FileZilla User Reviews

5 stars82% 28
4 stars14% 5
3 stars2% 1
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 34 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 34 user reviews
Post your own review

Best of breed I do believe 5 stars by JonathanB Nov 05, 2010
Earlier in its development, I found that FileZilla didn't work with a few buggy servers. Now it is my workhorse, it's my first choice always for FTP or FTP/SSH. It is also scriptable. show Review details
Trusted and easy FTP transfer 5 stars by wildgoosespeeder May 20, 2010 (Read all my 52 reviews)
FileZilla makes FTP simple. I do have one problem with this program and that is the default interface is more complicated than it needs to be. Good thing it's customizable. I don't need the directory trees for both the local site and remote site panes. Also I don't need the message log. Those things just clutter up the display. Otherwise this program is the best for all your FTP needs. show Review details
Sets the standard for any other FTP client 5 stars by jtania73 Mar 21, 2010 (Read all my 8 reviews)
I have been using FileZilla for several years. The most important thing I can say of this software is that it represents "the standard" for any other FTP client, because of its extreme compatibility with any FTP server and with any specific implementation of the FTP protocol. Other than that, it always gives the impression of a stable and well tested program, and it can be also used as a portable application, a thing I really appreciate in any program. show Review details
Very good 4 stars by boofby Aug 16, 2009 (Read all my 14 reviews)
What an FTP program should aspire to be. One thing I would consider reworking is the user interface, to make it a bit more user friendly. show Review details
Handiest little tool for FTPing files 5 stars by Stonenote Jul 07, 2009
I design and manage many websites and so uploading files from other parts of my computer is essential. Not all programs allow you to work outside of their application. This does. Here's a tweak I use though that helps ... Go to Edit >> Settings >> Interface >> Themes >> and select different and larger icon buttons (32 x 32) for ease. My favorite theme is Blukis as it gives you a better idea of what the icons actually mean! show Review details
It's da stuff 5 stars by gimpguy Sep 17, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
I've used others, I've uninstalled others. This one, is a keeper. It's simple and even parts that may not be so simple, they have enough explanations to get anyone on their way. FTP management has never been better. show Review details
Excellent free ftp software 5 stars by mskhalil May 20, 2008
Thanks to tom , this soft is light, free, does what I need. show Review details
A pleasure to use this workhorse 5 stars by techqi Mar 25, 2008 (Read all my 7 reviews)
I've used this program almost on a daily basis for a couple of years now. So far, no dropped data or other glitches. An excellent Open Source application for anyone who works with web development or moving files to/from servers. Many thanks to the developer for a great application that benefits lots of people every day. show Review details
One great ftp program! 5 stars by rmc0315 Jan 24, 2008
This program is quite excellent. It has all of the features I was looking for with the same functionality of the expensive FTP programs I have used in the past. I have been a webmaster for 9 years and have alot of experience with FTP programs. FileZilla is top of the line! You have to try this program before you make the mistake of paying for something you can have for free!!! You won't regret it!!!!! show Review details
Great ftp application 5 stars by WareQi Aug 24, 2007 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Works the way it's supposed to, without errors and in an uncomplicated way. FileZilla is nearly as awesome as the one or two top-rated commercial apps out, and best of all show Review details
Full featured, yet easy to use 5 stars by freebieguy Jul 20, 2007 (Read all my 6 reviews)
It's easy to configure and use. As good as, if not better than, many commercial FTP programs that charge you tens of dollars. show Review details
I can't believe it's free! 5 stars by Vortex Jun 21, 2007 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I rarely go through the hassle of joining a website to post a review, but I have to for this program. I have been in IT for over 15 years and this is definitely at the top of my list of Best Programs to keep handy!... show Review details
This is it! 5 stars by ysying May 29, 2007 (Read all my 3 reviews)
There is no tab, means you cannot connect to multiple servers in ONE window. Like it's big deal!! This is the FTP program you need. It's light, it's fast, and most of all, it's FREE! show Review details
Very good 4 stars by JSoftInc May 15, 2007 (Read all my 6 reviews)
This software is easy to setup and use. i am not an expert, but this software has all the tools and more that i need to download files from the website. it even has a feature to not log you off if you are doing other things. this is great software and it is just as good or better than cute ftp and some of the other ones you have to pay for. nice job Tim!! show Review details
Excellent with couple of stupidity 4 stars by Nisha_ Mar 18, 2007 (Read all my 5 reviews)
For example it always open with small window size which you have to maximize every time you start it as the size it shows does not show you details you want to see. Why can't it remember window size and position so many programs remember ? It does not understand to stop trying to connect when the FTP server keeps on saying 'maximum number of connections reached'. etc. Except few other things nice program to have. show Review details
Good but has problems 4 stars by Banquero1 Mar 05, 2007
The program has a nice interface and you can't beat the price. However, there is a problem I discovered that's a deal-breaker for me. It shows the wrong year (2006 instead of 2007) on some files created after I advanced the server date/time from February to March for a test. I'm concerned that I would delete good files in the belief that they are old. The problem will remain since, after reporting it, the publisher says that there's nothing wrong and Filezilla works the way it should. I don't agree since every other FTP program I show Review details
The standard 5 stars by mikej9 Jan 11, 2007 (Read all my 5 reviews)
I believe it's the standard for others to follow. And free to boot. Downloading this is a real no-brainer. show Review details
Great on 2k/xp but does not run on 98/me 5 stars by TheUnderground Dec 18, 2006
Overall on Windows 2k/XP Filezilla is awesome and I'd recommend it to all. However, Snapfiles needs to update this listing to reflect that Filezilla doesn't support 98/ME. show Review details
Better than some commercial offerings 5 stars by SithTracy Nov 11, 2006 (Read all my 19 reviews)
A fine GUI FTP client that simply works. I like that it is open source. I'd possibly like to see it integrate with OpenPGP (GnuPG/gpg), but it is not that important. The product works great. Give it a try. show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by jextuens Nov 02, 2006 (Read all my 38 reviews)
Excellent FTP client. show Review details
Great software 5 stars by BillRichards Aug 10, 2006
I used to get transfer errors that required me to upload again (and again) to get things done right. I found the solution by disabling multiple connections. Everything else about this product is great. Fully functional and becoming more powerful with each version. show Review details
File mixup 3 stars by Schillerkopf Jul 16, 2006
I was using FileZilla for a couple of months to upload database and large numbers of jpg-files to a website. In general the software works fine but recently I discovered a strange thing, which is best explained with an example: upload two different jpg-files, ImageA.jpg and ImageB.jpg, both files appear on the website with the correct file names but the images are identical: ImageA = ImageB! My only explanation is that FileZilla mixed up the content of the files during upload. Fortunately such incidents don't happen very often. Nevertheless and because it is very difficult and time consuming to identify the affected files I stopped using FileZilla and returned to FTP voyager. show Review details
Absolutely the best ! 5 stars by jesusimperat Jun 21, 2006 (Read all my 27 reviews)
Easy, powerfull, efficient ! The best FTP you can find out there ! show Review details
Still the best 5 stars by Redoubt Jun 19, 2006
Simple, durable, free. It has all the virtues you would pay for if you couldn't get it here... and none of the bugs that usually come with larger programs. Get it. show Review details
Great for beginners! 5 stars by Apexman May 19, 2006
This is my first FTP client program and it couldn't be easier to use. The tutorial was a bunch of help and it doesn't seem at all limited in features. I would recommend this to anyone looking to administer a web site for the first time. show Review details
Excellent in all aspects except reliability 5 stars by jmaloney Apr 17, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I show Review details
Excellent ! 5 stars by dolf04 Mar 13, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Tried all known ftp programs but this is one relative small, fast, stable, works ftp errors free, uploads every file correct and it's free! show Review details
Works splendid 5 stars by Mike98 Feb 28, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
Due to connecting problems with SmartFTP, I had to find an other FTP program. Because of big size and positive reviews I decided to give FileZilla a try. I downloaded FilaZilla from his website and it installs and uninstalls easy. I never have had a better FTP program than FileZilla, because it has all the functions you need, is fast and works splendid. show Review details
Well worth downloading! 5 stars by nudnik Feb 19, 2006
This is perhaps one of the best FTP clients I've used. There is one minor drawback: The option of toggling hidden files on and off is only available for remote folders; hidden files are always visible in local folders, whether you want to see them or not. If that were corrected, FileZilla would be perfect. show Review details
Great software, easy to use! 5 stars by larrywingo Feb 10, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I've been using Filezilla for about a year now and it's great! My web pages are loaded easily, quickly and without headaches. Makes the task of updating very simple and with link exchanges and the importance of popularity, software like Filezilla is essential to any webmaster! show Review details
Handles hidden files 5 stars by mattware Jan 21, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
Used LeechFtp for 6 years but I now need to manage hidden files (those that begin with a "."). FileZilla handles these as well as any normal file. show Review details
The only ftp program you need 5 stars by sazhazman Dec 14, 2005 (Read all my 26 reviews)
Outstanding features, very intuitive. I use it daily and I have yet to find a bug in the past 2 years. What more could you ask for? show Review details
Some sounds, maybe? 5 stars by ianmacm Oct 16, 2005 (Read all my 174 reviews)
To get straight to the point: this is the best freeware FTP client available and there is little point in paying for an FTP program without trying this one first. The old but popular WS-FTP-LE (no longer available) had sound alerts for "transfer completed" etc but FileZilla has no sounds. This is something that could be considered for future versions. show Review details
Ftp (fantastic, terrrrriffic programming) 4 stars by dessnr Sep 10, 2005
In my point of view and experience that I have had with FTP (File Transfer Protocol) software, Filezilla is without a doubt the thunder god in it's class. I have recommended it to so many people now and they all say the same thing. We are not only ecstatic about the ease of use, nice interface, it's features and time saving but the fact that it's free knocked us all for six. It apparently had problems in the past as any software does in it's maturing stages, however myself and friends have been using it for about 6 months now and have not had a problem. Well done indeed. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

CopyTrans Manager

CopyTrans Manager manage your iPod without iTunes

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers


CintaNotes take and manage notes

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders