icon

Audacity user reviews

5 stars75% 28
4 stars16% 6
3 stars0% 0
2 stars2% 1
1 star5% 2
Based on 37 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 37 user reviews Post your own review

This is a very nice tool to edit flac files 5 stars by leewmeister Sep 27, 2013 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I needed to trim a few FLAC files to fit an album onto a single CD. Audacity did the job very nicely. Controls are fairly intuitive. I was able to easily cut lead in and lead out material from several tracks. The fade in and out effects made the cuts appear seamless. Although haven't used it for anything else, Audacity is a feature packed piece of software and should allow for some fancy audio editing for those so inclined. Overall this appears to be an outstanding piece of freeware. showShow review details
Excellent program 5 stars by Charcar682 Mar 06, 2013 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Many thanks to the developers of this program. It is amazing and FREE! I will be telling all my friends about this one. showShow review details
Best audio editor, does audio from video too 5 stars by HonestJohn Dec 27, 2011 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Amazingly powerful audio file editor. Supports input/output of nearly all audio formats such as WAV, Ogg, FLAC, MP3, MP2, AC3, and dozen others. I have yet to encounter an audio format it would not read. PLUS you can drag-drop video files and it will extract the audio (without any further steps in to the sound editor! Marvelous! Allows writing audio tags with each file as you save it. Excellent built in filters, and (free) expanded filter packs are available from the Audacity home page separately. Very powerful, easy-to-use, supports virtually unlimited number of tracks. Best, easiest audio editor I've seen! showShow review details
It's a pain to find good help 2 stars by SERGITO Dec 30, 2009 (Read all my 5 reviews)
I know by far this is a good program, but lacks too much on help and guidance. Sound issues are not easy, and the programs doesn't helps too mucho. I.E.: after installing, no sound recording device were detected. No info on website, confusing info in forums, confusing screen captures (using same version!) menus just disappear (apart from the old looking GUI) It would be nice to have some contextual help and recommendations, i.e. frequency rate? how do I know which settings are good for the job I'm doing? (some hours googling it...)Some other issues, wav files does not behave like normal wav files. A lot of good intentions, there's a lot of people enjoying this program, but any time I use it, I have a lot of troubles. You may need a PhD in Audacity... I do not get the point. showShow review details
Simply...the best audio editor! 5 stars by CarbonDudeoxide Jan 23, 2009 (Read all my 26 reviews)
Who doesn't know Audacity? It has to be the best free audio editor around. Very easy to use, very simple, very fast, and offers many features. showShow review details
Audacity perfection 5 stars by gimpguy Sep 04, 2008 (Read all my 1158 reviews)
Oh yeah, if there is a tool I use for audio, it's this one. I won't use others but have tried them. Audacity is numero uno. It's sound capture, sound enhancement, and anything else right down to editing sounds, is just the best. It works fast, saves easily, turns some terrible sounding music to great or bearable, assuming you know how to use it of course. Audacity is only as good as the user, meaning, get to know it, it won't disappoint! I could never believe it's free but hey, I am not complaining! showShow review details
Outstanding! 4 stars by Jims2cheap4you Aug 04, 2008
Although it's not listed as working under Vista, it has performed very well on my Compaq while editing very large mp3 files. I tried other editing software, some were shareware with free trial time, and their asking prices were from $29 to $99 and they did not perform as well as Audacity! Thank you for such a great program! showShow review details
Get this one! 5 stars by gusimio Apr 22, 2008 (Read all my 31 reviews)
The best free audio editor in my humble opinion. showShow review details
Nice easy piece of software 5 stars by Philipgrey Mar 30, 2008 (Read all my 12 reviews)
Have been using this for a while without too many problems. It does have limitations when playing back edited portions of music in that it plays such a small section of your changes you don't get a feel for how the changes will come out. Thank goodness for the undo function. I still use this as a main tool for editing wav files, In particular the editing of wave files taken from records. I have found it useful for this due to the click removal tool which is quite effective. For a free program this is a nice piece of software if you are like me and don't have much money. Would still highly recommend this to anyone who needs to do some wave editing and converting. showShow review details
Greatest free audio tool 4 stars by TrevorY Aug 30, 2007
It may not have all the features of Garageband (Mac) or Mixcraft (Windows) but for free it works great for basic editing for my family blog. showShow review details
Useless for editing 1 stars by OnionTerror Jul 18, 2007
It looks good, has lots of functions but if you want to do any editing, look elsewhere. The whole point of editing is to be able to listen to the track as you are adjusting it. You can't do this at all with Audacity. It's a complete waste of time. showShow review details
Very well done! 4 stars by hrwasp Jun 08, 2007 (Read all my 48 reviews)
Very well done program for capturing audio then mixing it. I helped a clint record or rip all of old record collections to MP3 format. Very easy to use. This also comes in a USB version that works just great as well! showShow review details
Check this out. 4 stars by Acidfreak May 01, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Audacity is a great program for mixing music, but it needs a bit of fixing. Sometimes when you have made a lot of work it freaks out, shots down, and you loose all the work you have spend ours making. It has happened to me more than once. There showShow review details
Audacity, all studio you need! 5 stars by jimjimblund Apr 11, 2007
If you like to play your instrument and not are so in to moving small cubes hither dither as you create your music i highly recommend this open source program Audacity. Its probably mainly created to edit talk or such but its the best PLOINK creator there is. showShow review details
Powerful and usable 4 stars by D_Spider Apr 08, 2007 (Read all my 19 reviews)
I've used Audacity to convert WAVs into high bit-rate MP3s, to record off vinyl LPs, to adjust volume (amplitude), and to play with some sound files "creatively." It's a good, stable application, and I prefer it to NTi's wave editor (which I paid for). With version 1.2.3 there is a problem with memory management-- trying to convert edited WAVs to MP3s, I got "out of memory" errors (with XPpro and 1GB RAM?); the easy workaround is to close Audacity after finishing one file, before starting another (XP will take care of RAM use, then). And newer versions may have fixed this problem (I just haven't done any monster files recently); even if not, restarting the application between files is a small price to pay for such an otherwise versatile and dependable [and free!] audio editor. showShow review details
Nice and simple! 5 stars by R2-D2_ Jan 17, 2007 (Read all my 14 reviews)
Does what it needs! Crop, paste copy parts of audio files. Can have a GOOD zoom and its VERY easy to use. Just remember that you'll need to download lame_enc.dll file in order to export MP3. showShow review details
Just a great tool! 5 stars by steve33 Dec 13, 2006
I was looking for a program to record and play around with mp3 files. After installing the lame_enc.dll it's exactly what I want. Easy to handle, small and intuitive. And the best, it's free. showShow review details
Get audacity - it is awesome... it is free 5 stars by IPushHard Nov 22, 2006
I highly recommend Audacity. If you need to record or work with audio, get it. It's the best around for the price, and if you are into music and on a budget, this will get the job done. I have other high-end audio software, but sometimes they are just overkill for sketchpad song recording, or smaller tasks. I have successfully used it for years with no troubles. Get it. Use it. Love it. Be thankful that someone out there took the time to create this for us. Thanks, M showShow review details
It is buggy 1 stars by kylaudio Nov 19, 2006
While this program features decent digital multitracking format, there are a few qualities associated with the program that make me think there are a lot of better ones out there. Of course you lose quality as you record onto a real time format from whatever source you are coming, but since there is no graphic equalization, you lose so very much when you rec. onto audacity, and you dont get to take advantage of all that might be there. The biggest problem i have with audacity is that when the tracks get too long, audacity frequently crashes losing all data you put into it. I have been using audacity recently to reformat and archive my drum machine tracks/patterns so the limit on file length is a big problem, especially if (and most people would)you want more than one tempo per pattern. The program does have recovery software, which is far out, but it probably wont work. It is buggy, and asks for details that are not available to computer users who havent taken a class. I lost art! showShow review details
You cannot top this tool 5 stars by Cinema_Man Nov 10, 2006
I've been using Audacity for years. You can't buy a better audio editor. True, the lame encoder is not included. To do that, they would have to license it, and Audacity wouldn't be free, would it? Search for lame.dll in another folder on your PC, or download from any of 100's of web sites. It's free for users, not for distribution. If you don't like Audacity, it's out of your league. showShow review details
Give it a try, i did. great. 5 stars by LenTheWizard Oct 08, 2006 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Recommended to me,so I gave it a try. Soon found out you need lame dll [ available in Snapfiles ]. Very easy to make a ringtone, save to a folder, then IR or Bluetooth to your mobile. l use it to tart up my tracks to put into Powerpoint. Easy to use, if result not quite right, it is easy to work back and redo till you get what you want. In short, very good. showShow review details
Can't be beat ! 5 stars by CharlesK Sep 24, 2006 (Read all my 11 reviews)
I'm usually verbose about my reviews. Not here: Audacity is one of the truly great freeware, open-source products. It supports 16, 24, 32-bit audio, multiple tracks, and every conceivable function. It's free, and thankfully free of adware, extra unwanted features or services that run in the background. It is better than other competing software, including those costing $1000-2000; and includes many offbeat functions like Karaoke extraction. It's my first choice for any audio editing or augmentation. Unbeatable. showShow review details
Awesome freeware audio editor 5 stars by TerryP Sep 22, 2006 (Read all my 80 reviews)
Very intuitive and works great. The first thing I grab when I need to make more complex edits to audio files. Possibly the best program of its type. showShow review details
Best damn program ever 5 stars by Azguard98 Aug 12, 2006 (Read all my 18 reviews)
This program lets you cut and paste segments, record multiple layers of tracks while hearing the once you are mixing with, record from your mike, speakers, or a cd, and it has unlimited recording time, unlimited undoing, and it can even record while other audio devices are in use!!! showShow review details
The most powerful!!! 5 stars by Daveinsuncity May 27, 2006
The best I have ever used!! showShow review details
Tested audacity 4 stars by truthwins Apr 06, 2006
I already have a couple of audio editors and decided to give this one a try.The only problem that arose was when I tried to save my hours of work to an mp3, a message said, I needed to acquire ( LAME ). I already have it on other software and don't want to disturb it.It can be found on the internet if you want to go look for it, but,I found it easier to uninstall it and get an editor with it. Otherwise I'd recommend it to anyone. ( They should include the Lame program in their program ). showShow review details
For personal use you won't need more 5 stars by ruleworld Mar 04, 2006 (Read all my 6 reviews)
This have everything you need if you are not a professional. showShow review details
I use it for church recording 5 stars by duck88 Feb 03, 2006
I use this program to record and edit our sermons at my church. it is amazing showShow review details
Great!!!! 5 stars by The7thRaven Jan 19, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Am a novice at recording found program extremely easy to use, great features. No problems with installation showShow review details
Very very nice, and free! 5 stars by Ghost_grey Dec 01, 2005 (Read all my 56 reviews)
Great for just converting files to different format, recording music :), or editing music, very nice, and it's free! showShow review details
Great software 5 stars by Fortra Nov 20, 2005 (Read all my 11 reviews)
One of the best freely available audio capture program on the net. showShow review details
Great program 5 stars by thundermavs Nov 16, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This is a great program.Theres nothing left to say. showShow review details
Perfect! 5 stars by alpha9 Oct 20, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I've tried many multi-recorder tools like record *what u hear* this software is the best i've seen in four years.. its free, full options and better then any others commercials softwares but dont take my word for granted, just try it ! showShow review details
Makes great ringtones 5 stars by shatterstar Oct 01, 2005 (Read all my 6 reviews)
You can use this program to make ringtones for your cell phone (as long as your phone can support MP3 tones aka realtones). Just select the section of the song you want to use and convert it to a 32kbps MP3 file. Upload the file to your website and use your phone's browser to point to that URL; it should start downloading right away. You might even be able to email it to your phone. showShow review details
Better than the big buck programs 5 stars by MiCKinCanada Aug 22, 2005 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I record alot of stuff here at home. Live music, songs etc. and frankly after using high end stuff like Adobe Audition, this has everything I used in Adobe but a hell of a lot less CPU stress. Adobe does a big 26M where audacity uses a mere 5!! Multi tracking is easy and frankly with shelling out 3 bills for and upgrade to Adobe 1.5, I said "it time for a change" Every single piece of software on my PC is Freeware or open source and I donate!! HATS OFF to Audacity and open source...I'd rather pay (donate) to the free stuff and get a product like this...OUTSTANDING WORK!!!! If you record, dub or just play with audio than try, get and support this software...you will not be disappointed!!! showShow review details
The best 5 stars by NCSUCo Aug 19, 2005
This program is perfect. It makes editing tracks simple. showShow review details
Top program 5 stars by MarkSmith Jul 03, 2005
I give this program 5 stars lol. Use the along with the lame encoder and you can record anything that you hear through your speakers and export it in mp3 format. Quality of the sound is very good. :-) showShow review details
Back to product details   Add your review...
Download Audacity

Check out these featured downloads...

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

Oxynger KeyShield

Oxynger KeyShield secure on-screen keyboard

Wise Disk Cleaner Free

Wise Disk Cleaner Free find and remove junk files

Autorun Organizer

Autorun Organizer manage your startup programs

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring