Agent Ransack

Agent Ransack User Reviews



5 stars50% 4
4 stars37% 3
3 stars12% 1
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 8 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 8 user reviews
Post your own review

Solid and functional 5 stars by MrJaw69 Oct 26, 2013 (Read all my 34 reviews)
I hate the standard Windows search. It's slow and it's clunky if you don't let the OS endlessly index the drive. When using windows search on a network drive, for some reason there's a delay before the search will commence. Happy was I to find Agent Ransack. It's very fast, it integrates with windows via right click or keyboard shortcut, and has power user features without being hard to use. The interface is clean and intuitive. Really good software keeps it simple but surprises you later with features you didn't even know you needed. Before I found that I needed it Agent Ransack had the ability to search multiple, specified folders. And there's no delay when searching a network drive, either. To nitpick, pushing F3 won't launch Agent Ransack, but maybe that's the fault of XP. Fortunately, CTRL-F will, so I'm good with that. Agent Ransack gets five stars, and I don't often give five stars. show Review details
Better than Windows Vista/7 search! 4 stars by wildgoosespeeder Dec 23, 2009 (Read all my 52 reviews)
All I have to say is that it's better than the slow Windows Vista/7 Search in Windows Explorer. The only thing that should be a feature is selecting a file type by a pull down menu just like in the Windows XP search function of Windows Explorer, if applicable. show Review details
Not exciting, but useful indeed. 3 stars by SilverFox Dec 21, 2009 (Read all my 7 reviews)
The Agent is useful for finding files on your computer. You can search by filename, using wildcards if you wish. It also searches within files. Say you are looking for a particular phrase or string of text within a document but can't remember the name of the file. Agent Ransack comes to the rescue! The interface is a bit dated and clunky, but still funcitonal. When installed Agent Ransack places a shortcut in the Start - Search menu, along with the default XP search app (the one with the animated doggie that 'sniffs' for files). If I was to suggest improvements, it would be for a more modern, user-friendly interface and a more comprehensive help file. A kind of 'Help File for Dummies' would help! show Review details
Blows Windows Search away 5 stars by Ruarke Dec 15, 2009 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I've been using this for...I don't know how long. At least 6 years. It's one of the first things I put on each of my Windows installations. This thing will find files that Windows Search says are not there. A keeper for sure. show Review details
Any better? 5 stars by gimpguy Aug 30, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
Does it get any better? Simply, it searches, it finds, it's easy to use. It's not the prettiest looking app but who cares as long as it does what it's supposed to do. I've used it for a loonngg time now and have used it numerous times, never once have I had an issue with it. Excellent software! show Review details
One of the best 4 stars by DingKing Aug 28, 2008
I really like this old program. It has followed me from every OS change and found a place even on Vista. Give it a try and use it every day or keep it in your tool box for when you can't find something that's buried to deep for your regular search tool. show Review details
Exactly what i was looking for 4 stars by shmooo Nov 01, 2006
I was looking for a clean, simple tool to search for text in files and that's what I got. show Review details
Outstanding 5 stars by Bluejay Mar 11, 2006
Does NOT index; my favorite feature. Fast, accurate, and repeatable. It's what XP's Search should have been. I like this so much I've upgraded to FileLocator Pro. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

NetSpot

NetSpot Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Discovery and Troubleshooting

LightZone

LightZone Open-source digital darkroom software

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

CardRecovery

CardRecovery recover images from memory cards

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software