5 stars54% 24
4 stars11% 5
3 stars9% 4
2 stars11% 5
1 star13% 6
Based on 44 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 44 user reviews Post your own review

Deceptive 1 stars by queenofmeanest530 Jun 21, 2012
I downloaded what I thought was the free version. After the download I found out what actually downloaded was the pay upgraded version. ... I clicked on no to downloading their toolbar and it installed anyway... Editor: The free version initially runs as 30 day trial of the Pro, after that you can continue to use it with the standard features. showShow review details
Now too complicated 1 stars by bd166125 May 16, 2012
Was fine until latest 'update' download. All I need is free version (only 'excellent' rating that could give) scanner. Now (2012), it wants to install anti-virus, toolbar, etc, etc. Why would I ever go with pay-for version if the free version is so difficult ? showShow review details
Excellent software 5 stars by desertjon Mar 05, 2012 (Read all my 18 reviews)
Excellent software..One of the best and wont slow your system down. Installs at only 37MB. Put the new version 10 on your shortlist which will be released very soon. It is in Beta right now and available for download on the Lavasoft website..but use at your own risk because it is still Beta and some users have complained it has disabled their antivirus software. When version 10 is final and ready to go...you will not need another antivirus program because Ad Aware comes complete with everything you'll need. Excellent company and track record in my book. showShow review details
What goes up must come down 2 stars by hrwasp Aug 28, 2011 (Read all my 48 reviews)
The once highly used software by college students has fallen. The interface is pretty good but not enough meat under the hood. The software just missed some obvious data-mining and tool bars that was installed on my test machine. showShow review details
No longer the best 1 stars by sazhazman Dec 09, 2010 (Read all my 26 reviews)
Years ago, this product was indispensable, I used to recommend it to anyone that had a spyware problem. But for the past year or two, scans took twice as long and returned false positives, typically system files. Pass on this product, others have left it far behind. showShow review details
Same old story 2 stars by Klatuu Sep 22, 2010 (Read all my 14 reviews)
As with AdAware versions of the past, the automatic updates are fine when the latest version is first released. But once the program is a few months old, updates take forever. There are other Freeware Spyware blockers with system monitoring that do not have this problem. It's a pretty good program, but updates take forever and to me, that makes this undesirable. showShow review details
Was a great program in it's day. 1 stars by Mike132 Nov 15, 2009 (Read all my 18 reviews)
I agree that at one time it was one of the very best. But now it's become problematic to use and is not effective at all.I can no longer in good faith recommend it to anyone these days. I not longer have it installed. There are far better things you can use other than this software. showShow review details
Faded glory 2 stars by Fletch Jan 20, 2009 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Don't try the Anniversary Edition out of nostalgia, this once decent program has tumbled. False positives galore [even including system files!] and conflicts apparently with most of the legitimate anti-spyware aps. It even alleges malware in the files of spybot [transparent behavior and pretty sad attempt at market penetration?].Clutters the interface with features not available to the unwashed freeware users,slows down PC to a crawl and tries to call home more than "ET". After avoiding the 2007 edition because of it's 'can't turn me off nohow' behavior I heard good things about new version from a beta tester but it's a clunker. SE was the last useful version but they now force you to download and install updated definition files manually into the install folder--Lavasoft seems to be getting progressively worse. There are many better choices around. showShow review details
All glitter 2 stars by jerbear86 Feb 13, 2008
Used to be the best. Now it's all glitter and how can we get everyone to buy our glitter. showShow review details
Not quite what it used to be 3 stars by kol2008 Jan 25, 2008 (Read all my 14 reviews)
AdAware used to be excellent; however, it is becoming a bit outmoded compared to newer, faster, more efficient paid and freeware anti-spyware scanners. Even "AdAware SE plus edition" (paid version) now leaves a bit to be desired. Free or paid AdAware versions sometimes are now also prone to glitch when you have other, newer anti-spyware installed, and sometimes won't let you download updates from Lavasoft's website. But if you can get AdAware to run with no such problems, it is a handy extra scanner -- I would NOT depend on it as an essential tool these days. showShow review details
Average program 2 stars by mybuzz Aug 25, 2007 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This used to be a great program a few years ago but it is seriously lacking teeth nowadays. Updates are about once a week and it hardly finds anything on my system as apposed to several other programs that regularly find cookies and occasional files. I would pass on this until the developers spend some time improving it. showShow review details
A much better version than the 2007 version. 5 stars by MouseChaser Aug 13, 2007 (Read all my 27 reviews)
I Love This Version Much Better Than The AdAWare 2007 Version. This One I Can add My Skins, the 2007 Version cannot have a Variety Of Skins Added. showShow review details
Saved so many systems at once 5 stars by chiconics Jul 14, 2007
I have used this on several systems, and it has brought some of them back to browsing life. I had friends who could not escape an ad website from startup and Ad-aware gave them back control of their internet browsing. I would recommend this software to everyone. showShow review details
Good back-up 3 stars by jackfrost May 13, 2007 (Read all my 35 reviews)
It can never be a primary tool for anti-spyware, but it is still an essential tool and a good second or third in any arsenal against the scum of the earth. and as far as automatic updating goes, don't want it, don't need it. it is never good for any program ever to have that sort of unacceptable behavior. nothing beats manually initiating every action on your pc. so kudos to them for leaving an annoyance out of their code. showShow review details
Everybody needs this program... 5 stars by Djohnfot Feb 08, 2007 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Ad-Aware SE belongs in every computer users arsenal against spyware (nee: Malware) and it should be used often. Spyware sucks and you can use this great program to find and eliminate it. The scanner is better than that of many commercial programs but it does not have a resident shield. Signature updates are frequent. Run Ad-Aware SE with a companion program such as Spybot or Tenebril's Spycatcher Express, both of which have resident shields, and you won't need a commercial spyware catcher. showShow review details
Handles the problem . . . 5 stars by JMMannion Jan 31, 2007 (Read all my 25 reviews)
This program works! I will give it an excellent rating because it does so well. JMM showShow review details
Download it 5 stars by Azguard98 Jan 04, 2007 (Read all my 18 reviews)
Stop reading these reviews. They all say it rules. Download it. It's maybe the only program around that's FREE, WORKS, and its very TRUSTWORTHY. It won't mess up your PC like other poorly-programmed wanna-be's. showShow review details
Why is this so popular? 3 stars by pcs800 Dec 20, 2006 (Read all my 222 reviews)
I admit, when I was less experienced with malware and virus problems and how to fix them, I too downloaded adaware regularly. But compared to some of the power apps like Spyware Terminator, and what used to be Ewido, ad-aware is a kids toy. It misses tons of "baddies" and does a terrible job removing stubborn ones that it does find. On the good side, the developers do keep up to date as far as regularly updating the database. but this app just does not do the job well enough. Same review can be applied to the never dying "Spybot". showShow review details
Excellent adware remover 5 stars by Kmanslick Dec 17, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This piece of software found a lot of adware and spyware items I didn't even know I had which other scanners could not detect. The interface is about the same as the previous versions of ad aware with the shield still belonging to the full edition. I like the fact that it doesn't come with "automatic updates" and that it uses little system resources when on. Overall its worth the price and you should download it if the other spyware scanners aren't doing it for you. showShow review details
A real smooth operator 4 stars by Dragon10 Dec 10, 2006 (Read all my 40 reviews)
I really like Ad-Aware v.1.06r1! Does its job, is reliable, dependable and integrates with Windows '98 without issue. The scan is proving to be comprehensive and is relatively quick when compared to similar programs in its class. The manual updates are straightforward, rapidly downloaded and installed without complications. Sufficient flexibility and scope within the program for the 'User' to define their own operating parameters and preferences. The only reason I have not given a higher rating is because I am, currently, only using the 'Freeware' version so do not have experience of the application in its fullest capacity but would not doubt it to have the same flawless performance. I think this application must be fast becoming a leader in its field and thank the Lavasoft team for offering the 'Freeware' version, which is not ungenerous in the features available. No hesitation to recommend this fine software to other showShow review details
Not the best 3 stars by ssavoy Aug 23, 2006 (Read all my 5 reviews)
I don't know what the hype is over this. The only reason I would recommend this is because it seems trustworthy and does a pretty good job. But really, there is no real time protection (you have to pay..i have Spyware Terminator and its real time protection for free). Doesn't catch as many things as other programs do. showShow review details
A must for every computer 5 stars by Zeazera Aug 19, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Keeps my computer away from spyware and it's free showShow review details
A very good program ... 5 stars by darkocean Jun 19, 2006 (Read all my 29 reviews)
A very good program caught adware on my comp when the other ones couldn't. Be sure to Check in the quarantine list everyday and delete whats in there! Be sure to not click on the Ad-watch option as it'll try and get you to upgrade. Easy to close though. Hold down Alt+Ctrl+/delete yo bring up the Windows task manager, click on Ad-Aware and then end task. Hea hea. What do you expect? It's freeware and they all hope for you to upgrade or donate. Good idea to stick with the "Perform smart system scan" as the other ones aren't near as good. showShow review details
Why do people think it is so great??? 1 stars by thedorkone Mar 14, 2006
The only points I could come up with is that it is free and the interface could be worse. All those people who say it is so great probably have loads of ad/spyware on their systems... With ANY other program I still find loads of threats after adaware is finished and didn't find anything. So people snap out of your illusion that your system is clean... showShow review details
Great anti adware sw 5 stars by BBressan Mar 04, 2006
Ad-aware is easy to install and setup. great sw to clean your PC adware. I've being using it for 1 year and feel comfortable enough to recommend it. It helped me clean my PC many times. showShow review details
Don't bother! 1 stars by tomcat Feb 24, 2006 (Read all my 16 reviews)
I had the pro version. The ad-block feature did nothing but pop up all the time telling me that some program I was installing was trying to change or add something to the registry. I know that you idiots! I'm the one installing them. Gimme a break! I did scans all the time and it never found anything. Spybot found stuff and so did A-Squared, but this, nothing. Why waste your computers resources and and slow down important scans like your anti-virus due to this bloatware when it doesn't do a thing. Come on people. Wake up. AVAST and Spybot and Spywareblaster is all any computer needs. The rest, and I've tried them all, are a waste of time and resources! showShow review details
One of the best 5 stars by standing_guitar Jan 17, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I loved this program. Another computer in the family was having some terrible issues with speed and performance, and this took care of it all, no problems. It's helped to remove some nasty spyware on my computers in the past, so I know I'll continue to use this program. showShow review details
Another must have! 5 stars by Ghost_grey Jan 03, 2006 (Read all my 56 reviews)
Every computer that has internet or installs software such have this! showShow review details
The best free scanner 4 stars by alnjk01 Dec 15, 2005 (Read all my 124 reviews)
Used this now for over 2 years. Easy on system resources,small footprint,very stable, relatively fast scanning,best skins and the easiest to use and update. Very good detection and cleaning capabilities especially on registry intrusions. showShow review details
A must have. 5 stars by Gizmo_151 Dec 01, 2005 (Read all my 10 reviews)
One of the very best program of it's type period. showShow review details
Terrific, if a bit daunting 5 stars by estople Dec 01, 2005 (Read all my 8 reviews)
A solid performer that catches some things others don't, but all the options are a bit unexplained and a little much for the average user. Fast scanning, but that annoying sound upon detection takes a little effort to change. Could use a more in-depth help file and real-time protection not available in the free version. Full scanning for the retentive is slow and hasn't found anything for me that a smart system scan didn't. Great cookie scanning, but still best if used with other similar tools. showShow review details
A senior's experience 5 stars by Leendert Nov 23, 2005 (Read all my 27 reviews)
Ad-Aware was one of the first to deal with spyware/malware, far before the deal ever appeared as the cushy number for rising and often inexperienced softwares. They know what they're talking about, this is professionalism at it's best. Also, Ad-Aware SE Plus - shareware - and its Ad-Watch monitoring component is, I believe, worth a little sacrifice for the peace of mind it delivers. In my opinion, a minimum, besides the firewall and the anti-virus, includes Ad-Aware. showShow review details
Only 4*. why???? 5 stars by TheDarkLord Nov 23, 2005 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Why SnapFiles have only given this 4 stars is beyond me. Its brilliant! It is updated regularly, tells you exactly what it doing, and most importantly it removes spyware! With a simple interface and two levels of scanning, it should be useful for even rookies. showShow review details
Awesome! 5 stars by kd7odg Oct 22, 2005
I have looked for something that was user friendly, easy to understand and did what it said it was going to do! So far this is living up to all of that and more! I have already sent this is to all of my family and friends so they can protect themselves too! showShow review details
Great protection for your pc 4 stars by digipaws Oct 20, 2005 (Read all my 6 reviews)
In simple steps, nice and simple to use and clears your computer of adware efficiently. An essential download. showShow review details
Excellent program 5 stars by webexpressions Sep 01, 2005 (Read all my 35 reviews)
This program is fantastic, with all the features it has it has saved me several times. Plus you can't beat the fact that its a FREE PROGRAM with FREE updates on a regular basis. I have used it on two computers one being an older one that had a ton of stuff this picked up that others did not. Awesome program highly recommended..... showShow review details
Adaware really protects my computer 4 stars by Johny_B Aug 23, 2005
I have been trying a lot of differrent spyware removers but cannot find one as good as adaware. I rest asure that my computer is safe. showShow review details
Reliability easy to set up and use 5 stars by MIKKEY Aug 15, 2005
This product is very easy to set up and use. Hats off to Ad-Aware. Thank you ! showShow review details
Essential 5 stars by Nikstar333 Aug 12, 2005
I bought new computer 3 weeks ago, downloaded MSAntiSpyware which has found zilch so far. Finally got around to installing Ad-aware tonight and it picked up 14 tracking cookies. On old computer, Ad-aware picked something up almost every scan for 3 yrs. I absolutely recommend it. showShow review details
A valuable tool 5 stars by Mike98 Aug 09, 2005 (Read all my 10 reviews)
Ad-Aware SE Personal 1.06 and Spybot-Search&Destroy 1.4 form a great team to fight spyware on your computer. Before these I used Microsoft AntiSpyware, but I was forced to find other, because I don't have English Windows version. Lucky these two find and remove more spyware than MSAS alone. If you don't have Windows XP SP2 (=with ActiveX blocker) you might consider to download SpywareBlaster 3.4. These three (without MSAS) work together excellent without errors, problems or other conflicts and can be uninstalled without rests via control panel if you are not satisfied, which I don't think, because these three are the best free alternative for MSAS. showShow review details
Do not rely solely on ad-aware! 4 stars by Bobb999 Jul 31, 2005 (Read all my 8 reviews)
I love this program and would not be without it. But, NO ONE PROGRAM CATCHES ALL MALWARE. I have 4 programs: AdAware, Spybot, A Squared and MS Antispyware Beta. -One day this week I ran 4 scans, the 1st 3 found nothing. The last, MS, found "VCatch" spyware. AdAware was one of the 3 that missed it. -Today I ran my 4 scans. 3 found nothing. One found a Data Miner tracking cookie from "Realnetworks". The one that nailed it was AdAware! Real co. is bad for cookies.That's why I prefer Winamp or Windows players instead. Snapfiles is a reputable site, but some download sites are not. Some list both good programs and baddies that actually plant malware while claiming to rid you of it! This is how I got "VCatch" Spyware. VCatch is such a rogue program. showShow review details
Excellent 5 stars by acekko Jul 31, 2005 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Using this program for many years.Never had problems.Works great and does the job excellent.Recommend to everybody who is interested to have his own computer clean. showShow review details
Adware1.06 5 stars by greyniteowl Jul 26, 2005 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Another terrific free application. Liked the results I got on every computer I have used it on. Never failed to unearth much junk and removed 98% of it. Am even considering buying the PLUS version at $39.99 Has anyone used this one and would you recommend it for XP users who already use the MS product? showShow review details
Trustworthy 5 stars by hiphip1 Jul 13, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Once I had to work in a really very slow doing, so full of trash. Put Ad-Aware in action, and cleaned up all the mess. I have been using for more then one year and is always doing his job, nice and clean. showShow review details
Back to product details   Add your review...
Download Ad-Aware Free Antivirus

Check out these featured downloads...

VisualCron

VisualCron advanced task scheduling engine

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring

Fractal Zoomer

Fractal Zoomer create fractal images

Axence NetTools Pro

Axence NetTools Pro a set of essential networking tools

PicPick

PicPick capture and edit screen captures