Maxthon User Reviews

5 stars62% 22
4 stars22% 8
3 stars5% 2
2 stars8% 3
1 star0% 0
Based on 35 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 35 user reviews
Post your own review

A tried and true in my experience 4 stars by royw2307 Mar 14, 2015 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I used it in W98 SE long ago and loved it. I installed (and used) it in friend's XP SP 3 OS and it was/is outstanding. My friend said "Leave that In here"! Going to install it in my (this) W 7 OS. show Review details
One-stop browser 5 stars by nemo100 Aug 22, 2013
Been using Firefox, Chrome, IE and Safari for years, then decided to try something new. Tried Maxthon, and after a couple of days, got to admit that I like it. It is a one-stop browser, with tons of features. One of them, that I love so much, is "Reader Mode" which makes reading article on the internet fun again. Try it yourself, play for couple of days, and see how good Maxthon is. show Review details
Best browser I've ever used 5 stars by freeclick Mar 16, 2012 (Read all my 32 reviews)
This browser is the best ever, fast, the features are just right, could not get much better. Thanks for this one!!! show Review details
Better than the rest 5 stars by thapkaew739 Feb 18, 2012
I have been using Maxthon for years. It is one of the best browsers around. The fact that it not bloated with unnecessary add-ons is actually a plus. The speed is fast for all purposes. I have recommended it to friends and they are all satisfied. show Review details
Maxthon is excellent 5 stars by babam86 Feb 04, 2012 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Waow...Excellent. Maxthon is better than Firefox,Google Chrome, Opera, Safari and others. Try it and see. show Review details
Great IE alternative 4 stars by Oz_151 Jan 31, 2012 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I've used this browser on and off for sometime now.. If your looking for something different give it a try.. I've always had good luck with it. show Review details
Surprisingly fast 4 stars by madmik Jun 10, 2011 (Read all my 32 reviews)
One of the engines is Webkit,same as Google,so little wonder its exceedingly nimble.Only let down for me is the fact there are virtually no extensions available,such as Speed Dial,Desk Cuts.This does make some serious browsing difficult and means a Firefox user has to adopt to a different style of work.However for a user who just wants an excellent basic browser,with most essentials built in,Maxthon would be hard to beat. show Review details
Simply amazing! 5 stars by desertjon Feb 21, 2011 (Read all my 18 reviews)
Better and faster than any browser I've used..I am impressed with the speed and interface..Goodbye IE and Mozilla..No looking back here show Review details
Best browser on the planet 5 stars by rkoyle Jun 08, 2010 (Read all my 12 reviews)
I deleted my raving review from 04 just to add another because this software is soooo good. I've used it since their first release. The 2.5 release is polished and stable. No other browser will touch this. Things like mouse gestures that actually work, saving tab groups, super-drag-drop a must have, searchbox, highlighting. If I need to browse and can't use Maxthon. I won't. IE is 200 years behind this product. Please, please, please don't sell out to MS. I've been in software for 25 years. This is the most useful software I've ever used, although Copernic and Quicken come close. Too much power for knuckleheads though. If you're a knucklehead, use IE. Thats what its made for. But if you can handle 25-50 tabs and feel at home. YOU WANT THIS BROWSER. And performance - who cares. I'll put this against any browser. Uses a bit more memory than some maybe, but again, who cares. show Review details
My pick for an IE shell. 4 stars by Mike132 Nov 21, 2009 (Read all my 18 reviews)
I used this shell for IE for a few years now. It has good features and seems very stable. It's another good alternative to strictly IE. I'd would recommend you give it a try. show Review details
Really nice 4 stars by gimpguy Oct 04, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
I had a few issues the first being it refused to import my bookmarks from IE or Firefox. Tried everything. It wasn't as fast at downloading for whatever reason and Firefox opened faster, downloaded faster, loaded pages faster. Not as in "left Maxthon in the dust" or anything but could tell the difference. Also, when trying to view many themes, many were in Japanese or Chinese, which I have no issue with but would help to have multi-lingual titles at least. Maxthon kept going back to it's own page even though I set it to Google for my home page. After the 3rd or 4th restart, it finally stuck. So I had a few things that turned me off to this browser, HOWEVER, it has now become my second fav browser under FireFox. I always thought Opera or Flock would take that lead but not this time. Still and excellent browser! I still recommend it highly! show Review details
You'll love it! 5 stars by JMMannion Jan 21, 2008 (Read all my 25 reviews)
I have tried most all the browsers and browser skins and this is the best in my opinion. The tabs are absolutely great, updates come regularly and it is just a nice experience. So smooth you'll take it for granted which is as it should be. show Review details
The best shell for IE 5 stars by legion1978 Jun 24, 2007 (Read all my 18 reviews)
This is the one of choice, specially because of the plugin thing. it is not just for us designers (they have lots of tools) and power users but for anyone! They have neat things ready to use and real fun. I dont think youd go lookin any further. (except of course for Ipera die hard fans ;) ) show Review details
I use maxthon for 3 years 5 stars by SerkanBerksoy Nov 15, 2006
Maxthon was MyIE at first. I think its one of the first large release of multi tabbed IE browsers. I tried all alternatives, both embedded IE and not. When you really try Maxthon for a while you happen to be willing your luxuries with the others you try. Make it your default and give it a go. Also get used to mouse gestures from day 1. I strongly recommend. show Review details
First program redownloaded 4 stars by kimbakicks Oct 30, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
After 3 1/2 yrs of use on this computer finally got it reformatted. And the first freeware program put back on, Maxthon. Have used this program for over 2 yrs, love mouse gestures different skins and options available. Only problem a while ago for few months started using 100% cpu. This has not happened again. show Review details
Maxthon have problems last time 3 stars by doczvi Sep 05, 2006
I'm a long time Maxthon user, in generally i like to use it. Lamentably , last time the interface took all CPU usage or stuck. I wrote to Maxthon support team twice but didn't get any answer. At that moment and to save my PC i stop and uninstall this feature. show Review details
My new favorite browser 5 stars by slehan Jun 02, 2006
I like to use a tabbed browser and have the ability to open several sites at once. I want a browser that RoboForm interfaces well with since I can't do without it. Maxthon does everything I want it to and does it very fast. I still have several things to learn about it but those are just "nice to have" things. I've been using it for a week now and it does what I want it to and does it quickly. Popup blocker and Ad blocker work well. It also has a "utilities" menu that lets you have quick links to other programs. Very good browser. show Review details
Best browser 5 stars by Djc674 May 24, 2006
This is truly an excellent piece of software. After first installing I quickly found Maxthon to be considerably faster than both Mozilla and Internet Explorer for loading web pages on a (pretty low spec) laptop. The features listed all work well and are very easy to use. I am recommending this to all my friends. show Review details
Excellent - but there are competitors 5 stars by TerryP Apr 07, 2006 (Read all my 87 reviews)
A good tabbed browser using the IE engine. Other similar browsers are Avant, Crazy Browser, and Slim Browser. Most of these are similar in function, but Maxthon has something the others don't - the ability to open links by dragging them with the mouse. I use this feature on a regular basis and find it very handy. show Review details
Heavy metal 5 stars by Geminate Apr 01, 2006 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Interface lightweights need not apply. This is the best browser for advanced users who like control and hate others to make decisions for them. Yeah it's so good Microsoft is buying Maxthon and has no interest in purchasing any other browser. It's free, but is it worth buying it. Airheads stick to your Firefox. show Review details
Excellent !!!!!! 5 stars by Fortra Dec 28, 2005 (Read all my 11 reviews)
I have tried other browsers IE6,Firefox,Avant. But this one in my opinion takes the GOLD cup it's the BEST featured browser that I've used in ages. show Review details
Great! 5 stars by Lionschild Dec 20, 2005
What a great browser. I like it as much as firefox, and I usually split my time between the two. It has everything I need and then some. show Review details
Maxthon's the best! 5 stars by woodbutcher Dec 06, 2005
Have used many browsers over the years, IE6, Avant, Netscape, Firefox, etc., and in my opinion Maxthon beats them all. Firefox is a close second, but Firefox uses a lot of resources. Open several tabs in Firefox, then check out Task Manager to see the resources it uses. Maxthon uses very little resources and has great bells and whistles (maybe a few too many). It is very stable and compatible with most websites. As far as security, no browser is invincible. If one has a good antivirus program, antispyware program, and a good firewall, one browser is about as safe as another. I'm sure, with the ingenuity of the author, Maxthon will be the browser all others will have to contend with in the future. show Review details
Ie on steroids 5 stars by jimdoss Nov 18, 2005
I couldn't get the hang of Firefox. I've been using Maxthon for a couple of years and find it very intuitive. Tabbed browsing works great. Being able to drag a link and have it open on a new tab is great - the biggest reason I use it, actually. Lots of little extras make the program extra special. Mushy, mushy. show Review details
Maxthon 4 stars by glengreaves Oct 17, 2005
Apart from the short delays which hampers performance and the default vanilla settings, its is a very good program. Still nothing beats FireFox or its tab browsing. The location of the Options Menu threw me a few times as it is under Tools menu in IE. Keep up the good work. show Review details
Maxthon beats them all. 5 stars by ZenWarrior Oct 06, 2005 (Read all my 13 reviews)
I have used Maxthon, [..], and [..] extensively. For ease of use, and believe it or not--security, Maxthon beats them all. Security, you say? I've used Maxthon for as long as I can remember. Scans of my system always came back perfectly clean. Deciding to use [..] for a day, simply for a change of scenery, I scanned afterward and found the first malware ever on my computer. Feel free to go with the hype, but I trust my computer only to Maxthon. And, it's nice to have a browser that works right "out of the box" instead of having to add countless plug-ins, as one must with either [..] or [..], to equal Maxthon's functionality. And, all those plug-in needed for [..] or [..] invariably present problems, with users saying to remove them if you wish to avoid such problems. Nope, doesn't make sense when Maxthon hits the ground running. I worship no browser; I simply use the best available. show Review details
It really is the best! 5 stars by anthrorob Oct 04, 2005
I have tried about every browser out there is this is simply the best. Installing optional plug ins is a snap. Installing skins is a snap. It is highly secure (more so than any other browser I have tried a lot (FF, Opera, IE, NN, etc.) Tabbed browsing, done right! Built in mouse gestures. What is equally impressive is the sheer amount of possibilities to tailor it the way you want it. The most amazing thing is the fantastic support base for this browser. The forums have the most incredible admins and members who can answer virtually any question. I have been impressed with how quick my questions have been answered (sometimes in a couple minutes.) Give it a try. Really give it a try. After a few minutes of browsing, you will be hooked. It is so jam-packed that I was still discovering functions I didn't know about until a year later. And it has a pretty small footprint too (smaller than IE.) show Review details
For ie base, good 3 stars by magnuspark Sep 17, 2005 (Read all my 9 reviews)
Still has the flaws of freezing screen when pc is busy, many others dont do this, give this a month trial, then uninstalled. IE based is not welcome. show Review details
Encumbering interface 2 stars by msahir Aug 07, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
The first time i tried maxthon browser, it looked enough featured to be competitive to Firefox, not really, i nearly dont use any of these useless features, it's just over stuffed. show Review details
Agree with last reviewer not to follow hype 2 stars by zeeLaz Aug 05, 2005 (Read all my 20 reviews)
I wasn't hyped up about Firefox either when it came out, because I knew, that it's just a matter of time for them to start dealing with security. that's exactly what's happening now. I'm using IE since 1997, after one year with Netscape. What I want to say is not to rely on a browser for security. It's you and nobody else who can protect your own computer. So, my advise is to read and research here and what to use to for best protection. I use: AdAware,SpyBot S&D, Spyware Doctor, Spyware Blaster,Mycrosoft AntiSpyware, Symantec SystemWorks,WinPatrol, CCleaner...and more. show Review details
Maxthon takes the lead 5 stars by spreland Aug 04, 2005 (Read all my 8 reviews)
As the browser war continue, I continue to change browsers and my ratings. Maxthon currently offers the most features with the most options for layouts. It also has over 100 skins that are easily installed. I've tried them all (Avant, Firefox, Slimbrowser, etc.) Maxthon is currently #1. More options and flexibility than Avant and Firefox (both of which are also excellent browsers). If your main priority is "security", using Firefox may be safer or it may not be. If you have a good virus protection installed along with Spyware Blaster this is not a concern. I havn't had any problems in 10 years. Anyone claiming that they use Firefox because it is "SAFE" or "SAFER" really don't know what they are talking about. If I switch to Firefox it will be due to the options, flexibility, etc. Not from following the sheep who believe it is "SAFE" or "SAFER". show Review details
Wow..just like an xp browser.. 5 stars by darkheart Aug 04, 2005
..Loved this browser as I am looking to create an XP look-alike system as I am currently running a Windows Millennium. I'm getting VERY bored with the standard black-and-white look with this old Windows style, call me sad, but I've been hunting high and low for a browser that mimicked XP's style from what I've seen so far..and it looks as though I've found it at last. Funny, it's got the same name as my pet dog. I've found the tabs SLIGHTLY annoying, as when they open the browser doesn't automatically take to the next page you've selected, you have to do that yourself, but otherwise, nice colouring, very easy to use once you get the hang of the menus..and not too many buttons to get used to or ones you're not gonna use, that you cant remove that confuse you. That's what I've found with Advanced browser. show Review details
Not as good as firefox 2 stars by driedwater Aug 02, 2005
Firefox is a much better browser in my opinion. With Maxthon it is still exposed to I.E's lack of security. With Firefox you can add a lot more neat extensions.. with Stumble Upon being one of my favorites and also a built in dictionary. Maxthon to my knowledge lack some of these features i am so used to. show Review details
Maxthon goes everywhere and does it in style. 5 stars by pascal333 Jul 31, 2005
I have been using Maxthon (formerly MyIE) for a couple of years now. I have tried FF, Opera, and all the other new browsers. FF is nice but quit running on my laptop and refuses to run again. I have never had any problem with Maxthon and it has most of the features of FF, though the interface not quite as pretty (though it is as functional). I like it a lot. It has the advantage over FF that it runs most of the add-ons designed for IE, and appears to web sites to be IE, which means that when you get to one of those sites that says you have to have IE 5 or greater, you are just fine. show Review details
Good - but not the best 4 stars by Madman Jul 06, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
On a positive note, Maxthon has many useful features and is ready to run right out of the box. I like it's ad blocking capabilities and its automatic sliding sidebar. It renders some pages correctly that Firefox cannot. I like using it for downloading Microsoft's security updates. However, it has many features I don't need. I prefer customizing from the ground up. I don't like the way the tabs work. It uses IE's engine, so shares the same vulnerabilities as IE. Even so, it still renders some pages incorrectly that IE renders correctly (e.g., It is slower than IE or Firefox. Its interface is a bit more complicated and busy than Firefox's interface (although the features are excellent). The extensions are not as numerous or as well-designed as the extensions for Firefox. For security, speed, customizability (is that a word?), and simplicity of layout go with Firefox. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software

CopyTrans Manager

CopyTrans Manager manage your iPod without iTunes


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers


CintaNotes take and manage notes

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring