Miranda IM

Miranda IM User Reviews



5 stars50% 4
4 stars50% 4
3 stars0% 0
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 8 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 8 user reviews
Post your own review

Best one 5 stars by TerryP Jun 13, 2010 (Read all my 87 reviews)
This is a small download, comes in a portable version, has a small footprint, and is devoid of fluff I don't need. It works with multiple protocols and has an amazing set of configurable features that can be tweaked. This is the IM to use for anyone needing a highly configurable basic chat client that works and can do without the resource hogging eye candy and juvenile gimmicks. show Review details
Perfect 4 stars by Docsousa Dec 04, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Just the chat please. Clean simple interface, no flashy garbage. Love It! show Review details
Add-ins make all the difference, but... 4 stars by BengalTigger Feb 05, 2008 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Miranda's use of add-in functionality is both a blessing and a curse. Add-ins allow Miranda's core developers to maintain their focus on the basic client while others create the additional optional functionality. Pros: Basic client has relatively low resource usage. With add-ons you get really nice features and visual improvements. In fact, with the more popular add-ons, Miranda is arguably superior to all of the other IM clients currently available. Cons: Choosing, downloading, installing, enabling, and configuring all of the add-ins is not for the faint of heart. Appearance of basic client is drab at best and is missing some features you might expect. I am sure many uninstall it based upon first appearance without giving it a second chance. show Review details
The best IM to come down the pike 5 stars by nellybly Jun 23, 2007
Some people complain that it's too "barebones". That's just what I like about it. No extra junk that comes with downloading and installing each separate IM. I like the "all in one" aspect about it, that I don't have to download all those other messengers. It even has a simple IRC. It's small and light. It doesn't take over your desktop and it's not a resource hog. show Review details
Best universal messenger program 5 stars by irieites Apr 25, 2007
Miranda is completely free and a highly recommended universal messenger software. It installs with the basic needs, as it knocks out all the nonsense, whether spam or cutesy stuff. From that point, the sky is the limit on what you could do with Miranda, from functionality to appearance. And yes, you could have all the cute stuff you desire. There are plug-ins/add-ons for every desire you have on a messenger service...and more. The file is small, footprint small. The entire program connecting simultaneously to all the chat services like AIM, MSN, Yahoo, ICQ or GoogleTalk is smaller than using even a single of those programs. This is simply an amazing piece of software. I would think that the reason Snapfiles has rated it so low is because they realize that this thing has so much upside, that the basic computer user may get lost. I could agree that it may not be for the squeamish, but the basic user could also stay with the basic install :) show Review details
By far the best there is! 5 stars by tomcat Mar 14, 2006 (Read all my 16 reviews)
It has a slight learning curve and not for the computer illiterate out there. Main download is barebone basically and you add what you want from there. I have gmail notifier plugged in and the weather and popups by system tray as well as a nice female voice when messages or email arrive or users change status. Also I added my own picture for the contact list of a beautiful woman! It's small and fast and you can customize it just they way you want. It also boasts support for aim and yahoo and google, irc, icq etc... If you're sick of dealing with generic IMs like trillian and windows messenger than gives this a try, but be prepared to spend a good couple hours to set it all up the way you want. In the long run it is way worth it. Thanx Miranda. show Review details
Ready for plug-ins! 4 stars by Defconn1 Nov 12, 2005 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This is a nice little program, very little. Only about 1MB in size, installs in under 2MB and only uses 5MB of your RAM when you run it which is about 7MB less than anything else I've tried). This program is made for people to customize it by adding plug-ins to it. I'd have to say, though, that the starting product is very barren, too stripped down if you ask me. Though if you are willing to spend a little time, you can surf through Miranda's site and download plugins for the client. Then you can add what you like, keep out what you don't. This program has the potential of being the best on Windows, if you can spend enough time installing good plug-ins that is. show Review details
I now have gadu gadu ! 4 stars by worldpacker Jul 06, 2005
As I have friends in Poland they (of course) use Gadu Gadu, everybody in Poland does so. But GG is only available in Polish..... I don't understand a word of it. Miranda offers the solution and it works perfectly! The lack of bells and whistles of MSN, Yahoo and others please me also instead of missing it! I use it for my MSN and Yahoo contacts as well. Fast, straightforward and simple. My choice! show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

LightZone

LightZone Open-source digital darkroom software

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

NetSpot

NetSpot Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Discovery and Troubleshooting

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring

MessageExport for Outlo

MessageExport for Outlo convert emails to PDF and other formats