Opera User Reviews

5 stars68% 43
4 stars12% 8
3 stars11% 7
2 stars3% 2
1 star4% 3
Based on 63 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 63 user reviews
Post your own review

Annoying, set as default browser, opens full 2 stars by henerey773 Jun 01, 2016 (Read all my 15 reviews)
This late May 2016 Opera37.0.2178.43 release immediately annoyed me because it set itself as my Win7 Default Browser, didn't ask, no notice given. The easy way out was running Firefox again, and it asked, as is polite. The other minor trivial annoyance was opening in full screen. Why do they assume that? I uninstalled it, maybe better next time. show Review details
Major engine transplant, but still great 5 stars by realbull2009250 Mar 11, 2015 (Read all my 60 reviews)
Yes, Opera had some major surgery. The developers have gutted the Presto engine and replaced it with Google Chrome's Blink engine. The good news is that Opera is as fast as (or maybe faster than) Chrome and 100 compatible with its extensions/plugins. On top of that Opera is working its way up to create the same browser they once had with the Presto engine; the speed-dial, sync-devices, tab preview, clone tab and turbo mode are included. Also there are some other new features such as Discover(a built-in news feed), new book-marking style and more options in "settings" than Chrome. The bad news is that there are still some fan favorite features missing. The biggest one being the email client(which can be downloaded as a separate desktop application from their website). This is the biggest minus for Opera because many of their fans favored the browser just for that built-in email client. Will it come back? Who knows? I haven't heard about it returning in the new OperaBlink browser. Also the ability to re-arrange parts of the browser is unavailable. This was one of the most innovative features that was only available in the OperaPresto engine browser. Although the new OperaBlink is missing some of its features from the OperaPresto browser, I still think this is the best Blink browser to use. If you miss the old Opera then you may want to try Vivaldi browser, made by former Opera staff members, but (as of this writing)still in beta and not stable yet. show Review details
Use an open-source browser instead 1 stars by mikey1975777566 Jul 02, 2014 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Opera used to be a decent browser. Now, it frequently won't connect to certain websites, even though the settings show it should. Meanwhile, it connects to other websites just fine. I've uninstalled and re-installed this browser many times trying to fix this issue, but to no avail. The list of features, help section and forums are very weak as well. You can't even import bookmarks. Ugh. I've given up on Opera. show Review details
Been great 5 stars by gimpguy May 23, 2014 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
I gave up on Firefox due to many issues and have been with Opera for a few months now. So far it's been completely awesome and flawless and all the PC issues I had due to a simple browser, Firefox, are gone now and as long as Opera remains a great stable browser, I will stick with it. It's always been a great browser but I was a Firefox fan for years, unfortunately it's changed and not for the better and I now wish I would have switched to Opera years ago. Opera is what Firefox was, or should be now, perhaps even much better. show Review details
Much better! 4 stars by SubwayGOP May 20, 2014 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This is much better than years gone by! I use to hate Opera, now I use it every day. It's better that Firefox, faster, lite weight. Good job Opera, you came a long way! show Review details
Not the Opera it used to be. 1 stars by danielson Jul 02, 2013 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Opera is dead. Who wants a Chrome coated with Opera skin? Just download Chrome or Chromium. 15 'final' doesn't even have half the features it used to. show Review details
Unbelievable speed with Opera turbo 5 stars by dvdshonna96 Dec 07, 2012 (Read all my 11 reviews)
If you have a slow connection (56k to 256k), especially Dial-up, Opera is the ONLY CHOICE. Picture 500x375 pixels on Firefox is 51.1k. The same picture viewed on Opera with Turbo enabled, is 11k and downloads in about 14 to 15 the time. Clicking between Firefox and Opera browsers there is no difference in the quality of the pictures downloaded. ....How is this possible? Not a big issue now that most people are on high speed broadband (unlimited), but if you are on a slower connection, Opera is the only way to go. show Review details
A home brewed browser 5 stars by talapantas Aug 02, 2012 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Just like a home brewed coffee I always have beside me while strolling 'round the net, Opera always bring a nostalgic phenomena that I seem to never get from other browsers at par with it. I stayed long with GC and MFF for the longest time I can remember, even had fun tweaking them to best fit my flavor and played around with their huge db of extensions but whenever I get updates for O, it never failed convincing me to get back (as opera seldom releases stable build so I stayed to giants for quite some time). Despite of it being low on market share, I'm actually impressed by how the company stay put all throughout, staying cool while all the others rushing to get things done. Proud to say it pioneered a lot of innovations, and compiled it to a very tiny size; always aim minimalistic at its bet, not compromising the overall performance; utilizes power and memory efficiently giving us a fluid browsing experience and best of all, (at least for me :D ) the way its smooth scrolling ease in throughout the pages that NEVER tires my eyes. (Those who uses Opera knows what smooth scrolling is, I bet). I mean, not being biased here but I think this is one of the most important things a feature-packed web browser should put a great effort to as this has a huge impact on over-all browsing experience, imho. Thumbs down to web developers who are lazy enough to implement web standards and exclude opera. show Review details
The best of the lot 5 stars by Mog89R Jul 22, 2012 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Fast, safe and, more important to me, browser and emails together in one programme. Opera is, indeed, the best of the lot. show Review details
Best browser now with a 64x version. 5 stars by Edu_SS Jun 14, 2012 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Like a web based developer, I use the most used browsers in my work (IE, Chrome, Firefox and Opera). But, to my internet surfer moments, I prefer Opera for many years. show Review details
Opera browser is a seconary choice 4 stars by WebmasterTeen Jul 08, 2011 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Speed: 8/10. Opera has a thing with taking a max of a second to "decide" to load websites, however it was still faster than other browsers such as Safari. Performance: 9/10. No crashing, no freezing (actually, there might have been once or twice, but it was probably on my end, and wasn't significant enough or else I would have remembered it). The addons seemed to work, the animations on the tabs and other elements of the browser were fairly smooth. Overall nice performance. Customizability: 8/10. Opera came with a default theme that came in several colors. I liked a few of them. And even better, it came with themes that did things from changing some of the icons and transparent backgrounds, to revamping the entire UI. I was fairly impressed with the themes and addons. However, I noticed there weren't any themes that were more background image based, such as Personas with FireFox. However, you get what you get. Comfort: 7/10. The main things that made me uncomfortable, per say, was the speed of the websites loading as well as the bookmarks. I mentioned the speed a few times, but the bookmarks is still a bit of an issue. It's hard to enjoy being comfortable to know you can access any bookmark in your bookmark bar when it's not there in the first place. Overall: 8/10. Opera, overall, is a great browser. However, despite these few flaws, I found it a very interesting and fun browser to work with. I will definitely add this browser to my list of ones to use as backup. show Review details
The best browser with so many features. 5 stars by asrs2007 Jan 30, 2011 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I tried almost all of the web browsers and all of them have their good and bad points. Opera is my favorite at the time. It is clean, fast, has almost all the features I need. Its only problem was "Bad Request (Invalid Header Name)" message I encountered frequently, even for Snapfiles' website. However, turning its "turbo" feature off got rid of the problem and even without turbo it is still the fastest with one exception (K-Meleon, which is also a good browser). It also works with 64 bit W7. It doesn't hog system resources too much and keeps the screen free for really needed browsing space, with completely customizable features. It's password manager, extensions for email, Youtube, etc. make it even better than Firefox which used to be my favorite, but seems to be bloatware and so slow for me after using Opera. show Review details
Better than Firefox and Google Chrome 4 stars by wildgoosespeeder Dec 14, 2010 (Read all my 52 reviews)
I had to defy Microsoft and Internet Explorer 8, I`d go with Opera instead of the popular web browsers Firefox and Google Chrome. There are some things that suck but most can be fixed. Here`s what can be fixed: That red button in the top-left corner I hate. I can get rid of that. The menus are hidden by default. I can bring that back. The back and forward buttons don`t have navigation history. I can customize the interface by swapping the default back and forward buttons with ones that have the drop-down navigation history. Here`s what can`t be fixed: The startup is a little slow. The marquee HTML tag when changing scroll direction with JavaScript seems to do something that is hard to explain with words. You just have to see what I mean by trying this browser and compare it with Internet Explorer 8 or something. Overall this is a good alternative browser. show Review details
Great browser 5 stars by dieaudioite Jun 04, 2010
The whole package and very stable and fast. Better than IE8 and Firefox. show Review details
Greatest browser 5 stars by jirayu Jun 01, 2010
Opera has provided all users should install as extensions in other browsers. Nothing to be installed after Opera. Users can just install it then surf, and Opera has many features but still works so fast. show Review details
Good when it works 3 stars by joe254 Apr 08, 2010 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Version 10.5 is useless. Half my favorite sites will not load. The developers have ruined a good thing. I have used Opera for 10+ years and have put up with various sites not working with Opera but I have reached my limit and won't take it anymore. Stay away unless they fix it. show Review details
Best ever browser 5 stars by JohnofTaunton Feb 23, 2010 (Read all my 13 reviews)
Opera takes a little time to get used to but the effort is worth while. I occasionally also use Firefox, and if unavoidable use IE; Opera is so much faster than either of these. To try it is to love it! show Review details
Simply the best,.. but 4 stars by terrawarra Feb 06, 2010
I agree with most of the positive comments for Opera,.. it's my default browser and I couldn't imagine my PC without it, although I sometimes stray to Firefox only because of McAfee Site Advisor. Now, if only Opera could get their act together and make it "Site Advisor" compliant,.. I would never again be unfaithful ! show Review details
Simply the best browser. 5 stars by abcxyz Nov 29, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Again I read another review from the same reviewer this time about one of the best net browsers going. What's going on here, doesn't he know how it works or what. It truly is the best. I've been using it for years and it is flawless. If you can't use Opera you need to give up the net, it's just that simple. show Review details
One of the better browser. 3 stars by Mike132 Nov 21, 2009 (Read all my 18 reviews)
I've used this browser over the yrs. It has some nice features and is fairly secure. If you're looking for a simple alternative to IE for the novice users. This would be a good choice. show Review details
Needs work 3 stars by boofby Sep 10, 2009 (Read all my 14 reviews)
A nice looking browser, however still tends to break often with many of the popular websites, from either content that does not load properly or pages that freeze up altogether. To be fair Opera is a standards compliant browser so the fault likely lies with many of the shoddily built websites out there, but a browser as advanced as Opera should be able to handle errant code and step through it easily--unfortunately it does neither of these things well, and I find myself going back to IE or Firefox more often than not. While there have been many improvements and nice ideas such as the dialpad and wand, a browser that doesn't browse is just another piece of useless software. Until the browser can learn to effectively step through bad markup without freezing, I can't in good conscience recommend this software in its current state. Still needs some work. show Review details
Great for serious web surfers 5 stars by VikingMan Nov 26, 2008 (Read all my 15 reviews)
I have used Opera for years as my main desktop browser and it's still a great browser for serious web surfers and web developers. It's much easier to secure than IE, has better features than FireFox out of the box, and renders pages fast. The main problem with Opera is that there are sites that don't work with it (especially Javascript), so you still need to fire up IE or FF sometimes. But I still use Opera as much as I can. Opera works very well on a smartphone or PDA and can sync with the desktop version. show Review details
Simply the best 5 stars by miskairal Nov 07, 2008 (Read all my 29 reviews)
I have been using Opera almost since I first ever had internet access. I've also used IE and Firefox but neither can compete on speed with Opera. Plus there are no plugins to download and install when you want it to do a particular thing, Opera does it all. A format and reinstall doesn't leave you searching for all those plugins you had installed before. I carry Opera portable with me at all times because I just cannot go back to IE on other people's computers. Try it, give it a chance - like many new programs on your computer you will need to take a bit of time to tweak it how you want it. It's worth it. show Review details
What are they thinking? 1 stars by 7654321 Oct 23, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This applies to version 9.6. 1) Opera imports all bookmarks from Firefox, WITHOUT ASKING FIRST! That is exactly what I did NOT want. There is no excuse for that. If I want to import bookmarks, I can do that (in any other browser) in 30-60 seconds! 2) OK, I really want to use Opera, so I will just manually delete the Bookmarks, so I can have a clean start. WRONG! I can only delete the bookmarks that are in folders. There is no way (I could find) to delete bookmarks that are not in a folder. In fact, in "Manage Bookmarks" the bookmarks that are not in folders do not even appear, so I cannot delete them, put them in a folder, or do anything with them. 3) There is no excuse for making me go to the Help files, to do something this basic. However, I'm giving Opera every chance possible. NOTHING in the help files about deleting bookmarks. 4) That is as far as I got, I never did any web surfing with Opera. 5) Opera is not intuitive, I'm removing Opera. show Review details
What else do you need? 5 stars by Ericks Sep 20, 2008 (Read all my 10 reviews)
I have been using Opera for many years now. What attracts me most is the speed and ease of use. On my computers it consistently outperformed IE based browsers as well as Firefox. Chrome is possibly faster but it looks too spartanic to me. I spend most of my computer time on the Internet so a browser should also have a pleasant feel and look to it. Particularly interesting is the Speed Dial mode which gives you easy access to up to 9 favorite websites every time you open a new tab. They are visible as little webpages on the new tab. Just click any of them and off you go. Needles to say that you can decide yourself which websites to include. Overall, you can't go wrong with this one. show Review details
The best for all 5 stars by Tiger1999 May 23, 2008
My default browser since 1999. Highly configurable tool bar and I love the convenient tabs, panels and speed dials. show Review details
Ok but ? 3 stars by MouseChaser Jan 12, 2008 (Read all my 27 reviews)
This Browser Is Alright I Guess.But I Had To Uninstall This As There Was A conflict Between My Zone Alarm Firewall And Arovax Shield (That Stops And Blocks Tracking Cookies) on my Computer. One Or The Other Would Not Load When I Turned On My Computer Everyday.Had To Keep Re Booting My Computer To Get Either One To Work Properly.This Was Not Good For My Computer. show Review details
Almighty opera 5 stars by Tao2005 Oct 25, 2007 (Read all my 30 reviews)
This browser, has many features built in to it. That IE has to use BHOs. That eats up system resources. Opera, is faster then IE, doesn't use any BHOs, Great support, on Operairc, highly configurable UI, to look like IE 6, or 7. This browser is Highly recommended. I'll recommend it before I would IE. show Review details
Best browser 5 stars by jupiter Aug 14, 2007 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Fast, good interface, many features which are easy to use. It have much more than any other web browser, i mean others have too cool features but they do not work for me:). I recommend it to all, who have internet connection. show Review details
Excellent internet browser; forget all others 5 stars by sanketmohite Aug 07, 2007
All the features like download manager, torrent downloader, ad/pop-up blocking, password manager are integrated within the browser itself; so no need to install additional utilities. Opera is extremely fast and light weight. Users can customize browser looks according to own choice. Content blocking is just fabulous and very easy yet highly effective. Hats-off to the Opera developers. show Review details
Opera for me the best 3 stars by Bobbybear Jul 03, 2007
I use old Win98 and IExplorer 6.0 but it mostly crash on some websites. Used Firefox for about two months but it's sucks. Opera is very speedy and it's a relief to browse on the web. Greetings from The Netherlands. show Review details
Opera a great choice. 5 stars by moparmac Jul 02, 2007 (Read all my 11 reviews)
I had Opera before it was free. Bought two licenses on a two-for-one deal. It was great then and even greater now that it is free. Opera is a safe,actively developed browser. It is fast and customisable. I have found that over the years Opera has improved their page rendering on web sites. I don't see that problem much any more where I surf. There are lots of decorative themes for a variety of personal tastes. Multiple tabs are still a main stay with Opera. It's my favorite web browser and has served me well for 4+ years. show Review details
Needs a lot of work 4 stars by jackfrost May 13, 2007 (Read all my 35 reviews)
In modern computing speed is not an issue on any system i make and sell to my clients. everything is fast on a modern system with a modern ISP. one can cry how fast one thing is to another and it means nothing to those of us in the 21st century with modern machines that do not use old 32 bit processing or dial-up. it's all fast now. so the important thing in a modern age of 64 bit broadband computing is never speed or resource usage. modern machines have on average 2 gigs of memory and dual core processing. if you are a gamer or a multimedia editor then speed and resource usage is an issue but not web browsing. the critical issue with web browsing is security. modern web connections are very fast and always on. one needs a browsing engine that is no way tied to the operating system. Firefox is the one for me and my customers. Opera is ok but its adblocking is terrible and its widgets are terrible. Firefox 1st Opera 2d ie and its ilk = 0. show Review details
Opera is a gem - well above all others 5 stars by zeeLaz Jan 02, 2007 (Read all my 20 reviews)
When I switched from IE to FF about a year ago, it was like going from night to day. The difference was shocking. About 2 months ago I tried Opera and was shocked again. It's the most pleasant browser aesthetically, very nicely designed, joy to use, beautiful integration of an excellent email client wit spam filters and RSS feeds. Opera should be the king of all browsers. This is a lesson in design with sophistication and simplicity. show Review details
The best! 5 stars by I3OI3IN Nov 25, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I'm Operas fan for more than 4 years. The Opera is the fasted browser created so far. I like its one touch settings and interface. Very easy in use with a bunch of available skins. I can highly recommend this browser to you. show Review details
Happy to be back using opera 5 stars by thelostsoul Nov 07, 2006
Oh, i am so happy back using Opera. Been using firefox for a few months, but never really could configure it how i wanted it. This might be a small point for some people, but i could never figure out how to turn off sounds and that was the tipping point for me. I also have been trying IE7 for a week, not good in my opinion, too many nagging warnings about activex and things. Opera just lets me get on with my browsing, i love it. show Review details
Very good browser for free 5 stars by mature_fruit Oct 16, 2006
This software really suits me. I will try to compare Opera with MS Internet Explorer. First of all opera has great mouse controls. Second: all new windows are opened in the upper opera tray, instead of placing them in taskbar. Third: Opera has a useful transfer list, that shows your downloads. Fourth: maximum of working space. IE takes much space for its huge toolbars. Fifth: mail client. Sixth: voice controlling. Seventh: Wand. That tool helps log in on different sites. And in the end Opera supports RSS feeds ant notes. I think it is enough to consider it a better browser than Internet Explorer, but unlike IE, Opera can't surf your drives and folders. show Review details
Best browser 5 stars by Tucker Oct 13, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I think that Opera is the most convenient browser. Because of its large set of features Opera provides users with additional opportunities that other browsers don't. One more Opera' s advantage over its contenders is its connection speed. The only disadvantage of Opera is its incompatibility with some certain sites. show Review details
Beats all other browsers 5 stars by Nicholas Oct 01, 2006 (Read all my 61 reviews)
I installed them all: Avant, Firefox, Netscape, IE, E2, etc. Now, after I installed and enjoyed Opera 9.02, I UNinstalled them all and became an Opera addict. What a browser! Fast. Complete. And full of fun! Why hesitate? Download, install and be happy. show Review details
What's not to like? 5 stars by TerryP Aug 19, 2006 (Read all my 87 reviews)
I have used Opera for years and even paid for the ad-free version. Now that's it's free, there is no excuse for NOT using it! Although not compatible with 100% of web sites (maybe 99.99%), this browser is great! Smooth, fast, clean, and very intuitive. show Review details
Simple - the best - bar none - eoc ! 5 stars by flash32_me Jul 29, 2006 (Read all my 5 reviews)
I have only been using opera since version 6 but what I have found is this : It is The Best ! there is Nothing to compare with Opera... IE kept giving me an Error ! I contacted Microsoft for help. This is what I got ! Different computer manfact use patches for their own computers. Sorry I can't help you !! Now I ask you, that is Really Good Customer Service ain't it...!!! I will stay with Opera and if the others check it out and give it a chance they will have No Other Option but to go with Opera.... My Case is Closed ! Flash32 show Review details
The best 5 stars by DuckForever Jul 06, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Faster than IE and FF, and more amazing features show Review details
Pimp my internet... 5 stars by TheCrawlingDutchman Jul 03, 2006
The features and usability of v9 make it the de facto standard of internet cool. show Review details
Can your internet get better than this?? 5 stars by SpicyFlier Jul 03, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Speed, feeds and widgets, oh my! I've been using Opera since version 6. Version 9 is a tremendous all-in-one internet tool. Security, web standards, customization, skins, forums, community, mail and more. Internet Explorer, Netscape, Firefox or whoever could only dream up what the folks from Norway have already done. This nonsense of "IE only" web programming will eventually go the way of the Berlin Wall. Opera not only enhances the usage of the internet, they make it happen! show Review details
The fastest, securest, the best browser ever. 5 stars by MrMurder Jun 29, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I tried many other browsers and used them for long time, but I always returned to Opera, caused to its cool and sharp interface, the very fast rendering, the mouse gestures, high security. It has all features I expect of a browser! I really love it! show Review details
Flash 4 stars by strugglingman Jun 03, 2006
Good, but the Flash player not compatible and buggy sometimes, I tried it and it seems steady. Good. show Review details
The best browser! 5 stars by ccouch82 Apr 14, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This is the best browser ever!! Opera rocks!! Excellent security!! No more pop-ups! I been using opera for a long time. It keeps getting better and better! Keep up the good work guys! show Review details
It rules the pack 5 stars by ArturN Mar 11, 2006 (Read all my 19 reviews)
For a long time I've used the IE based browser Maxthon, and tried several others, including Firefox.However, for my daily browsing needs, I trust and use Opera,as it is a really fast browser - the fastest of them all - , simple to use, highly customizable, safe and free. You should give it a try. It's worth it show Review details
You should try it... 5 stars by BamaGlass Jan 01, 2006
I was using Firefox for a while but it kept crashing and / or losing my bookmarks. I then tried Maxthon but it allowed tracking cookies. Now I'm sticking with Opera. I cannot find anything that I do not like in it. It's easy to use, secure, and I love the tabbed system and the features in it. Try it. show Review details
A fair browser. 3 stars by Gizmo_151 Dec 30, 2005 (Read all my 10 reviews)
Makes a good alternative for IE. It just doesn't have all the features I use daily surfing the web. show Review details
Fast and smooth 5 stars by mayunk Dec 13, 2005 (Read all my 5 reviews)
I have been using Opera for over 4 years now, maybe more. The latest version is FREE, removing the last excuse for IE victims to not seek help. I cannot imagine anyone who has used Opera for more than a week, to ever move back to IE or even Mozilla. Mozilla Firefox is similar to Opera (as well as an ally in the war against IE Domination). However, in an attempt to pack in all features, it is a bulky program (much like IE). Opera on the other hand, at just 3.5MB, offers most functions at BLAZING FAST speeds! The web page rendering itself is quite fast and recovering pages from Cache is faster. Much better than IE or Firefox. You can navigate most of the functions without needing the mouse, using KEYBOARD SHORTCUTS. Negatives: Websites that use IE proprietary stuff do not work well. Example: www.citibank.com Barring a few (barely 2%) websites that are not written as per generic standards, Opera fits ALL requirements! 10 Star Rating :-) show Review details
Internet explorer and firefox beware!!! 5 stars by yanike Dec 11, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Opera 9 (preview) is FREE and available for download!!! This browser is extremely fast and convenient. Check mail, search the internet and customize to your own style. Do everything within one browser. Plus more viewable space to see web site! A Must Get!!! To download it go here http://snapshot.opera.com/windows/w90p1.html show Review details
Norwegian army knife browser 5 stars by drakan Nov 22, 2005
Opera takes the opposite approach of Internet Explorer and Firefox in that tons of features are available out of the box. It is still very customizable, and its size and speed are better than other browsers . It's easy to disable things you don't want to use (e.g. mail/chat). It also has the best security record and is the fastest to FIX major security holes than any other major browser (secunia.org). Period. The forums are very active and moderated, so new users should feel free to ask questions there. Tons of skins, custom buttons, scripts, INI setups, etc. (nontroppo.org/wiki/Opera, my.opera.com). Only 5.5 MB installed on your drive. You can also partially emulate Opera in Firefox (Andrew Gregory or firefoxopera.blogspot.com). As for those "IE-only" sites, spoofing works 95%: "Identify as Internet Explorer" or Mozilla. Here's to a mid-90's dot-com that survived the burst and is still kicking. show Review details
Solid, with growing pains 3 stars by estople Nov 22, 2005 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Opera is now a pretty solid browser and it has some features others don't have like the ability to disallow frames, but it still has its problems. While it will use older Windows media players, it chokes on V9, and has trouble with some standards like CSS2. As the web matures, Opera is struggling to keep up and add new, distinguishing features, but doing a pretty decent job. Can't stand the ad, though, and I'm too into free to pay to remove it. I've kept it for testing purposes, but I never browse with it. Its not something I'd put on my Mom's desktop. [Editor: the latest version of Opera does not display ads anymore] show Review details
The best 5 stars by R2-D2_ Nov 05, 2005 (Read all my 14 reviews)
There's no other browser better then Opera! Opera is 100% FREE, tab browsing, safe, no spywares, open well almost every page. show Review details
Very smart browser 5 stars by digipaws Oct 20, 2005 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I love the interface of this browser, very neat, reliable and easy to use. Though I'm perfectly satisfied with Mozilla Firefox, this is definitely the next best thing. Did not experience any problems whatever while using this browser. show Review details
Still the best! 5 stars by Superfluid Sep 27, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Where to begin? I have had a passionate love affair with Opera for YEARS! I've used it since version 5.12, and every version is better than the last! I can't even begin to say all the great things about Opera - you just have to try it yourself. All the "must-have" features in other browsers were in Opera first, usually for quite some time! And for all those who think Opera's UI is lame, I will admit it can take some work to get it all tweaked to perfection - but once you do, no browser compares, in terms of productivity. Here's my layout, below. You can't get much simpler (and classier!) than this. show Review details
Fast? irritating yes! 2 stars by Rodger Sep 26, 2005 (Read all my 99 reviews)
Like I want to learn another browser configuration.. it is free and does work but it is not fast (compared with avant or greenbrowser) but the thing I dislike the most is that when a page is loading the hourglass on the mouse pointer is moving - I do not see this on an IE based browser , firefox does it sometimes but not nearly as much. This is a good browser but makes me want to hit my monitor with a baseball bat (that is not a good feeling) show Review details
I am sold . . . 4 stars by LionBill Sep 22, 2005 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Tired of IE "Screw-Up's" and feeling rebellious one day I downloaded and installed Opera 8.5 (what a difference in size!) Anyway, started messing with it and was soon overtaken by it's simplicity, ease if use and especially (and I cannot overstate this part since I use dialup) SPEED! I'm still learning about all of it's little extras like the "Wand" (RoboForm) and advanced "Bookmark" system (Favorites) and am extremely close to being able to thumbmynose at IE. Oh yeah, I should mention "no ads. . ." show Review details
Opera is no longer containing ads! 5 stars by Ghost_grey Sep 20, 2005 (Read all my 56 reviews)
I use Firefox for all my browsing all the time and I'm thinking about using Opera since they dropped the advertisements, screw Internet Explorer. There is also K-meleon that I might try as well. Although I don't think the others support extensions so Firefox is my main browser. good stuff. show Review details
Nice one 4 stars by magnuspark Sep 17, 2005 (Read all my 9 reviews)
Is a great browser, if you are connected permanently, if not, woa, takes a lot of memory to start, a lot of screen freezes. but would have this in front of boring IE. show Review details
Opera 5 stars by USMC8541 Aug 13, 2005 (Read all my 11 reviews)
Its better than IE and better than Fox i have not had not one crash with Opera i am going to stick with it show Review details
Speedy, safe and classy... 5 stars by Ketlan Jul 23, 2005 (Read all my 5 reviews)
I've used loads of browsers on a whole host of machines over the years and nothing comes close to Opera in speed or sheer style. Infinitely adaptable, as safe as it gets and classy as all hell, it packs in more features than all the others put together. Email client, newsreader, RSS feed reader, coffee-maker, it's got the lot. What a star! Ten out of ten. (I lied about the coffee-maker) show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...


CintaNotes take and manage notes

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software

CopyTrans Manager

CopyTrans Manager manage your iPod without iTunes

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers


CDRoller recover data from damaged CD/DVD/BD


CardRecovery recover images from memory cards