewall to pass that god forsaken ECHO PING test. And I haven't seen enough in the DNS server tests from past tests to say where any of them are all that great in that area as well. Made computer clunky, it's junk. (GRC vs PCflank vs GRC product to prove bogus leak test YouTube) show Review details
Not that good 2 stars by Fuzzy54 Feb 11, 2012 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Well , I have tried this and tested it on Shields Up , and honestly was surprised just how much this failed the tests, I also Tested it on various other security sites and I was not at all Impressed , I understand that this is not the only way to test a Firewall but for me this Firewall is a NO NO , PC - Tools Firewall is much better but has probs with windows 7 and I know everyone knocks the Free ZoneAlarm now but for me it is still a good Firewall , much better than this in my opinion. show Review details
Very effective firewall 5 stars by Cavehomme Sep 16, 2011 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Provides complete firewall and HIPS protection. User friendly. However inexperienced users should avoid using powerful firewall such as this one or other similar ones and are better off using a total effective security such as Norton, Kaspersky or Avast. show Review details
Free top-class security 4 stars by yassertariq Jun 05, 2011 (Read all my 88 reviews)
It passed all the PC Flank tests. The training is a bit cumbersome, as it is with all the other firewalls. Coupled with my Eset NOD32, it's a great internet security tool. show Review details
One of the best! 5 stars by Action Mar 03, 2011
I've used them all and this one passed every test I tried on it. Free and very light weight on resources, but still very powerful and protective. It has a training mode that makes setup very easy. In my opinion this is one of the best out there. show Review details
Rock solid! 5 stars by asr431 Feb 28, 2011 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I have been using Privatefirewall for a month now on my laptop. Running Windows7, Duel Core, 4GB memory and it has run flawless with no issues at this point in time. Its interface is easy to understand for the novice and advanced user.It monitors processes and applications for changes and alerts you when to allow or not any changes. This firewall is one of the best freeware software's on the web today and getting better. show Review details
Private firewall crash 3 stars by judg3dr3d Dec 30, 2009
I like to try new things out as I build and repair PCs for friends and a lot of friends trust me in PC security and I wont say something good unless I give it a good run for a while before telling others to use it, at first this seemed a good secure program, then after a while when I tried running other apps or programs after pressing allow a few times a box pops up saying private firewall has stopped working , it would close itself down then basically you cannot get anything to work that needs internet approval, I would boot it back up then it would stop working again, I am using Vista Home Pro and no other firewall does this, so i think it still needs a bit of work doing to it. show Review details
Seems to do a good job 4 stars by Renzza Aug 23, 2009
Seems to do a good job, and is quite easy to use. After a short trial period I'm happy to continue using it. show Review details
Good firewall 5 stars by cvweis Jul 28, 2009 (Read all my 6 reviews)
My favorite software based firewall. Has all the features you would want in a proactive software based firewall. I use this on my work laptop when I travel. Works great and fairly easy to use. I have seen this product rebranded for other companies. Excellent product in my opinion and use. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

MessageExport for Outlo

MessageExport for Outlo convert emails to PDF and other formats