OpenOffice User Reviews

5 stars78% 26
4 stars15% 5
3 stars6% 2
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 33 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 33 user reviews
Post your own review

Excellent program 5 stars by triiv1 May 26, 2016 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Open Office answers all of my needs and does it as professionally as costly similar programs! show Review details
The best alternative to Microsoft Office 5 stars by the_physc_ward477 May 25, 2016 (Read all my 3 reviews)
The "Best" alternative to Microsoft Office.... PERIOD show Review details
Don't waste time and money - this is it! 5 stars by mikesantana Nov 24, 2015 (Read all my 25 reviews)
Other reviewers have pretty much covered the advantages of this very complete office package. I was using an old version of the MS equivalent, which got more and more creaky with Windows version upgrades. This is so much better and more complete - haven't tried the current MS product, but I don't know what it could offer me that is better. And it's FREE! show Review details
Using for years, meets all my needs 5 stars by dswebertec283 Dec 06, 2011 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Open office is a great, versatile and stable product. Reads and writes in MS format so you can continue to exchange with those who have not been told of, or refuses to try software which works great. You can also set it to use MS format as it's default. Make the transition and stop contributing to the Bill-Gates-Richest-Man-In-the-World fund. show Review details
Satisfied! 5 stars by Pillman May 08, 2011
I've been using Open Office for the past five years and what I enjoy the most is it will do everything that Microsoft Office does. It is also 100 compatible with Microsoft Office. PLUS, the price is right! I definitely recommend it to all. show Review details
Openoffice has grown a lot. 4 stars by Optimist Apr 09, 2011
3.2 is pretty good. I am looking forward to the next step, because they keep on getting better.... I have been with it since 1.0, and the advances have been considerable. show Review details
Save your money! 5 stars by Mindach44 Feb 22, 2010 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Save your money there is No need to pay Microsoft, OpenOffice might even be better than MSoffice. Most users don't even know the difference. Missing is Outlook (good riddance!) but Access (a little harder to use) Powerpoint, Word and Excel are all great. And it can write PDF files! I run OpenOffice and MSOffice side by side and have for years. OpenOffice keeps getting better and the Microsoft's products seems to just get slower odd. Runs on Linux too, and it is native to Unbuntu Linux. show Review details
Best of its kind, the Firefox of word pros 5 stars by daniel1212 Jan 29, 2010 (Read all my 7 reviews)
I have been blessed to be able to use OpenOffice for about 10 years, upgrading from the early versions, and have use it extensively for writing, including using tables, frames, etc. I have tried other free Word Pros, but Open Office has been the best by far. Having never really used MS Office, i cannot compare the two, but wonder if it is as customizable as Open Office. You can create and modify toolbars, and create keyboard shortcuts (an save the latter config), and many extensions are available for it, such as enables you to save sessions (reopen all documents you were working on). It has more to learn from Firefox (it lacks themes, and tabs for switching open documents would a help), and contacting developers is an issue. The jumping cursor - caused by a scrolled documents reverting to the last cursor position when the save auto recovery info (a good option) kicks in - and jumping frames/images, has yet to be fixed, but this is a premier piece of freeware. Thank God for OOo show Review details
Awesome product 5 stars by pcs800 Aug 18, 2009 (Read all my 222 reviews)
Reading through the reviews here I am surprised to find anything but 5 star ratings. This office suite is worlds above any other freebie and just hairs behind MS office in only certain aspects. is a great product that people would do well to adopt as their go to office suite. Opens and saves MS file types too. show Review details
Still needs work 3 stars by boofby Aug 16, 2009 (Read all my 14 reviews)
The old adage rings true here, you get what you pay for. Granted I have given this office suite every opportunity over the course of many years, since 1.0. Regrettably it still fails to impress. The lack of pre-installed templates, clumsy help interface, buggy cursor that jumps around the page unexpectedly, and options that simply won't stick once you uncheck them (how many times must we deselect that annoying Tips or Help Agent popup anyway?). The list goes on. The software does function as advertised, but its like the difference between the store brand cola and a national brand.. they both quench your thirst, but one just leaves you wanting for something more. show Review details
Excellent program... 5 stars by danleep Feb 19, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
A large program, but works wonderfully well. I use it all the time. show Review details
Open anything 5 stars by miskairal Nov 07, 2008 (Read all my 29 reviews)
The beauty of Oo is that I can open almost any file anyone sends me - the same can't be said for it's main competitor. The standard version of that competitor costs at least $575 here and that's without the database so I now have only Oo portable installed and have not missed what I used to have. I write a big newsletter every month and can be quite creative with the features supplied by Oo. To those who say it's got a steep learning curve I say that you have a steep learning curve no matter what office product you try. The only fault I have found with Oo is it is way too slow to open but I can happily live with that for the price. It is comforting to know that whatever files I create now I will be able to open 10 years down the track without having to fork out hundreds of dollars in the meantime. show Review details
Stick with ooo 2.4.1 for the time being. 3 stars by kathy025 Oct 11, 2008 (Read all my 17 reviews)
OOo 3.0 sure is an eye candy, but when it comes to Features and Ease of Use, it gets a relatively "Poor" rating. One major problem is that it has issues automatically integrating with previous MS Office files. For example, even after installing 3.0, .doc's still open in WordPad and .ppt's weren't associated with any program - meaning, they have that weird "unknown" icon that we all know Windows uses when a file type isn't associated with any software to open it with. Add that to the supposedly "easier" setup UI, there are just too many features that makes 3.0 complicated rather than helpful. It is advised to stick with 2.4.1 for a while, since it appears to be more stable and user-friendly. I would still recommend OOo, just not this version. show Review details
Exceeds Office 5 stars by gimpguy Sep 11, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
What bad can be said about this? Even if it's not someone's first choice over MS office or whatever, still, I feel this is likely the largest freeware application that is, well, free. It's uses are limitless, it's a complete replacement for Office, it does anything you need really, oh yeah, and FREE? Yep, likely why MS has lowered Office to 60 bucks for that ultimate steal offer, heh, well, OO is free, not 60 bucks and can do more than MS office in my opinion. Not saying MS office isn't good either, it is, but I feel OO has gone over the freeware limit with this, simply awesome application. Always has been, always will be. You can't go wrong with OO and it's been a lifesaver for MANY people! show Review details
Flaws noted here. 4 stars by Science_1 Aug 23, 2008
OpenOffice is fantastic! Yet, a few weaknesses do exist. OpenOffice and Microsoft Office are somewhat incompatible. This may be an issue if you must use MS Office for work or school. As a math student, I use OpenOffice exclusively for my notebooks. The OO and MS formula editors are not compatible at all. The OpenOffice formula editor is a struggle to master, while the MS formula editor is -far- more intuitive, flexible, and produces a nicer final document. Why do I use OpenOffice? Price. You can't beat free. (Besides, who likes "Big Brother" Microsoft?) While I've had fewer lockups with OpenOffice, they do happen; usually when trying something weird, such as pasting a frame into a frame or undoing a frame across a page break. (Ninety percent of the time things go off without a hitch.) The lesson is, be it MS or OO, save your work frequently. Verdict: OpenOffice is an outstanding package. Just know that MS and OpenOffice do not play well together. show Review details
Speechless 5 stars by Jed_Be Aug 18, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
When you see almost perfection, for free, what can you say? I really recommend this bundle to all private users, really! As a former professional, I can recommend it! It's not for all newbies, but for those who were slaved to MS office, please take the jump, you won't be disappointed! Congratulations for you all who wrote this masterpiece. show Review details
I agree with all previous reviewers 4 stars by gusimio Apr 21, 2008 (Read all my 31 reviews)
You can't beat the features and the price for sure; however, there is a moderate learning curve associated with this software, so just be patient and read the help section if/when you get stuck. show Review details
An excellent product 5 stars by aliens4mwa Jan 07, 2008
I love OpenOffice! It puts Microsoft Office Suite to shame. And it is free! I haven`t had any problems with it as of yet. You just have to remember to save your docs in .doc if you want to use them with Microsoft Word. GREAT PRODUCT! show Review details
The best. 5 stars by yassertariq Oct 06, 2007 (Read all my 89 reviews)
It has so many more features (ver 2.3) than Microsoft's Office has. Yet it's 100% free. So don't wait, just download it now. show Review details
The best freebie 4 stars by MouseChaser Oct 02, 2007 (Read all my 27 reviews)
The Best One Out There.And It's Free. show Review details
Wow 5 stars by JimWillis Jun 22, 2007 (Read all my 8 reviews)
The long and short of it is simple enough. Super, well done, every bit as helpful to me as Ms Office. Show me a better deal for the money and I'll buy it. show Review details
Genuine MS Office alternative 5 stars by GreyWolf Feb 21, 2007
This is truly an excellent office suite program. I highly recommend this software for those of us who desire an outstanding office program without having to pay the high price of MS Office. show Review details
Highly recommend . . . 5 stars by JMMannion Jan 27, 2007 (Read all my 25 reviews)
In fairness to the reader let me say I have been using OOo for about three years. Lately I use only the Writer, but I do use the PDF Converter frequently. I no longer use any other part of the OOo program, i.e., the office tools. I no longer have a need for them. Therefore my opinion on the program is predicated on just the Writer and PDF Converter both of which are excellent. I can construct pages with images and text which when converted to PDF format are nothing short of outstanding. I use Writer for most of my text needs along with Nvu. In fairness to MS Word, yes, I still use it but less and less frequently as OOo seems to be my favorite. OpenOffice now imports and exports other formats nicely which makes it nice to use. I would recommend this program to anyone without a moments hesitation. It is a nice comfortable program to use. Like any software it takes time to become familiar with it, then it is like an old friend. JMM show Review details
Who needs office ? 4 stars by Belatucadrus Jan 24, 2007 (Read all my 13 reviews)
OpenOffice 2 is a remarkable package and completely open source with no license limitations, have as many copies as you like for nothing ! For most people it'll do all they want from an office suite and more. I install on all my PCs and I'd love to give it five but for a few small niggles. 1) No grammar check and lord knows I need one, if Microsoft can fit one in the feeble Works package, surely Sun and the open source community can do it ? 2) the database is a huge improvement, but it's not up to Access standard yet, some of the form design tools for example are a pain in the posterior. Office is a good suite, but it's overblown, overspecced and overpriced, try OpenOffice instead it's well worth the effort. show Review details
I really must be dreaming. it's free? 5 stars by Bighugs Jan 23, 2007 (Read all my 6 reviews)
There just isn't enough words to describe how beautiful this program really is. I put it right up there with its' predecessor [** Office]. It has so many options and such a wonderful interface. It's fast. It's familiar to anybody who has used big expensive programs like the one mentioned above. I believe you could run a small business with this software! It's also great for Students who need to do homework, then be able to bring it to school and have all of the schools' software read it. COMPATIBILITY is the word! You just have to get this one. You will be a very happy surfer indeed. :o) show Review details
Thank god no Microsoft 5 stars by Kmanslick Dec 12, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Finally an alternative to stupid Microsoft without paying 100's of dollars for its software. The best alternative to Microsoft out there and comes with great features. Just the writer alone is worth the download but then they have Powerpoint and Excel type of programs. Comes with great features and people should spread the word. Download! show Review details
Sing the praises 5 stars by hrwasp Dec 12, 2006 (Read all my 48 reviews)
LA LA LA ... DO DO DO ... LA LA LA! What can I say, Microsoft is in trouble! I've just finished a site install of Open Office and a site UNINSTALL of MS Office! Oh happy days! show Review details
Great for small businesses, home users, etc. 5 stars by SithTracy Nov 11, 2006 (Read all my 19 reviews)
On a budget? Don't need all the bloated features of popular office suites? Give a try. It is very compatible with MSOffice and most users won't have any problems exchanging data with others. This product gets better with each release. The product has an open standard for document format, but I'll admit it means very little right now. We will have to wait and see, but it is a very impressive office suite. show Review details
Voodoo for ms office 5 stars by ZenWarrior Oct 12, 2006 (Read all my 13 reviews)
Consider OpenOffice a voodoo doll for MS Office. Downloading and using this superb software is not unlike sticking a pin into a Bill Gates or MS Office voodoo doll. I've used OO for over two years now and have not once missed the now uninstalled MS Office. Use OO and keep the ridiculous amount of money demanded for MS Office in your pocket. show Review details
Awesome 5 stars by caboing Sep 23, 2006 (Read all my 18 reviews)
Excellent Alternative. Reads MSOffice files an its free. show Review details
Get it! 5 stars by Tantalus Feb 11, 2006 (Read all my 7 reviews)
As an exclusive user of Microsoft Office for the past 10 years, I was reluctant to switch to anything else. After reading about OpenOffice in numerous publications, I finally decided to give it a try. (What the heck, it's free.) I am pleasantly surprised with this software. It has a slight learning curve from MS Office but I found the menus and options to be very intuitive. I have found no compatibility problems yet with my existing MS files. (OpenOffice will recognize MS files and save them as MS files if you desire.) This package is now my mainstay and I am converting all my MS files to open source format. I am no longer a slave to MS and their expensive, proprietary office suite. show Review details
Integration as it was "meant" to be. 5 stars by PulpKult Dec 08, 2005
For those of you who frequently create multi-faceted documents. Particularly, those which may contain illustrations, formats and even the odd colorful diagram. This software suite is for you. BUT, there is more. Supposing you are the one who actually creates the additional data, that I mentioned before? The document may require extracts from a Database perhaps, or a complex drawing with linked text and paragraphs of details. Where do you obtain all this extra workflow. The answer is, you simply click onto that part of the suite, which you need to carry it out. As I said, this suite is so wonderfully integrated that all the parts of the Complex document can be built from right inside the "OpenOffice". This is what makes the Open Office Suite (all six parts (6) of the application) totally rock. Not MS office, or any other application suite that I have used has, or can do so comfortably, what this one does. PulpKult. show Review details
Excellent freeware program 5 stars by digipaws Nov 12, 2005 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Everybody should try this, such a good freeware download. Offers all the same features that the Microsoft suite does, and with fantastic downloads like this available for free, unless you have got the Microsoft programs with your computer it just doesn't seem worth going out and buying it! show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...


CintaNotes take and manage notes

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers

CopyTrans Manager

CopyTrans Manager manage your iPod without iTunes

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring