Cathy

Cathy User Reviews



5 stars80% 16
4 stars15% 3
3 stars5% 1
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 20 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 20 user reviews
Post your own review

Very fast 5 stars by shawndarichuk607 May 07, 2016 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Cathy is great for finding files on slow network drives located in other cities. This program is a must-have for any office job. show Review details
Cathy review 5 stars by gaugor745 Apr 11, 2016
Lightning fast, super useful, simple and easy ! show Review details
Fast as lightning 5 stars by Nicholas Feb 18, 2014 (Read all my 61 reviews)
Cathy catalogged my NAS (2 TB) and my external drive (1 TB) in a wink of an eye. Both media contain thousands of videos. To locate needles in these haystacks even less time is required. Cathy is just Perfect. show Review details
Excellent! but... 4 stars by 1xx561 Nov 27, 2012
There is no search inside zip archives. show Review details
Best indexer out there 3 stars by bananachicken804 Nov 04, 2012
It's a primitive product and i can't believe i still use it, if it wasn't for the simple fact that i haven't been able to find anything better. And also for the fact that it works and works incredibly well and incredibly quickly , in fact it's a staple for my 100,000 article and document library located on my NAS network drive. Absolutely great product. It simply indexes the file names of your documents and you can navigate to them quite easily as well as setup separate indexes if need be relatively easily show Review details
Great cataloging tool. 5 stars by Tweetson Mar 13, 2011 (Read all my 11 reviews)
I use it to catalog and list in a text file a folders subfolders and files. To see whats in a folder, double click it and it opens up to show its subfolders and files. Make a text file list of any subfolder. show Review details
Useful tool 5 stars by toshfox Feb 03, 2011
This little gem makes it easy to catalog several HDD's connected to your PC and searchable. Example: you search for a movie file from the screen and can launch the movie on the right click. I have tried to use this over the network so that I can access files on the desktop PC but had no luck even though the network is shown. Maybe my network settings but not sure. If I can get that working then by installing this in a Dropbox folder it would make an updatable network media launcher. Its still impressive. show Review details
Exactly the indexing desired 5 stars by noxusB Oct 05, 2009
I have been using this excellent software Cathy for the past 3 months. I am quite happy and satisfied with it. It is certainly the fastest among any indexer I have tried. However there are two suggestion I would like to make. 1. I have a problem seeing things which are very small. For some reason, the default font used in Cathy is too small for my comfort. Moreover I see no way to change it. As all of my fonts are of bigger size, so whenever I run Cathy I have to pore closer to the screen to see the results. I wish there was a way to change the font/font-size 2. This is not a very critical suggestion. I would like to see regular expressions supported in Cathy. But not if it impairs the speed or small footprint of Cathy. show Review details
Exactly what I was looking for! 5 stars by gimpguy Sep 20, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
Here I have been using another catalogdirectory printing freeware, the printing and saving saves right off the side of a doc so it's unreadable, been messing with it but it was decent and rated it high. However, wish I would have known about Cathy, this is EXACTLY what I was looking for, it prints how I wanted the other to print, archives quickly, and not just removable storage, ALL storage! This is awesome and I think the interface is fine too, not beautiful or anything but gets the job done. I have a lot of freeware in a Download folder, this printed it exactly how I wanted, DIR, then files under the DIR. The others either only printed the folder or every file under it, including the program files like gif, png, inf, all that, which I didn't want. So this is the ONE, thank you for Cathy! show Review details
If every software would be lik this.... 5 stars by arbory Mar 15, 2007
Small, fast, efficient, portable, free,... very useful, and very simple clever no install, just one file, and on file for each catalog show Review details
A excellent program 5 stars by KennethLF Dec 24, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
A really nice program. I have been using it for about 3 years now and highly recommend it. show Review details
Excellent tool! 5 stars by Predrag Nov 13, 2006
I' ve been using this tool for years and I hardly can imagine life without it. Price/value ratio is really beyond excellent. This is my first recommendation on this site. show Review details
Hands-down, the best cataloger there is 5 stars by pepoluan Sep 25, 2006 (Read all my 23 reviews)
I've been using many catalogers, and most of them are behemoths, consuming space, and running slow. Not Cathy. Cataloging one CD is extremely fast: Disc spins up, Disc spins down, Disc ejects. Done. Less than 10 seconds. Searches? Happen in a blink, even through around 50 CD's. What's more beautiful, it does not need to be installed; I copied Cathy and its database files into my flash drive, and now I can search my catalogs anywhere I'm at! Granted, the interface is not schnitzy, but it is a straightforward frontend to a blazingly fast database (and cataloger) engine. After some time, you'll get used to it, and you'll appreciate its simplicity. And you definitely can't beat the price! show Review details
A winner! 5 stars by TerryP Aug 19, 2006 (Read all my 87 reviews)
I have used VisualCD for many years, but it tends to lock up so I tried Cathy after reading some of the reviews. This is only a 45kB download. It is super fast, accurate, stable, and uses little system resources. Let me emphasize this again - this is fast! Finally, like it's already been mentioned, the interface is not as pretty as other catalogers, but it still gets a 5 overall for simplicity, speed, and size. show Review details
Super fast, reliable! 5 stars by catmaster Jan 19, 2006 (Read all my 18 reviews)
Interface takes a few minutes to get used to, but once you're onto it it's simple. When you see how quickly it catalogs a full DVD stuffed with files, you just won't believe it! It catalogs everything perfectly, and searching is lightening fast too. In the past I've tried other cataloging software that locked up, had annoying limitations, was too confusing or rather slow. Cathy has none of those issues. It's tiny on the hard drive, reliable, free, and super fast. This makes a super winner in my book. It's one I use and I think you will too. Try it, you'll like it!!!! show Review details
Must have for every network administrator 5 stars by ELB-MIKE Dec 12, 2005
I use it since a year or 5. Cannot imagine how to do my job without it. I use it in conjunction with CathyCMD to index 100 thousands of file. The result? Name a file (or partial, or other file characteristics) and I'll find it within seconds, no matter what. An (almost) complete solution within an incredible tiny 50K and without the need of installation; thus very portable. Indeed, very very good!! And I'm not sponsored! With regards, Michel K. show Review details
Can't beat it 4 stars by Mountfitchett Nov 07, 2005
OK, it's basic but it's fast and does exactly what it should. It'd be nice if it could womble through the entire disk looking for pattern matches and catalogue them but, hey, for free this program is tops show Review details
2 extra functions which are very handy 5 stars by Ronbur Oct 18, 2005 (Read all my 19 reviews)
2 extra functions which are very handy and can't be found in many paid for Progs: 1) Cathy can make excellent Directory List(important for making inventory of your CDs with Progs),which can be easily transferred into Excel.Before, after trying 5-6 Progs,I found that only DriveZ could do this job. 2) Ability to sort Columns by clicking on their headers as well as using different colours for Folders and Files and show them in two separated groups allows you to read search result easily. It would be nice if Prog can arrange Catalogs in different groups not to mix Progs' CD with Music. I have to confess that I downloaded Cathy a year ago,looked at its interface and removed as I thought that it's too old for XP.What a mistake!Now I'm switching to Cathy from my commercial Prog. show Review details
Getit easy 5 stars by squizfr Oct 15, 2005
Small, efficient,intelligent,CATHY is a relly good alternative to any pay ware... check it it's a must show Review details
Cathy is an excellent tool for your use 4 stars by garycrunk Jun 21, 2005
When I first used Cathy... It was strange getting used to. Some things 'could' be done differently to be more user friendly. However, once you 'get used to' the interface and how to operate the software, you will be Amazed as to how FAST and EFFICIENT this software is! For such a small program, it does what it claims. I Cataloged more than 5 Years worth of Newspaper Production Backup (All on CD). Because I have to locate Ads that were placed in the paper from Years Ago and we never know exactly when the ad ran... Well, I can now type in a quick search and BOOM.... I have a snapshot of when they ran and what CD their old ad is on. It's FAST.... Efficient and a program I will recommend to ANYONE that has a lot of CD's and needs to have a better way of "Finding" something. Excellent Program. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders