Star Downloader Free

Star Downloader Free User Reviews



5 stars60% 6
4 stars20% 2
3 stars0% 0
2 stars10% 1
1 star10% 1
Based on 10 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 10 user reviews
Post your own review

New review, or not 2 stars by gimpguy Aug 09, 2011 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
As always, I like to re-try software, giving a second chance after a while and it's been a few years on this one. Looking for download managers, I decided to give this one a try yet again. I am in a new home, new location, new internet, nothing connected to my prior review which wasn't very good. I installed this thinking something may have changed, I was wrong. I tested it against FDM, and IE browser, Firefox browser, I am once again convinced this does nothing but slow down your connection. At exactly 14 mb into the download, FDM stated 1 hr 12 min left, Firefox stated 1 hr 20 min, IE 1 hour 23 min... Star Downloader? 2 hrs 15 min and fluctuating, down to 2 hrs 14 to 2 hrs 23, and basically bouncing in and out. I have come to the conclusion this make it look good, makes it look like it's downloading fast with the simultaneous downloads window but the same problem as last time, it actually takes longer. So I still give this a 2 star, it's not the most intuitive manager, nor is it a fast downloader compared to others. There has been no proof to me that this actually does what it says, until then, I will stay away from it. show Review details
Amazingly fast.. saved a lot of time. 5 stars by dancar Dec 25, 2010
I was having a terrible time downloading a large application I had recently purchased.. it was 596 MB large and scheduled to take 3 or more hours. I had been downloading and left my PC. I had been downloading for about an hour only to return to find that my computer had went into sleep mode.. I had forgotten to change my power config. So, ok, I had to start all over. I began to download noticing that the download was even going to go slower, for some reason, this time. I stopped the download and search for a download application. I downloaded and installed Star Downloader free and my download was complete in around 30 minutes. What a great result!! It was easy to use.. took only moments to figure how to use. I'm impressed. So far this is my first download with this app, but be sure, I'm going to investigate more to find out the full usage of this software. show Review details
I always choose Star Downloader 4 stars by lokiasan May 17, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I always choose the Star Downloader Free Edition as my default Internet Download Manager. One of the reason is the blazing speed on download and easy to use. Not like other internet download manager, so many ads and some other pop-up windows and question. Other features are, automatically resume download, scheduling, and hang-up connection when finish. Yes, I like it much more than other download manager. show Review details
Easy to use 4 stars by Rustyboy Jun 29, 2008 (Read all my 33 reviews)
I have tried other downloaders and while they are good, they tend to be overkill for my needs. Star Downloader allows me to schedule download times and has a "download basket", a dropbox icon on the desktop that accepts dropped links. These are the two major features in my opinion and along with blistering download speeds, makes Star Downloader a great program. The only downside is that the interface is a bit plain Jane. show Review details
Excellent downloader. 5 stars by yassertariq Sep 01, 2007 (Read all my 88 reviews)
This is my very first download-manager. I upgraded to the Pro version (version 1.52 which also has a leecher) and have been using it ever since. I think almost three years have passed and it is still my default download-manager. It also has a built-in unzipping feature. The only two drawbacks I feel it has is that it supports just two protocols (HTTP and FTP) and that there is no automatic shutdown after the completion of a download session. show Review details
Best free downloader ever 5 stars by online10x Apr 10, 2006
This is a very excellent downloader, interface is easy and never have trouble with the software or with down loading from websites, I use it as a default down loader for my window xp base computer. I been using this star downloader and test it since it been around. no spyware or adware. I would not pay for those other software downloaders that I tried. This is the one and only downloader of all. show Review details
Don't use this awful program 1 stars by picleo Dec 30, 2005
This is without doubt the biggest pile of c**p I've used in a while. I'm a dab hand at computers and have been using PC's in excess of 20 years. I wished to use a download manager and installed this "DUNG BALL". It's fine for the odd straightforward download but give it anything complex and it goes T*TS up. Use Download [...] - a far superior piece of software show Review details
So far the best 5 stars by Gumdrop Dec 06, 2005
I've tried a couple of download managers and this one by far is the best! Commercial or otherwise .....this one a Keeper. show Review details
Star downloader #1 a+++ 5 stars by IronSpring Sep 25, 2005 (Read all my 5 reviews)
I have been on a quest for years trying to find the best downloader. I have bought several only to find out later that the program was not as good as I thought. Most software developers only give you a 15 day trial these days and that is just not enough to fully test the software. I have fund bugs in the software after buying it and that kinda makes you very angry as no refund is available after purchase. Now.. I have been using Star Free Downloader for a year now and have had no problems with the software at all. It does what it says and preforms without flaw. Speed of downloading is unmatched by any other.. Believe me I have tried them all.. I have enjoyed using this software so much I am buying the Pro upgrade version. If you want a GREAT downloader package this software is for you! 1 out of 10 this software rates a 10++.. Nice work guys and a AWESOME downloader.. The fact that you can disable browser integration just by unchecking the tray icon activation is enough by itself!! show Review details
Wow! 5 stars by Penguin Jul 08, 2005 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I am stunned at how quickly I can download things using this program. So far everything I've downloaded had been instantaneous, including the automatic unzipping of zipped files. Unbelievable. This program is a must! show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders