icon

Jarte user reviews

5 stars60% 6
4 stars30% 3
3 stars0% 0
2 stars10% 1
1 star0% 0
Based on 10 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 10 user reviews Post your own review

Mashup wordpad with some Onenote functions 5 stars by Wastrel Feb 28, 2013 (Read all my 17 reviews)
Mashup WordPad with some OneNote functions, and you've got Jarte! The interface takes a little getting used to because there's so much there compared to simple WordPad. There's an exceptional attention to detail, also evident with the online help. Jarte Plus adds some features which you might find useful, but the free version has enough for me to want to pay the fee. With the document formatting and embedding along with the screen capture and "favorite" features, I can do just about everything in Jarte that I've been relying on OneNote for over the past decade--all in a nice portable format (which makes it easier to keep in a TrueCrypt drive). showShow review details
Sort of a let down 2 stars by JMMannion Aug 13, 2010 (Read all my 25 reviews)
I used the free version periodically for about five years then bought the Jarte Plus version a few weeks ago I am a little disappointed. I got everything the Plus version promises, however, the document save format is not up to snuff. Lots of problems if I want to move the format to MS Word, OpenOffice, IBM Lotus and so on. The price was not a bank-breaker, but I was a little disappointed with the entire Plus package. I do like creating backgrounds in Photoshop and changed the background to suit my mood. Other than that, I'll stick with MS Word which I have been using since the mid Nineties. I do keep IBM Lotus and OpenOffice on the drive mainly because OpenOffice has such a fantastic PDF converter built-in. I would recommend the free version of Jarte, but the update deserves consideration. The program is cute, but not for serious work. J. Mannion showShow review details
What a cool program! 5 stars by nobull2 May 02, 2008 (Read all my 25 reviews)
I just love Jarte. Under File options you can use File associations with Jarte if you prefer. I did and now the pages come up super fast. Microsoft Goodbye! I have found a much faster and easier program. It is a small program and I just love it for most of my applications. IMO showShow review details
In the top three for word processors 4 stars by compfix Mar 21, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
In the battle for free and open source word processing there are the big three, Jarte, Openoffice and Abiword. Jarte wins points with me for its ability to handle footnotes and headers a little bit better than Abiword (or at least, easier to get to). Openoffice is just huge but awesome, and yeah, just get Jarte. showShow review details
Has the features I need 5 stars by tw9123 Nov 14, 2007
It lets you send as email.It underlines domain names.It has a good help section. showShow review details
Very good features 4 stars by luc0815 Oct 31, 2007 (Read all my 5 reviews)
This text editor has very nice features for making writing as straightforward as possible - not necessarily for business type requirements. It allows you to focus more on the creative process. The spell checking of the pro-version works fine. Unique and interesting features like the one-click bookmark management, favorite fonts, etc. Really useful user interface inventions. On the other hand the interface looks more unconventional than necessary and a still a bit childish - certainly a matter of taste. A second drawback is the lack of "Open Document Format" support. showShow review details
At first it may look a little weird... 5 stars by D_Spider Jun 17, 2007 (Read all my 19 reviews)
If you don't want or need a monster "office"-type word processor, Jarte will do just fine. It makes rich-text documents easily, imports pictures, does page-numbering, headers, footers, italics, boldface, multiple fonts, whatever size characters you like, highlighting, colors, etc. The interface is idiosyncratic, but it is easy to use and practical. Support from the author is generous and excellent. I've made some 30-pages-long documents with it; it's not just for short things. It's stable. I think it's the best small, free word processor available. showShow review details
My favorite program 4 stars by LaciElements Feb 22, 2007 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I have used both the free and plus version of this program , I am also currently beta testing version 3. This program is not intended to be a huge office like program thats geared for the business world , its intended for the rest of the world. This program has served me through a major life crisis with one of my children who is disabled . I managed to navigate federal court and in the end win my child the services they were entitled to because of the stability and ease of use of this program. I have written thousands of letters and briefs on this program, if I only had access to a huge office like program with a huge learning curve I would have lost and been lost. The author is very quick to reply to any support requests and does his best to move the program in a good direction. If your looking for a program for the everyday use and user this is it. showShow review details
Great! 5 stars by Luis19580 Mar 17, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Easy to use word processor. Has an awesome interface. Jarte is in my top 10 freeware! showShow review details
I like it! 5 stars by jafo72 Jul 12, 2005
It has a number of interesting features, including one click Cut, Copy, and Paste, big time savers if you do much of that. Direct access to the special characters Keyboard are two clicks away. One click for font and/or font size change, and for Bold, Italic, Underline, Strikeout, subscript, and superscript! One click access to twelve paragraph styles It has a one click save, save as, and save all functions. Two clicks to change fonts to 32 different colors. I do a lot of Internet research and find one feature of Jarte indispensable. That feature is the ability to highlight in 32 different colors! This feature allows me to attach degrees of importance to document items! I know of no other word processor that will do the same but if one does exist, I seriously doubt it can be done with two simple clicks as this program does. With all these features, it comes very attractive pricing, free! showShow review details
Back to product details   Add your review...
Download Jarte

Check out these featured downloads...

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

PhoXo

PhoXo image editing and effects

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring