Bulk Rename Utility

Bulk Rename Utility User Reviews



5 stars61% 11
4 stars33% 6
3 stars5% 1
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 18 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 18 user reviews
Post your own review

Outstanding 5 stars by gorrill6347 Mar 16, 2013
I've been using this product for more than ten years. There are times when I have to change more than a hundred files in a group. With this program, it makes the work a whole lot easier than doing it one by one. show Review details
Great 5 stars by gimpguy Aug 02, 2011 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
It's not for the weak of heart at first glance but this is probably the most powerful rename utility out there. Definitely a keeper and I don't know how I passed this one but I have it now and intend to keep it. Great work on this one author! show Review details
To all who reviewed this app shallowly 5 stars by doublet Aug 01, 2011
BRU is an excellent application; I've been using it for years, have also tried many others free or paid-for renamers, none rose to BRU's effectiveness. My very best wishes to Jim Willsher. show Review details
This program really helped me! 4 stars by Reviever09 Jan 24, 2009
I downloaded an antivirus program to scan my files and see weather they were infected. So, the shit software renamed 3000 mp3 songs (added .vir to the end) and without this software, I would have to manually rename 3000 files. This software rocks! show Review details
Wow 5 stars by mikemac4344 Dec 27, 2008 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I can't add much to the other reviews listed. The interface is intimidating at first with a zillion options but a little patience pays off big time. Each option is numbered and the changes are made in that order. I'm not aware of any other program that can match this in sheer power and flexibility. A preview window shows you what the new file names will be -- very nice. I've used the program for better than a year and I can't complain about a thing. show Review details
Really nice. 4 stars by brothergabriel Apr 01, 2008 (Read all my 18 reviews)
This program is a dandy. At first sight, however, it is overly complicated and confusing with too many boxes and fields. But once you get used to that and realize what is going on, you see just how *powerful* that program is! I love it. Thanks a bushel! show Review details
Power and ease 5 stars by DanPhilpott Jan 18, 2008
Very powerful rename utility. Multiple rename features in a simple to understand interface. Each rename function (Numbering, RegEx, AutoDate, Add Folder Name, etc.) is numbered and are applied to the file names in that order. All rules are displayed on single interface, reducing chances of mistakes. RegEx feature is most powerful feature. Can import Exif image information for file renames (i.e. add dates to pictures). Unicode version handles non-English languages flawlessly. I've used this package at least a few times a week for years. No other file rename utility compares to the combination of power and ease of use in this utility. show Review details
I can't fault this program! 5 stars by BurningRopeCom Oct 29, 2007 (Read all my 13 reviews)
This program is a great bit of work. Whatever batch rename task you need to do this will do the job - from simply removing one word or first few characters to removing the whole filename and replacing it with date and sequence numbering. The interface looks daunting at first glance, but don't be put off - it is far easier to use then it looks and is VERY powerful. My most common use is to feed it a folder full of photos which it can then convert into date and suffix order. Once you have setup a format you can even save the settings and reload them next time. Download this program and give it a try, you won't be disappointed! show Review details
Excellent! 5 stars by Proper Jan 16, 2007
This was a lifesaver! I had 2000 files, with many different extensions. This application allowed me to select easily the ones with no extension and add one. I suggest creating a test folder if you're not a heavy computer person, and try it there. Also features a very nice preview mode that allows you to see exactly what sort of changes you make so you do not do something wrong. I spent only 2-3 minutes learning the interface by reading the help file. show Review details
Saves my bacon lots of times 4 stars by pepoluan Oct 16, 2006 (Read all my 23 reviews)
I used to use arcane command line scripts to do some exotic renaming procedures... usually with disastrous first results, necessitating me to always backup the files first before doing it. With BRU, no more. I can easily see a 'preview' of how the result will be. I can easily choose which files to rename and which to leave as it is. And the renaming rules... really powerful! I've done many many kinds of exotic renaming procedures... nothing that can't be done by BRU. It's so powerful it might get classified as mass-destruction weaponry :-) ... there's a downside, of course. The interface may be confusing at first. Just tweak around (and read the very good Help), and you'll get the hang of it. Soon enough you'll start to wonder how in the world could you live without BRU before. show Review details
Nice tool - does the job 5 stars by kbond007 Sep 18, 2006
This is a very nice tool which does the job exactly I wanted. show Review details
Correction to review by homeflash 3 stars by jimwillsher Jul 05, 2006
Homeflash has reviewed this incorrectly. The software works perfectly with other languages, he/she just needs to download the Unicode version. The software correctly handles and processes Unicode. show Review details
Not working for other language files 4 stars by homeflash Apr 29, 2006 (Read all my 15 reviews)
If you have language other than English, it will not work. I have some chinese coding files and when it shows, it will show ????filename. I tried to rename or cut the ? out, but keep getting error. That means.. this utility will not work other language file. show Review details
Easy to use and does it all... 5 stars by VaranidMan Mar 06, 2006
This is a great little utility...for those of you who say the interface is a little clunky, I would recommend just grabbing a few files, select them with the utility, and just start clicking on the stuff to see what it does. The filenames change in real time, so it's easy to see what program actually does to the filename. Overall this is a great program and saved me lots of time! Thanks! show Review details
Highly recommended.. 5 stars by Ghost_grey Feb 21, 2006 (Read all my 56 reviews)
This is great, while it takes a little while to figure out because its so expansive, but once you've figured it out, you'll be amazed like i was, and it's much much better than windows file rename, because BRU can remove/change for example extensions of files, while preserving there files names, windows does not, BRU has mass renaming and is easily configurable, and very powerful for what it does, another must have, it's very useful. show Review details
Easy to use. 5 stars by preatomiccow Feb 05, 2006
After taking a couple of minutes to review the interface, it is easy to use for its intended purpose. show Review details
Very useful 4 stars by hayesjoe Jan 19, 2006
This is a great tool to make up for the lack of a way to rename many files in Windows or DOS. Takes a minute to figure out the interface but when you do the POWER really starts to show through. Thanks for this tool. Joe show Review details
Good work 4 stars by efthymios Dec 16, 2005
Very good work. Just in time as we needed to rename 360 files. Nice and user friendly. Thanks a lot show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring