Cobian Backup

Cobian Backup User Reviews

5 stars63% 14
4 stars13% 3
3 stars9% 2
2 stars13% 3
1 star0% 0
Based on 22 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 22 user reviews
Post your own review

Has grown and evolved 5 stars by busybusy Jul 03, 2012 (Read all my 156 reviews)
This program has grown and evolved. It is reliable, easy to setup and configure. It works on all Windows version without any issues. Upgrades are easy and your backup configurations are ready to go. The option to install CB as a server service is a great feature so it will work even when not logged in. It works both on workstations and servers where other utilities will not. Add it to your utility tool belt! Two-thumbs Up! show Review details
An old and trusted companion. 5 stars by xiruahu May 26, 2012 (Read all my 9 reviews)
Cobian Backup is a solid, extremely reliable and user friendly software. I change my PC every year and one of the first software I install is Cobian Backup. Five stars without a doubt. show Review details
Been using this reliably for years 5 stars by beadit Feb 05, 2011 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I've probably been using Cobian for 4 or 5 years. I've changed PC's several times and I simply pull the backup of all of my files and folders from my usb drive to the new computer and hey-presto everything is there. I set this for a full backup every 7 days - incremental backups in-between and no more that 3 full saved backups. My USB drive is big enough that I don't worry about compressing so on the odd occasion I've had to go and get a file back - it's just there. I like it so much that last year I sent my 2nd (small) donation to the developer - nothing speaks louder than being prepared to pay for something! show Review details
Great program, with one major drawback 2 stars by paul1149 Dec 13, 2010 (Read all my 13 reviews)
This would be a great program, except for the front end. Each folder/file has to be dragged individually into the backup job, rather than showing the entire tree with checkboxes. It has been like this from Day One, and it`s hard to believe it hasn`t been improved on. show Review details
File backup 4 stars by drbooth Jul 13, 2010 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I have to agree with a couple of items on this topic that include Syncback as an alternative. I have found that backing up to CDs is almost a thing of the past whether scheduled or not. I, personally, favor backing up when I feel it necessary. Syncback is preferred because I can use a 16gb USB drive to add any of my latest changes to my files and I can also delete any items I no longer need. Simple, does what it says and gets the job done efficiently. Enjoy your day. show Review details
Latest version (10) should have 5 stars 5 stars by autocart Jun 24, 2010 (Read all my 6 reviews)
At least for the version 10 I can not agree to anyone who gave less than 5 stars. It can (now) copy locked/used files; has schedule-automation; mirroring-sync option; full, differential and incremental backup; separated time-stamped backups or overwrite-option; "before and after"-command execution (can also be scheduled without a sync-job using "dummy"-backup); ... The only feature that I almost miss is real-time backup. But since I could not find a proggi that offers this in a satisfying way Cobian Backup is the best free file-backup-proggi I know of. (Of course it is meant for file-backup, not for whole partitions.) show Review details
Restricted features 2 stars by madmik Jul 15, 2009 (Read all my 32 reviews)
Just carries out full,time stamped backups without any synchronization or deletion at the destination. Accordingly it's necessary to remove old folders manually after each backup. Good simple backup function. Needs more work to realize its full potential. show Review details
Few features away from fabulous 5 stars by kirini May 16, 2009
It has compression. scheduling. It runs as service. Supports shadow copy. Only negative is that when selecting folder you cannot exclude files or subfolders, support for RW-CD/RW-DVD would be also nice. show Review details
For the most part, it`s very good 4 stars by gimpguy Sep 28, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
I have used Cobian on and off for some time but I keep going back to Syncback. Cobian has given me some trouble over time and I feel it's "on the verge" of becoming one of the best backup utilities out there. To some, it may already be but I feel it's not as easy to use for some, the interface lacks in some areas but for the most part, it's very good. I would still recommend it but there are others I would choose first that do the job better. show Review details
Simply the best 5 stars by lupusbalo Mar 11, 2008
Using it for years: reliable, great powerful features (including scheduling). Cannot lose data anymore. show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by fabrizio_conte Dec 07, 2007 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Highly tunable, affordable and stable. It offers rotation schemes, an internal scheduler and ftp operations. I use it at home to preserve my data and at the office to backup remote sites via ftp. show Review details
Not for me 3 stars by talisman Jul 01, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This program is overcomplicated and confusing to use. Most annoyingly it places a file reference on the desktop at every boot-up. show Review details
Great backup tool! 5 stars by Koro_shite_yaru Mar 15, 2007 (Read all my 11 reviews)
Amazing that this is still free software. show Review details
Going downhill 3 stars by JamesH Jul 25, 2006
I have used Cobian since version 6, and have always liked its reliability and many features (including compressed, encrypted, and FTP backups). But you can't delete files in the destination that have been deleted in the source. So when you try to do a restore, you are left with a confusing mess to deal with. It used to be (up to version 7) that there were ways around this limitation. For example, a zip compressed backup would not include deleted files. But even this has been changed in version 8. This is done on purpose by the author; he has a bug about never deleting anything, so this will not get fixed. Reluctantly, I am no longer using Cobian; SyncBackSE works well for me now. show Review details
Best free backup utility I have found 5 stars by Samuel171 Jul 23, 2006
I have been using this program for over a year now and just upgraded to the Ver. 8. It does everything I needed it to do for me. I use an 2nd internal HDD as my backup location. I have it set to backup my files automatically in the middle of the night while I sleep. The interface is easy to use and the whole program is very intuitive to use, with popup help notes at nearly every step of the way. Best of all it was free, but I liked the program enough to donate via Paypal to the author. Thank you Mr. Cobian for a nice little package that does its job without bloating my memory or hard drive. Shame on all of those charging upwards of $50.00 for programs that are no better than yours! show Review details
Excellent concept, well executed 5 stars by Dave_Leigh May 19, 2006
I use it to back up to an FTP server. It uses standard .zip format, so restoring is a breeze, as is transferring files (such as sending files to an accountant). Does full, incremental, and differential backups on a schedule. Has "hooks" to execute other processes both before and after the backup. Can compress and encrypt. And it's easy to use. show Review details
As freeware simply the best backup-program ! 5 stars by Hellraiser Apr 19, 2006 (Read all my 27 reviews)
Just a few words : Absolute great, splendid, fabulous and a tremendous job ! show Review details
No mirror option 2 stars by michaelxy Jan 15, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This Tool ist fast. But it will not delete files in destination if in the source the files where deleted. robocopy do this job good. show Review details
Very nice utility! 5 stars by Sacramento Oct 07, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
It does what one would expect from a back utility and more. show Review details
Simple backup solution 5 stars by SteMan_J Sep 28, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I tried many backup programs before I came across this excellent program. Many of the other software I tried where TRIALS and quite complex to get around. This is what makes Cobian a great bit of software. It's easy to set up a backup schedule and it's FREE. show Review details
Great backup utility 4 stars by jcharth Sep 08, 2005 (Read all my 16 reviews)
Works great for remote backups. It does not support Unicode character. if you live in china, you might want to select another one. show Review details
Perfect backup. 5 stars by VitoriaSC Jul 22, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
My favourite backup program. It works flawless... never had a problem. Recommended! show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software


CintaNotes take and manage notes


Unchecky prevent accidental installations of third party offers

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders