WinRAR User Reviews

5 stars66% 6
4 stars22% 2
3 stars11% 1
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 9 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 9 user reviews
Post your own review

Hands down the best compression utility! 5 stars by ampillion Jul 06, 2011
There's a reason so many people not only rely on, but absolutely love WinRAR it works so well and exceeds their expectations, especially in direct comparison to zip apps. What zip can't do, RAR can. Where zip gets unstable and flaky, RAR stands steady. Where zip sets limits, RAR has none. Slightly different than zip apps to learn, but always easy. And best of all, I've never, ever had a RAR file fall corrupt or go bad on me in many years. And for those of you complaining about the price being too steep, stop being so cheap! It's not that expensive when you consider the fact that you get a lifetime of upgrades for one charge. Not many commercial software vendors have the luxury of bundling their products with free lifetime upgrades and WinRAR is one of the few exceptions that offers an overgenerous upgrade policy which makes it a worthwhile investment. Also, free alternatives should not be classed in the same league as WinRAR or any other commercial alternatives. Free alternatives lack advance features found in WinRAR and its commercial counterparts such as the ability to put each file to separate archive (gimpguy previously mentioned that part), batch archive extraction, corruption repair, archive search, file list report, and anti-virus integration. As for espee29, why it should be made free? Do you work for free? I don't think so. Get over it and stop being a cheapskate. Not everything can be freeware. Money is what spurs innovation, not generosity. show Review details
Alright... 3 stars by CarbonDudeoxide Apr 05, 2011 (Read all my 26 reviews)
This is indeed a very powerful archive manager. However, in my opinion, once the free trial is up, the software runs its course. There are plenty of free alternatives out there just as powerful as WinRAR. This is worth a shot but I personally do not think it is worth its price. show Review details
Still the best 4 stars by gimpguy Mar 23, 2011 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
As a long time user of WinRAR, I can also agree on how flawless it's been and does it's job, fast, simple, easy. One of the benefits for me, "although I admit to not trying others recently" is that it would archive files separately if I chose it to and could not find this option with any other free compression tools at the time unless doing so one by one. Once again, this may have changed. I have skipped over to other compression tools, seeing how they work etc... but always go back to the tried and true. I do think it's a bit pricey however and with all the freebies out there, they may only be hurting themselves. Would I purchase it right now for 29 bucks? Honestly, no. I would use other compression tools if I had to. Since the rating includes pricevalue, my rating fell a couple of notches due to price. show Review details
Great tool! 5 stars by librarianman Oct 28, 2009 (Read all my 3 reviews)
WinRAR allows you to split archives into separate volumes easily, making it possible to save them on several disks for example. show Review details
Great product 4 stars by espee29 Sep 04, 2009
Great product to use. Similar products are available for free and hence this should also be made free. show Review details
This one ends up on all my computers. 5 stars by ChrisD Dec 07, 2007 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I've been using WinRAR for years. Yes, I know there's a lot of free newer alternatives out there. I have been trying a few of them and they work fine. However, WinRAR is a rock solid time tested archiver. It never fails, it never complains and it never stops doing it's job. Of course it supports all the compression standards and has a lot of features you need, and some you'll find you need after having used the program for a while. All in all, this is just a must have that follows all my computers. The price is reasonable for a commercial grade archiver like this. Just get it, you'll never look back! show Review details
The best compression program! 5 stars by GhostMan Nov 11, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This program is the easiest to use, makes the smallest file sizes, and is constantly updated. The rar format is also vastly superior to the zip format because it is better at handling large file sizes, and has more options to create archives that can withstand physical data damage. It also has better encription to keep data safe show Review details
The only one worth paying for 5 stars by MarkBowman May 01, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This is the definitive archive manager period. It's as simply as that. show Review details
Winrar continues to set the standard 5 stars by zridling Aug 22, 2005 (Read all my 5 reviews)
WinRAR has proven to be the best functional archiver because virtually everything it does, it does very well. For its modest price, you get a Lifetime license, but best of all, the developer maintains the product well. With 7z extraction in the current version, the next version is set to include 7z creation for those who need it. Every system needs a good archiver, and WinRAR is a good investment that continues to set the standard among the field. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software


CintaNotes take and manage notes


CardRecovery recover images from memory cards


CDRoller recover data from damaged CD/DVD/BD