XnView

XnView User Reviews



5 stars90% 18
4 stars10% 2
3 stars0% 0
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 20 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 20 user reviews
Post your own review

The cream of the crop 4 stars by realbull2009250 Feb 16, 2013 (Read all my 60 reviews)
There SO MANY image viewers. XnView is the best. Its interface is easy to use. It supports a huge amount of files, has many editing features, batch conversions, create thumbnail sheets, 8BF plugin support, a good image compression engine and so much more! My only complaint is that some of the adjustment tools such as the saturation editor is not so smooth. And rendering EPS and AI are usually inaccurate, you may get jagged edges. Also the CAD viewer is terrible. Lastly, the portable version will not recognize the portable Ghostscript, so viewing PSD, AI, EPS files will not be possible. show Review details
Number 1 image viewer! 5 stars by FlatTop Nov 22, 2010 (Read all my 2 reviews)
XnView is what I have been looking for! After having tried almost every viewer-freeware available, XnView is THE viewer I am using. Compare to the other "most popular" viewer, XnView can do essentially everything (resizing, renaming, transformation, batch processing) it can, but keeping everything within the same program window to make things less confusing. Most importantly to me, XnView allows almost infinite ways to configure thumbnails (length, width, even spacing, with or without any descriptions). In the browser, you can turn the toolbar, preview and file-listing window on and off with just one key-stroke, allowing the entire screen filled with thumbnails with no wasted space! It has keyboard shortcut for most functions, and the ability to add text to a folder of pictures is just unique and awesome. I still have to try out many other possibilities. It can be made portable as well. Finally, I can stop looking for the ultimate image viewer! show Review details
View and more 5 stars by gimpguy Sep 04, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
I have used Xnview for a long time, never had any issues with it. I like it for the batch conversion and quick viewing ability. It's not what I use for basic pic viewing but when I need an all around pic tool, it's great. Will always be a 5 in my opinion! show Review details
Fantastic and free 5 stars by sazhazman May 03, 2008 (Read all my 26 reviews)
This is a great piece of software that I have been using for years. Each upgrade adds more functionality for which I find a use. Highly recommended, and I can't believe it's still free! show Review details
Excellent viewer 5 stars by Len1950 Feb 27, 2008
Fast start time. Many easy to understand features. Nice options on slideshow and webpage creation. show Review details
Go get it! 5 stars by yassertariq Dec 23, 2007 (Read all my 89 reviews)
It's image-viewer is almost fast as windows internal image-viewer. It has all the necessary features of a top-class image viewer. However, I would like to see a "black" skin in its future version. show Review details
Amazing program! 5 stars by Vortex Jun 21, 2007 (Read all my 4 reviews)
This program is one of the first I install every time I build a system. It is more than just a viewer, it does everything I need for it to do to my pictures so that I can get them up on the web quickly. Highly recommended!... show Review details
Useful and powerful 4 stars by johnick May 15, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Xnview is a very good program, i like the batch convert tool, really easy to handle. It supports a huge variety of format, and the GUI is clear and fast to understand. For fast batch processing, and all graphic viewing needs i recommend this software. show Review details
Powerful 5 stars by MrJaw69 Jan 24, 2007 (Read all my 34 reviews)
I tried a couple other viewers, but I use Xnview so much I take it for granted. It crashes occasionally, but has tons of features and doesn't hog system resources. Hats off to the developer! show Review details
Up there with the best! 5 stars by TerryP Sep 02, 2006 (Read all my 87 reviews)
This is one of three great freeware graphics viewers available on Snapfiles, and I use all three. XNview is great for quickly viewing graphics and zooming in with the mouse wheel. show Review details
The best free graphics viewer available 5 stars by bluenorther Apr 19, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Excellent program, now even more user friendly. show Review details
Except a flaw in the interface, it is perfect 5 stars by Ghost_ARCHER Jan 25, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
I think the buttons are too big. Thus the toolbar has to be separated. But the one on the top of file list area is a trouble -- if I choose the preview window on the right side, and enlarge it to some extend, some of the button is covered and not accessible anymore. It is annoying sometimes. Besides that, I prefer 1 as lossless conversion to JP2 file. Also it will be great if we can choose how many columns or rows when we attach multiple photos together. For photo printer I like a 2*2 or 3*3 attachment. show Review details
Very nice. my new viewer! 5 stars by Ghost_grey Jan 14, 2006 (Read all my 56 reviews)
I think i'll stick this this, since it is free, and i really like that it is filled with features, and tools, customization, and is easy to use, and uses middle mouse scroll for zooming images/closes out images/ preview ect.. it's multitabed (like Firefox),and very intuitive interface, also views most files types (alot of obscure ones I've never heard of before ;) Too bad it doesn't view .art images. Out of 200 file types supported, and some images on my computer being .art images! that is a disappointment. another miss is that is doesnt do screensavers the way i like, (animated gif images, with mp3 background music)thats all really i'm going to recommended it anyways, i also recommend irfanview, it's not as pretty/clean but just as powerful! show Review details
Super 5 stars by AungDin Nov 11, 2005 (Read all my 22 reviews)
Many superlatives are due here. This is a great program..a trulely versatile and wonderful work. show Review details
Simply brillant! 5 stars by jdg850 Nov 05, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Use it and you will understand. show Review details
Outstanding, download it! 5 stars by catmaster Oct 12, 2005 (Read all my 18 reviews)
Many features all packed into one clean, easy to use interface, yet it isn't the least bit bloated like some other image software. I really like the powerful custom file renaming and time stamping features, excellent for those who have tons of digital camera photos. The layout is also customizable. The batch converting/processing features are more than impressive also. The more you play around with Xnview, the more you learn you can do with it. Rock solid and fast on Windows XP. My input (and this is meant to only embellish what I consider nearly a perfect product) is I would like to be able to scroll through a list of photos using the mouse wheel as well as the pageup-pagedown buttons. I also think there should be some way to limit the image tabs or shut them off completely. Maybe there is and I just haven't explored it yet. If you're thinking about trying this, the choice is very easy. Get it now, it is simply outstanding! show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by MiCKinCanada Aug 23, 2005 (Read all my 4 reviews)
After trying MANY others...THis is a fixture on my desktop!! Using WinXP at work, I am spoiled with the right click - set as wallpaper option...this is a great replacement for all those XP features on a Win2000 box and lower!!...I run Win2000 at home and will not switch to XP just for the features...when you can get fantastic freeware like this to do the same...already gave Mr. Gates cash for Win2000...not gonna for XP...GET this viewer and you will be happy!!! show Review details
Xnview 5 stars by shazzam Aug 08, 2005 (Read all my 24 reviews)
There's only 2 programs of this type that I prefer over Irfanview..."Slow View" and this great Xnview. It's a tie! Naturally, it all depends on what one wants in a viewer...this baby does the job for me! Excellent piece of software! show Review details
#1 flexible and fast 5 stars by spreland Jul 21, 2005 (Read all my 8 reviews)
I've downloaded and experimented with most of the free image viewers (acdsee, irfan, fastone, vallen jpegger, viscere, Xnview, etc.)and would rate Xnview #1 above all the rest. Fast, flexible, and easy to use. Optional layout for directory, preview, thumbnails, etc. If IMAGE VIEWING is your priority, Xnview outperforms all the others. show Review details
It actually converts pdf documents to other 5 stars by Teddyboy Jul 06, 2005
This is a relatively easy and fast program. Best of all, it actually converts PDF documents to other image formats, which I have not been able to find in other free imagers. I think this makes it significantly more useful than IRFAN, which is pretty good. Note that the product description does not specify that Xnview converts PDF. Perhaps other free converters also have this capability but have not thought of expressly stating it. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

CopyTrans Manager

CopyTrans Manager manage your iPod without iTunes

TidyTabs

TidyTabs Give every window a tabbed user interface

Plex Media Server

Plex Media Server streaming media server

XMind Free

XMind Free create custom mind maps

PNotes.NET

PNotes.NET portable sticky notes and reminders

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring