WordWeb

WordWeb User Reviews



5 stars84% 11
4 stars7% 1
3 stars0% 0
2 stars7% 1
1 star0% 0
Based on 13 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 13 user reviews
Post your own review

Good software 4 stars by sidindel Nov 20, 2011
The software is pretty good. Most conveniently, it can look up from many applications. The free version lacks a few important features, but it is enough for most people. show Review details
Went wonky on me . . . 2 stars by MrJaw69 Jun 06, 2011 (Read all my 34 reviews)
I used Wordweb for a couple years without difficulty. Recently, however, the software began acting up. Usage of Wordweb is contingent on environmental conscientiousness, you see, and after using the software for a certain amount of time a nag window appears and asks if you've been nice to mother nature. When you answer "yes" (as anyone, truthful or not, would do) the nag window is supposed to go away. Well, I answered yes long ago, but suddenly Wordweb throws up the nag window every time I start up the software. I'm all for clean air and symbolic gestures, but thanks to this bug I'm now looking for a new offline dictionary. show Review details
No more browsing 5 stars by gimpguy Oct 02, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
While I am fairly good with words and don't typically need to look anything up "for basic every day needs that is" when I run into a bind where I need to use something, "not so common" this is an excellent app to have. I just click it open, type in a word, done. I have my definition. Doesn't get any easier and I don't have to browse for online dictionaries. I will definitely be keeping this one. show Review details
One of the best 5 stars by scarysquirrel Jan 11, 2008 (Read all my 9 reviews)
An excellent program that gets better with each version. Easy to use and an essential tool for writes, students, anyone. show Review details
Kudos from a pro writer 5 stars by WareQi Aug 24, 2007 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I am a professional wordsmith. This little application is so cool and easy to use, my 14 various dictionaries have begun to collect dust. It isn't the only look-up tool I use, but it's the one I use most often. show Review details
Look it up in the dictionary . . . 5 stars by JMMannion Jan 28, 2007 (Read all my 25 reviews)
Now it is simple to follow the teacher's old adage to look it up in the dictionary. I use this little gem daily. When I come across a word anywhere on the Internet, or in any text whatsoever that I don't know, or need an exact meaning and usage, I just highlight the word and click on the WordWeb tray icon and I have it. I have been using this program for about two years and I have come to rely on it. I think this is an excellent program to install on any computer and especially if the machine is used by children. Words are fun and English is the most colorful language with several words to describe one item and this program makes it all so very easy. I just cannot recommend this strongly enough. Get it, use it and you'll find yourself needing it more and more each time you read and write. JMM show Review details
Wonderful 5 stars by Dragon10 Jan 26, 2007 (Read all my 42 reviews)
Recently downloaded and installed v4.5a of 'WordWeb'. For someone who enjoys words this is an absolute boon! Find it is in almost constant use when composing letters or other correspondence. What a wonderful asset it is when making choices and creating variety within the content of 'Word' documents, or using it as a tool of reference across many applications. This is a well-organised and nicely presented program with plenty of flexibility and choice in how it is used. The 'tabbed' menus provide easy access for definitions and researching words to a greater or lesser extent. For myself, 'clicking' is not an issue because I thoroughly enjoy using the options that are available and the journey of exploration and discovery I am taken on. I express my gratitude to the developer Antony for making this excellent product available as Freeware and I would certainly hope to upgrade to the 'pro' version in the very near future! show Review details
Essential 5 stars by TerryP Oct 03, 2006 (Read all my 87 reviews)
This is a great program. Place a shortcut to WordWeb in the quick launch area to quickly lookup a word's definition, pronunciation, and synonyms. An even quicker method is to copy the word to the clipboard and then launch WordWeb. Works offline too. show Review details
Observer 5 stars by Observer Dec 13, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I just wanted to say thank you to the author of this very useful easy to use and bug free program. For me it is simply the best. show Review details
Recommended 5 stars by AungDin Nov 26, 2005 (Read all my 22 reviews)
This is just the handiest, easy program that I on a daily basis. I do my share of information processing with a computer and I have become dependent on WordWeb. The program quickly defines words that I am unfamiliar with, identifies synonyms, and even provides a usage sample. I highly recommend WordWeb. show Review details
Best free dictionary 5 stars by alnjk01 Oct 25, 2005 (Read all my 124 reviews)
Been using this for quite awhile now and have yet to find any other program that even comes close to the simplicity,stability and quality of this. Uses little system resources. Is quick. Contains more words and definitions than others free or not. Has everything anyone would want not only for spelling and definitions but for usages, i.e. nouns, verbs, etc.. In summary,this is not just a spelling checker but a real learning tool. show Review details
Must have software 5 stars by OzBrad Oct 15, 2005 (Read all my 23 reviews)
I have a CD of Must have software that I always install on any new PC. This software is on that list. My 12 year old find its very useful when she needs to lookup the meaning of a word. show Review details
Wordweb 5 stars by shazzam Aug 08, 2005 (Read all my 24 reviews)
WordWeb is not new...Ive been waiting to find an off-line dictionary that's better...but so far, I haven't found one. This dictionary is "SUPERB" !!! It's the best I've seen!!! show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring

CardRecovery

CardRecovery recover images from memory cards