Eraser

Eraser User Reviews



5 stars61% 13
4 stars19% 4
3 stars14% 3
2 stars4% 1
1 star0% 0
Based on 21 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 21 user reviews
Post your own review

Simple and efficient cleanup tool 5 stars by DarrinSingleton Jul 16, 2015 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Eraser definitely does what it promises to: efficient and safe cleanup. For the absolute majority of cases, it is sufficient. For better safety (or less paranoia), I would advise to a) erase your temporary files folder on shutdown with Eraser, and b) use encrypted filesystem such as encfs to even more reduce chances to recover whatever sensitive data you could have on disk. show Review details
Eraser does it's job 5 stars by SeSorrow Apr 30, 2011 (Read all my 29 reviews)
Never knew I needed this, til I found it. Does a great job of erasing on demand with a high level of destruction. You won't be able to recover files with this one. Interface is beautiful and couldn't be easier to use and understand. Can be set on a schedule to delete files/folders automatically which is great for me. I use to it delete the recycle bin on a schedule. show Review details
Version 6 is not as good as v5 3 stars by macantab Apr 20, 2010 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I tried upgrading from V5.8 to V6.0, didn't like it, and so have reinstalled V5.8 again. I use Eraser only from the context menu add-on, and found the changes in V6 annoying, such as an icon in the tray (notification area) that was no use to me at all. I couldn't find any option in V6 to get rid of it. Changes to the context menu add-on also didn't make V6 any easier to use. show Review details
Hdd hog 3 stars by DiatonicMuttley Aug 31, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Although this file shredder works it also took a lot of my HDD up by creating temporary files of the unused disk space. Problem: Eraser is supposed to delete all temporary files it created when it is finished shredding your unused disk space. However after a couple of months my 80GB HDD was left with 6GB of free sapce, and yes I let it finish uninterupted... show Review details
Going going gone 5 stars by gimpguy Sep 24, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
Does away with all the dirt and seems to do a good job of it. I am more impressed with this one than others and I feel it's definitely a keeper. show Review details
Two thumbs up! 5 stars by jackofhack Sep 23, 2008 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Dose what it says, not for the novice user though... Very Good program. Two thumbs up! Thank You, for this one... show Review details
Very good program 5 stars by mars11 Jun 06, 2008
I try many shredders and this one is the best. An especially good feature is "Locked files" - it enables resolving of file locking (after restart). In many cases this program help me to delete a file which seemed to be undeleteable (just because it was locked by another process). Recommend it to everyone. show Review details
Good proggie, but not for the easy minded 3 stars by BENDECHO Apr 29, 2008 (Read all my 5 reviews)
It does exactly what it should, however the GUI is not upto scratch considering the competition. Having said that, I use it with pleasure, but can imagine that some would require a more user-friendly interface. show Review details
Certainly adequate for home use 4 stars by Deejay Apr 09, 2008 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I used this to wipe a hard drive before selling my PC on ebay, to remove any possibility of my stored passwords and personal files being recovered by an unscrupulous buyer. I then tried a myriad of recovery programs (free and paid-for) and none could find any files to recover, which is good enough for me. Some of the other reviews on here are frankly quite disturbing - what on earth do you guys have on your hard drive that you would want to be protected from forensic investigation? The RIAA aren't that bothered about your mp3s, seriously. Professional data recovery services aren't cheap. You're safe with Eraser. show Review details
Excellent piece of software 4 stars by dunlorn Feb 06, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Nice bit of software. Easy to use and very thorough. I especially like the way it integrates in the right click menu when using the recycle bin.... show Review details
Works great 5 stars by Shodan816 Feb 04, 2008 (Read all my 41 reviews)
Fantastic secure deletion utility with the additional ability to securely delete your hard drive`s free space. One thing I would like to see added is the ability to pick and choose the type of erasure for the recycle bin instead of having all seven choices to choose from each time I attempt to erase my recycle bin. show Review details
The standard for secure file deletion 4 stars by foxmulder881 Feb 02, 2008
Great application for secure file removal. And obviously the best feature of it being completely free! show Review details
Complete, proven, fast, free 5 stars by mikesantana Jul 30, 2007 (Read all my 25 reviews)
Best of the lot. Not only can you erase a file directly from right-click, you can erase the recycle bin the same way if you "forgot". Best of all, you can wipe all free space (including the unused bits of re-allocated clusters) if you think you might have left some confidential files un-erased. Tried this app because of other comments, thanks guys, no regrets! show Review details
Great default app for secure deletion. 5 stars by g246020 Jun 26, 2007 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Excellent secure eraser. Allows Windows integration (right click, select Erase). The app allows to secure-erase empty space. Have been happily using with XP last few years. show Review details
The standard. 5 stars by jackfrost May 14, 2007 (Read all my 35 reviews)
Widely imitated, this program has not been exceeded by any other and it has truly replaced all that preceeded it. not only does it surpass DoD spec wiping, it includes Dr. Gutmans method as well. It can even take in YOUR method, if you take the time to input it. it can also work from commandline and a boot floppy or cd-dvd. this is the first and last word in free disc space wiping, scheduled maintenance, single file wiping and disc wiping. i have many intelligence community clients who test the quality of my services, especially when using this utility, and they are more than satisfied. not only can you specify your wipes, there is drag and drop as well as contextual access and an EXCELLENT help file that will educate you more than you ever care to be educated on the subject. Sami Tolvanen, you are indeed a legend in my neck of the woods, and i thank you for your thoughtful authorship. Eraser is a work of art. show Review details
The best file erase program I have found. 5 stars by AdeptSystems Mar 16, 2007 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Deleting files in Windows doesn't really remove the file. It just removes the reference to those files which means a data recovery program can still restore them. When you right click on the recycle bin and select erase recycle bin, Eraser overwrites the contents of the recycle bin to completely obliterate any data that was there. I have tried different file shredding programs but found this one to be the best for Windows. Once you use Eraser on a file you can be assured that it really is erased and not just deleted! show Review details
Great tool! 5 stars by Koro_shite_yaru Mar 15, 2007 (Read all my 11 reviews)
This is simple one of the best file-eraser tools. show Review details
Good 5 stars by Rambosden Dec 23, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Easy to use, nice setup for deletion. On demand drag and drop is very good. I do recommend this program to my friends. show Review details
Ok but be careful 4 stars by doctor Sep 23, 2006
Excellent program, will tell you the files that it couldnt wipe "file slack" from. 1st time I've seen an eraser program that tells the truth about how well/bad its performed so you can do something about it. 10/10 for that. It is a confusing interface, at first, so be careful if you only want to wipe free space make sure it is only set to wipe free space. If you are not sure of that then you will wipe your data.Excellent program - will recommend to many more show Review details
System restore xp 2 stars by magnetic56 May 27, 2006 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Heidi Eraser has one problem; it erases all System Restore points in XP when you do an unused disk space erase. And you can not change the settings to stop it doing that. I can put the long time it takes to erase, but for the above problem... show Review details
Best eraser utility 5 stars by busybusy Aug 03, 2005 (Read all my 157 reviews)
Great program. works perfectly but if your not careful about the erase mode you will not be able to recover your data if you make a mistake. Support this program so they keep improving it. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders