MP3Gain

MP3Gain User Reviews



5 stars71% 10
4 stars28% 4
3 stars0% 0
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 14 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 14 user reviews
Post your own review

Great product to lower mp3 volumes in batch 5 stars by gaiusgracchus33140 Jun 25, 2016
I needed something to lower the volume on a large number of Mp3 files. I had trouble getting Audacity to do it - it seemed to only do some of the files in a given directory or collection. Furthermore it only was able to do edits by converting to wav files first then back to mp3 (!!!!??) Then I tried the Sobolsoft volume program and it puffed the size of my mp3 files to almost twice the original! So the MP3Gain was the best option by far. Not only does it not increase file sizes, it will do the edits without having to do any conversions to intermediate wave files. At first I was confused about how to get it to lower the volume below the target of 75db. So that is the only pain - that you have to work around this limit. How I did it: Select 'Add folder' (note it will edit your files IN PLACE) Change "Target 'Normal' Value" to 75 (it won't go lower) Click 'Track Analysis' (will test all in folder - takes a while if lots of files - skip the following step if your volumes are already less than 75) Click 'Album Gain' (should be one of the icons on top - makes all in folder 75 Click 'Modify Gain', then 'Constant Gain' Set slider to lowest amount (on mine this was -12db) Click the down arrow by 'Track Gain' and make it be 'Constant Gain' Click 'Constant Gain' (changes all tracks to -12db) Keep doing the constant gain edit until you get volumes as low as you want. show Review details
Simple and easy to use 5 stars by shawndarichuk607 May 07, 2016 (Read all my 6 reviews)
The interface couldn't be simpler. Click to scan files. Click to normalize files. Done. show Review details
Still the best after all these years... 5 stars by mikesantana Dec 09, 2015 (Read all my 25 reviews)
First used this when I was on Win ME, now on Win 10! Works ONLY on MP3s, because what it actually does is change media playback settings in the MP3 file headers. It does NOT touch the actual music content at all. So it can always return to the initial default with no harm done. Its main use (and what I want) is to make any motley collection of music tracks all sound about the same loudness to the human ear. Once it has analyzed the tracks, it records the current (default) settings in the file headers, and lists them - this never needs to be done again. It tells you whether that level "clips" the sound peaks (happens a lot on old recordings), and whether the target normalized level will "clip". So you can choose a target level which will preserve the sound quality of all tracks (no clipping), let some clip (will cause odd distortion), or set it to keep peaky tracks below clip level - I choose this usually, choosing a target level so that few if any tracks will be affected. All this is easy to discover from the display, with a little trial-and-error. So my car's MP3 player collection currently includes music from Free, Queen, B.B. King, Everly's, Motorhead, Abba, Cream, Buddy Holly, Santana, Pink Floyd, Miles Davis and Mozart - among others! All very listenable... Much easier to use than it sounds - try it! show Review details
Consider it done 5 stars by gimpguy Jul 27, 2012 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
Mp3Gain did a wonderful job on some radio tunes I have recorded and now they all sound great. Some had up and down loudness, etc... and this actually equalized them and you can't even tell now. If there are other distortions or such that this won't fix, just use Audacity. The two combined create a powerful music fix. Great work. show Review details
Works well and is free 5 stars by whimchaser Dec 04, 2010
Mp3gain is easy to use, works well and is free. Whats not to like? show Review details
Excellent 4 stars by Braulio Nov 12, 2010 (Read all my 7 reviews)
I used to adjust the vol just with my ear, song by song.. those days are gone! I'm using this program mainly for VERY OLD songs and the result is great. No mistakes! Recommended. show Review details
Exelent 5 stars by DeadHead Nov 21, 2009 (Read all my 3 reviews)
It adjusts the volume fast and easy, and it has never made any mistakes for me when it comes to calculate gain for any source files. Works excellent in combination with Audiobook Cutter pro and Renamer. show Review details
Small and effective 5 stars by Rustyboy Sep 06, 2009 (Read all my 33 reviews)
Mp3gain is great for "normalizing" your various mp3 files which, if sourced differently, will have the volume levels all over the joint. Choose the folder that holds your mp3s and press the "Track Gain" button. Then you can sit back while mp3gain sets the volume levels to a default around 89 (adjustable if you choose, but I find the default to be the best setting). It's amazing how many mp3s have settings that are way too high. mp3gain recurses sub folders, too, so once you choose the main folder all songs in folders within that one will have their volume normalized. Get it, you won't regret it. show Review details
Now we're rock'in ! 5 stars by leucippus Jul 02, 2007 (Read all my 18 reviews)
When I rip radio streams, sometimes the decibel level isn't the same for every song. Just place the mp3's into this program, set your desired db level, and press go. No more fiddling with the volume control. Thanks a mill! BTW...If you get a "MSCOMCTL.OCX" error when installing, just be sure and get the "Full" version (about 2 mb's). show Review details
Works well most of the time 4 stars by pcs800 Feb 05, 2007 (Read all my 222 reviews)
I have been using this one for a couple of years now, it works well and works well with huge batch jobs, accept once in a while there will be an mp3 that it cannot work with for some reason. Also, I have noticed it sometimes leaves small "blips" in the resulting normalized audio file. Slightly destructive but good as long as you do not run it on the same file multiple times. My preference is to use the real time normalizer in my jukebox pc's sound card, it is basically a software compression unit. show Review details
Wow! unbelieveable, get it now! 5 stars by tomcat Feb 18, 2006 (Read all my 16 reviews)
It was a breeze to install. Very simple to use. I had one issue I was unclear on and the Author, Mr. Glen Sawyer returned my email within minutes and straightened the problem out. I am using DB Poweramp (The Best) and some files were loud and some faint, (a common download issue/different bitrates, etc..) but with this and a test of over forty songs, I can assure you that this program keeps ALL songs at the perfect volume or can be modified individually, great when you have certain songs that just have to be rockin' loud! Absolutely beautiful and WELL worth a donation. I don't normally give good reviews, as you can see from viewing my review history, but this product just warrants it. Get it now! You won't regret it! show Review details
Excellent software ! 5 stars by Pramod Jan 08, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
After trying out so many normalizers, I had to finally settle with this. No much difference while compared with others but I noticed that this works very fast with a large list of files which I often work with !! Great App show Review details
Can't beat it! 4 stars by Bighugs Sep 26, 2005 (Read all my 6 reviews)
What can be said about MP3gain? Alot! It's Fast, easy, small in stature, and efficient. Oh, did I forget good quality? It is in my opinion the best stand alone normalizer I've found. Should be sold, but I'm glad it's free!!! :o) show Review details
High quality, effective and simple! 4 stars by goldeng8 Jul 15, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
It does what is says. It is reversible without loss, and the effect is worth the extra step in managing your music files. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

CardRecovery

CardRecovery recover images from memory cards

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring